BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Lucky in Love (Lucky Harbor Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 166 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

i was excited to read this and was not disappointed. Great read!

i was excited to read this and was not disappointed. Great read!

posted by lordofbooks on May 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Boo

Between all the numerous plot spoilers that totally ruin the book by giving away the entire plot line....and these kids using the book review site as a chat room...its hard to get a true review. Please bn, get rid of these kids using the nook as a playground and please ...
Between all the numerous plot spoilers that totally ruin the book by giving away the entire plot line....and these kids using the book review site as a chat room...its hard to get a true review. Please bn, get rid of these kids using the nook as a playground and please do somerhing to these plot spoikers who persist in spoiling the book for everyone else by revealing the entire plot line! Cant they be banned and their posts deleted?

posted by 8888649 on September 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 166 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    i was excited to read this and was not disappointed. Great read!

    i was excited to read this and was not disappointed. Great read!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Nurse Mallory Quinn has spent her life doing right and being a g

    Nurse Mallory Quinn has spent her life doing right and being a good girl. Everyone loves Mallory and knows they can count on her. Mallory's thinking perhaps they count on her just a little too much and starts to think of living for herself. Enter Navy SEAL Ty Garrison. Ty has landed in Lucky Harbor to recuperate injuries sustained on a recent mission; the same mission that took the lives of the rest of his team. His injuries are equally physical and emotional and he's pushing himself to extreme lengths to overcome them.
    When things heat up between Mallory and Ty, it isn't without reservations on the part of both. Mallory knows that a heated affair isn't what anyone expects from her and Ty knows that he'll be leaving Lucky Harbor soon and that Mallory is too good for a short fling.
    Mallory and Ty are simply adorable and are written in typical Shalvis style. There is an abundance of heat, tempered by a touch of sweetness and humor, and in the end readers will be satisfied with another beautifully written romance.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Boo

    Between all the numerous plot spoilers that totally ruin the book by giving away the entire plot line....and these kids using the book review site as a chat room...its hard to get a true review. Please bn, get rid of these kids using the nook as a playground and please do somerhing to these plot spoikers who persist in spoiling the book for everyone else by revealing the entire plot line! Cant they be banned and their posts deleted?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    A nice surprise

    I was hesitant to like this one or buy it when i found out it wasnt about the sisters from the first three books...but i am very pleased i gave it a shot.... it was great.. my favorite in this series so far.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Lovely!!!

    I was kinda worried I wouldn't like this book because it was introducing a new character... but oh how I fell in love with Mallory and Ty!!! As always, a great Lucky Harbor book!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    How bad do I really want to be? Mallory Quinn does not have a

    How bad do I really want to be?

    Mallory Quinn does not have a spiteful bone in her body. Any lurking problems or concerns are always taken care of with a bite of chocolate and some late night chats with her friends. Yet Molly has had enough of being pushed, pulled, and guided to one direction that it is time to find some fun. Molly never thought the new hot guy in town Ty Garrison would light up every button on her romantic remote.

    Ty is just passing through to heal his damaged leg and rebuild her professional confidence. What he was may not be what he can do any longer and Ty cannot quite get his head around that possibility. Right now rebuilding cars is a distraction not a career choice regardless of how much he likes doing it. Mallory is not on any future agenda for him but right now, right her, and right here in this room is where he wants to kiss her senseless. Can either of them recover from what was supposed to be a one-night stand that keeps playing itself into the next day?

    When reputations are called into credibility and the entire town decides to interfere will Ty and Molly rejoice or run from what they have. When your demons are chasing you is it better to pull back into yourself or collapse in a warm set of arms wrapped around you. Only in Lucky Harbor could this be as much an easy answer as it is a complicated question.

    Jill Shalvis writes from the heart and it shows in every book with each character. Showing strengths in a person is easy, but Ms. Shalvis shows how our fears compliment us to make us strong.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    My favorite J. Shalvis book so far.....

    I swear, Jill Shalvis' writing gets more amazing with each book she writes and that's quite an accomplishment since she is already one of my favorite authors. OMG, I truly and completely LOVED this book.

    Back to Ty...*gah* I loved his character. As a former Navy SEAL this is one tough guy dealing with some truly awful demons. He was a medic for his SEAL team and had to watch them all die after a plane crash where he was the only one who survived. He doesn't form attachments...at all, but Mallory gets under his skin. Actually ALL of Lucky Harbor gets under his skin, but he does NOT plan to stay...and it's just about to kill him, although this is one guy in DEEP denial. Did I mention I love him??? While he's in Lucky Harbor, he swims, he runs, he beats up on Matt fairly regularly, and he's rebuilding a Shelby....and he does it all while corrupting Mallory with his bad-boy ways. He also has a heart of gold, although he would never admit it. The scenes with him and Ryan, who is a Vet with issues...so incredible.

