Customer Reviews for

Lucky You

Average Rating 3.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Humorous but with some underlying messages

Carl Hiaasen writes about screwball characters and unbelievable situations. His humor makes you laugh out loud as you read. I love to read one of his books (this was the third title by him for me) when I need a break from more serious tomes. However, there certainly i...
Carl Hiaasen writes about screwball characters and unbelievable situations. His humor makes you laugh out loud as you read. I love to read one of his books (this was the third title by him for me) when I need a break from more serious tomes. However, there certainly is an undercurrent of keen observation and commentary about human nature and morality in his stories. I do love it that the bad guys get what's coming to them and the good guys get their due.

posted by Maximillian on August 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

MJSheld

I enjoyed the book however it had many slow sections for me. I feel it had too many other characters with information concerning them that I really didn't care about. Extra fluff that I just wanted to skip over and get back to the real plot.

posted by Anonymous on June 15, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    The first Hiaasen novel I couldn't finish.

    Lucky You is a comic-crime story about a veterinarian assistant named JoLayne Lucks who one day stumbles upon fortune by winning the Florida state lottery, a prize of 28 million dollars. In another part of Florida, two redneck morons, Chub and Bode, stumble upon this same fortune and once they realize that the 28 million would have to be split between the two winning tickets, the rednecks steal JoLayne's ticket by force with the intention of cashing both to get the 28 million together. JoLayne enlists the help of a newspaper reporter, Tom Krome, to get hunt down the rednecks and get her ticket back.

    I am a big Carl Hiaasen fan. I have not read all of his novels, but this is the fifth one I've read, and the first one that I couldn't bring myself to finsih. Lucky You goes at a much slower pace than his other novels do, with characters that are not as well developed. Normally his bad guys, or most interesting characters, have some kind of psychological issue which makes them fiendishly lovable. In Tourist Season, the four men of the guerrilla faction were each psychotic in their own way, taking orders from a raging sociopath reporter, in Skinny Dip, Chaz descended into deeper and deeper psychosis as the story went on, in Skin Tight, Chemo and Mick Stranahan were equally psychotic, just on different realms of the good-guy/bad-guy spectrum, and the doctor was delightfully sleazy and greedy, and in Nature Girl, Honey Santana was an excitable manic-depressive who went to extreme lengths to exact revenge on those who had done her wrong. These psychologically unstable characters are enjoyable because, although they are psychotic, they are smart and clever. Chub and Bode, the bad guys of this story, are not so smart, nor are they clever. They're just a couple of desperate, racist redneck morons who stumble upon fortune. This makes the story predictable, as JoLayne and Tom are the clever team, vs. the dumb redneck team. It's cat and mouse. The segments of the story with JoLayne, Tom and the White Clarion Aryans are the most gripping segments of the story though. Much of it is filled with side stories about other characters that really don't matter much to the overall chase, and the side stories move very slowly. The quirky antics of the other characters really does not matter much in comparison to the main chase of the novel. Unfortunately, it often feels that there is too much fluff in the novel and it weighs on the pace of the novel. Overall, not worth a second read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Humorous but with some underlying messages

    Carl Hiaasen writes about screwball characters and unbelievable situations. His humor makes you laugh out loud as you read. I love to read one of his books (this was the third title by him for me) when I need a break from more serious tomes. However, there certainly is an undercurrent of keen observation and commentary about human nature and morality in his stories. I do love it that the bad guys get what's coming to them and the good guys get their due.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2005

    MJSheld

    I enjoyed the book however it had many slow sections for me. I feel it had too many other characters with information concerning them that I really didn't care about. Extra fluff that I just wanted to skip over and get back to the real plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2004

    Great diversion. What reading for entertainment is all about!

    Loved this book! Complete opposite of these deeply developed novels that you need to take notes to follow. Don't get me wrong, Mr. Hiasson has a great plot, albeit a little corny, but it's ENTERTAINING! If you want to escape from the seriousness of everyday life and laugh, then this book is a must read! Great characters, hysterical plot, fast, funny read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    Fun Read

    The usually fun ride from Hiaasen! Read and enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Great read!

    This was a fun book! The characters are all original and well thought out. I will definitely read more if his books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Dissapointed haissen fan

    Boohooo

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    My mother lent me this book (which led to it living on my "

    My mother lent me this book (which led to it living on my "to read" bookshelf for almost a year), but I was shocked to enjoy it! The whole book abounds with humor, humanity, and a certain amount of suspense. Worthwhile pool read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    Pretty Good Reading!

    This was my first book by this author and I will read more. This book was cute, it wasn't 'jump-up-and-down' fantastic but it was interesting. I found it easy to put down but on the other hand I couldn't wait to see what happened next. --K--

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2007

    joke

    limp-wristed prose. not funny in the least. too many characters. weak. poor. pitiful. cliche characters. and 'character' is not a wacky person. character is someone with dimension. this review covers all of his books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2007

    I am hooked!

    I fell into Mr. Hiassen after picking up his 'Skinny Dip' prior to going on vacation I needed a light hearted story. I then read 'Nature Girl' and loved it. I just finished 'Lucky You' and couldn't put it down. I love how he intertwines the plots and develops the characters it really keeps you hooked. I laughed out loud at many spots and highly recommend this book for anyone looking for entertaining reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2004

    Disappointed first time Hiaasen reader

    For the longest time I've put off reading Mr. Hiaasen's novels because I didn't think I'd enjoy them. I finally gave in and realized that I'd been right all along. His writing style seems frighteningly basic and the 'laughs' weren't THAT funny. I hoped for so much more than this, but in the end I was disappointed. He must be doing something right to have such a huge fan base, however, I'm going to have to keep myself off this bandwagon.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2