    Mallory has grown up in Lucky Harbor. She's an ER nurse and known for her good-girl status. When Ty literally falls at her feet, she suddenly has a Mr. Wrong that she's looking for to shake up her status quo a little bit. It's all supposed to be in fun and she most definitely has fun with him. But at the same time, she is a caretaker through and through. She already takes care of most the town and she definitely takes in Ty too. She's an ER nurse, so she is tough, efficient, but she also has a heart of gold. I loved her and the way that the town took up for her when needed. They all love her.

    Mallory is part of the trio of the Chocoholics group made up of Grace, Amy and Mallory. Luckily, we'll get to see all their stories this summer because they are one hilarious group of friends. One of the absolute best things about this book was the Chocoholic quotes which started each chapter. Every time I came to one, I read it aloud for the family...we ALL enjoyed them!

    I loved this series last year when it featured the three sisters, but it has a different feel to it if this first book is any indication. There is a whole new cast of characters featured from this quirky little town, although we get tiny glimpses of some familiar faces and names. Lucky for us though it remains, charming, funny, entertaining, and heart-stoppingly romantic and sexy. *sigh* SUCH A GOOD BOOK!!! Bring on Amy and Matt's story...I NEED to know what is going on there!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2012

    Great Series by JS

    I was going into the hospital for surgery and needed something to pass the time during recuperation. I was scanning Nook books and just happened to run up on this series and the cute comments and reviews by the readers. Needless to say, I'm HOOKED. I believe we all need a little extra "legal" romance in our lives and Jill gives that. I have read all 6 of the books and they are wonderful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    Every time I read a Jill Shalvis book I fall in love with the h

    Every time I read a Jill Shalvis book I fall in love with the hero and think...this is my favorite Jill Shalvis hero...well Ty Garrison AKA Mysterious cute guy AKA Mr Wrong is officially my new fav Shalvis hero. Love the entire Lucky Harbor series but this one is my fav thus far. Loved Mallory and Ty. If you're looking for a humorous, fun loving romance that's quick to read, this is it. This ones a keeper for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Mallory Quinn is an ER nurse who ends up in the local diner (nam

    Mallory Quinn is an ER nurse who ends up in the local diner (named Eat Me) for a chocolate binge. She is chatting with her friend Amy when they notice the weather is getting really bad. Another woman in the diner, Grace, joins their conversation and they all realize that they are stuck there. That plan gets complicated when trees crash through the window and a local man nicknamed “Mysterious Cute Guy” gets injured outside the diner. MCG is actually Ty Garrison, a former SEAL and paramedic, who quit the service after a mission gone fatally wrong and became a private mercenary. After he is injured in that job, he ends up in Lucky Harbor under the care of local physician Josh Scott and is determined to go back to his job and get out of town ASAP.
    Mallory has been the local good girl, who grew up to be a nurse after the death of her teenage sister. Mallory is determined to start a health clinic that will serve the low income, unemployed, and mentally ill people in town who need medical help but don’t have health insurance. She has put together a fundraiser and is planning to go to it dateless. After Ty gets hurt, she sort of coerces him into going to the event as her date. Her friends both give her a big pep talk about letting loose and having some fun, presumably with Ty. Things don’t go as planned….
    Mallory and Ty begin a no strings relationship that develops into so much more. Mallory fools herself into believing she can let Ty go when he is healed. Ty is determined that even though he is feeling a lot for Mallory, he is not a good bet for the long term and needs to go back to his job out of the country. Both people have had tragedy in their lives that has left them with a heavy load of guilt and fear about letting other people into your life. Even though the chemistry between them is sizzling, they think they need to keep control of their feelings and not let things get too serious. The romance is HOT but tinged with the knowledge that it will probably not end well.
    This is an interesting romance with two people who need to fill a huge void in both their lives but are afraid to let each other in. The town is so small that they are seen together all of the time and the locals are documenting their romance on Facebook. Ty find himself becoming involved with people in town, in particular a broken down former Marine who is slowly killing himself with drugs and alcohol. Ms. Shalvis touches on the issues of PTSD, survivor’s guilt, and how hard it is to deal with. Ty and Mallory are perfect for each other and the love is there if they will just grab onto it. The book is a nice beginning to a three story series involving the three diner friends.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    Loved it! Mallory was great! I can't wait to read Amy and Grace'

    Loved it! Mallory was great! I can't wait to read Amy and Grace's story next(Chocoholics Meetings were such a great treat.) LOVED Mysterious Cute Guy Ty! Lot's of humor and a wonderful love story!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Not a dull moment!

    The Lucky Harbor series is one of my favorites and book #4-Lucky In Love-did not disappoint. Mallory & Ty are a wonderful delight to read about. From her walk on the bad side first time, his shedding of the past and the will they or won't they ending, this book had me hooked. I devoured it in 2 days and can't wait for more from Lucky Harbor!!!
    On an author note, I stumbled across Jill Shalvis and she has become a favorite of mine. Her stories never disappoint and I am putty in her literary hands!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    sweet and funny and sexy and just super I absolutely LOVED thi

    sweet and funny and sexy and just super

    I absolutely LOVED this book. I think it is the best in the series so far. Ty Garrison is a former Navy Seal in Lucky Harbor while healing from injuries earned on the job. Nobody seems to know much about him making him “the mysterious cute guy” on the Lucky Harbor Facebook gossip page.
    Mallory Quinn is a nurse with a heart the size of Texas. She and her fellow “chocoholics” Amy Michaels and new in town Grace Brooks discover Ty dizzy and disoriented from getting knocked in the head with a branch during a storm. This just following a discussion in which Mallory had decided she was tired of being the “good girl”. They call for 911 and when Ty thanks them Amy says he can pay them back by being Mallory’s date for the hospitals charity auction. When he shows up Mallory decides she is going to take a walk on the wild side with Ty. Ty states from the start that he isn’t the staying kind but Mallory figures she needs to shake up her life and Ty is just the guy to do it for her.
    This book is filled with Lucky Harbor charm and zaniness. Like the others in this series it is sweet and funny and sexy and just super.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2014

    Ok I just read this whole series well up till the last one out a

    Ok I just read this whole series well up till the last one out and can't wait till the next one comes out! This Town sounds like a great place to be! I want to go visit lol Started with this one Loved it went back and made sure I had them all . Waiting for the next . I would recommend this series ! Love Laughs and yes some heat :D Thank you for this fun series !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    Hmmmm

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Ash

    Hey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Best of the Series!

    Loved this book!! I've read all of the Lucky Harbor series and this is my very favorite (with #6 a second close.) It was funny and sweet and sexy - ended up reading it over a weekend, and got nothing else done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Great Read!

    I just love this series I can't get enough or the people inLucky Harbor. Mallory and Ty finally figure out who is right for one another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Whatever you try to do, you just can't leave Lucky Harbor. Once

    Whatever you try to do, you just can't leave Lucky Harbor. Once you are there you just don't want to leave.
    Especially when you get introduced to new characters!!

    This time around it's good girl Mallory is a devoted nurse that would rather cure you then figure how your
    gonna pay her. Everyone in town knows and loves her and is hoping that since she is good girl she will
    love Mr. Right. Well, Mallory wants Mr. Right NOW!!! (Didn't get the joke listen to Akon/Pitbull Mr. Right Now)

    And that Mr. Right Now seems to be the mysterious man in the first three books. Ty can be my Mr. Now
    anytime by the description in this book!! Has some baggage on him but of course who doesn't know a days?!
    And since he is helping Mallory out at times, it seems he's losing baggage every time...but is that enough?

    Welcome back to Lucky Harbor with three wonderful friends who we can now know and love once again.
    Thank you Jill for making my wonderful night spectacular!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 stars. Really a light, fun, sexy read. Slightly damaged hero

    4.5 stars. Really a light, fun, sexy read. Slightly damaged hero Ty has the proverbial heart of gold, Mallory is a Good Girl Trying To Be Bad, and despite a hot and sexy impulse hook-up in the attic of the Veteran's Hall, she's not very good at being bad. Lots of wonderful sexual tension, lovely small town feel with EVERYBODY in everybody else's business. I want to live in Lucky Harbor, and I want to dig into some of that cake with Mallory, Amy and Grace.

    Nits: It's not really clear where the diner is. Originally, the Eat Me sounds like it's on the mainland - it has to be, right, if trees blown down by a storm can block the front AND back doors? Later, it sounds like the diner is actually ON the pier, but since I've never seen a pier with trees... There's also Ty's boss, described near the beginning as a redhead, then towards the end as a stacked blonde. (Guess she could've changed her stylist.) And speaking of hair... the constant references to Mallory's hair by BOTH her and Ty began to get a little annoying.

    Although there are appearances by some of the characters from earlier Lucky Harbor books (love Lucille and the town FaceBook page!), it works perfectly well as a standalone. Really a delight from cover to cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 166 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9