Customer Reviews for

Lucy

Average Rating 3.5
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Does Creating a New Species Damn Us?

Jenny is a scientist working in a remote part of Africa. She goes to visit a collegue who experimented with bonobo apes. She finds that he was murdered by raiders and that there is a young girl still alive under one of the dead bonobos. The girl says that her name is Lu...
Jenny is a scientist working in a remote part of Africa. She goes to visit a collegue who experimented with bonobo apes. She finds that he was murdered by raiders and that there is a young girl still alive under one of the dead bonobos. The girl says that her name is Lucy and that she is the daughter of the murdered scientist and her mother is also dead.

Jenny doesn't want to leave the girl alone so she takes her back to her camp and learns that Lucy has a British passport so she must have some relatives in England. Jenny tries to locate them to no avail so she decides to take Lucy back to the states with her.

Jenny and Lucy immediately bond and Jenny decides that she want to formally adopt Lucy. Lucy exhibits a lot of strange behaviors including liking to be naked and sleeping in trees. Also, Lucy has superior strength to anyone her age and seems to have advanced senses (hearing, smell). Jenny enrolls Lucy in the local high school and Lucy has a tough time adjusting. Jenny starts to read the scientist's notebooks for some clues to Lucy's behavior. She discovers that Lucy may not be fully human.

This book is full of current political themes such as misuse of the Patriot Act by unscrupulous government officials, torture, and other devices used to study prisoners. Also, when the government learns about Lucy the controversy that errupts is like the themes of stem cell research, gay marraige, etc. Parts of the book reminded Cornelius and Zira in the movie Escape From the Planet of the Apes and the controversy over them having a baby that could talk.

Overall the book is a good thought provoking read. I found it difficult to rate it with five stars because of the way Jenny is able to bring Lucy to the US and adopt her. Also, there are things that happen later on in the book that had me shaking my head at how ridiculous they were.

posted by Kataman1 on July 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

a good read

A good read. Unusual story line with an unexpected ending.

posted by 3975321 on August 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Does Creating a New Species Damn Us?

    Jenny is a scientist working in a remote part of Africa. She goes to visit a collegue who experimented with bonobo apes. She finds that he was murdered by raiders and that there is a young girl still alive under one of the dead bonobos. The girl says that her name is Lucy and that she is the daughter of the murdered scientist and her mother is also dead.

    Jenny doesn't want to leave the girl alone so she takes her back to her camp and learns that Lucy has a British passport so she must have some relatives in England. Jenny tries to locate them to no avail so she decides to take Lucy back to the states with her.

    Jenny and Lucy immediately bond and Jenny decides that she want to formally adopt Lucy. Lucy exhibits a lot of strange behaviors including liking to be naked and sleeping in trees. Also, Lucy has superior strength to anyone her age and seems to have advanced senses (hearing, smell). Jenny enrolls Lucy in the local high school and Lucy has a tough time adjusting. Jenny starts to read the scientist's notebooks for some clues to Lucy's behavior. She discovers that Lucy may not be fully human.

    This book is full of current political themes such as misuse of the Patriot Act by unscrupulous government officials, torture, and other devices used to study prisoners. Also, when the government learns about Lucy the controversy that errupts is like the themes of stem cell research, gay marraige, etc. Parts of the book reminded Cornelius and Zira in the movie Escape From the Planet of the Apes and the controversy over them having a baby that could talk.

    Overall the book is a good thought provoking read. I found it difficult to rate it with five stars because of the way Jenny is able to bring Lucy to the US and adopt her. Also, there are things that happen later on in the book that had me shaking my head at how ridiculous they were.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Ape!

    Lucy is a pretty wild ride. Gonzales takes an already pretty scary premise, gene-splicing and cloning, and takes it up notch, making us question the nature of humanity. He also introduces the debate of what defines a human: behaviour or DNA?

    ?Although sometimes a bit heavy handed in the lecturing-about-civil-rights department, Lucy really, at its heart, is the poignant tale of a teenage girl (although freakishly brilliant and half ape). Lucy struggles with loss, love, fitting in, fame, treachery and finding herself just like Kardashian does on a daily basis.

    Gonzales has definitely done his research and his descriptions of jungle life and Bonobo mannerisms are thrilling. At the end of the day, Lucy is a thoughtful, moving story that made me consider what it means to be a responsible citizen of the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A very good read, thought provoking

    I heard an interview on NPR with the author about this book and immediately went out and bought the ebook. I was glad I did. I was hooked from the first few pages, and I was sad when the story ended. I could certainly see a sequel here and maybe even a film.

    I thought the author devised a very believable plot and the science involved seemed very plausible. From a scientific standpoint I believe mankind is very close to being able to develop hybrid genetic material. What scares me is the possibility that human genetic material may be manipulated someday and we might indeed discover a "Lucy" in our midst. I fear as a society we would behavior no less despicable than many people did in the story.

    I was drawn to Lucy in so many ways and on many different levels. I couldn't quite understand why the author developed the relationship between Lucy and Amanda the way he did but that made the last few chapters emotionally poignant and incredibly touching. I was shocked and hurt by what happened in the end but I was glad that there was a rainbow in the end for Lucy.

    I highly recommend the book. The scenario the author paints seems so plausible its scary. It will make you wonder what such an event could mean to mankind, to religion, to the very meaning of the word humanity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Lynn Crow for TeensReadToo.com

    When local warfare drives Jenny from her research post in the jungle and causes the death of a fellow scientist, she doesn't think twice about bringing his teenaged daughter with her to safety. But when they return to civilization, Jenny can't help feeling there's something odd about Lucy.

    Her reactions to the sights and sounds of city life, and her amazing strength, seem to stem from more than just jungle life. As she reads Lucy's father's journals, she discovers a shocking secret. Lucy was born to an ape her father conducted breeding experiments with. She is only half human.

    Though Jenny is willing to accept Lucy as the intelligent, compassionate girl she is, others are not so open-minded. As the secret comes out, she, Lucy, and their friends must fight the media, the government, and the military for Lucy's right to life and to freedom.

    LUCY starts with a fascinating premise - what would happen to a girl who wasn't entirely human? Lucy's adjustments to city life and school ring true and her struggle to protect herself and those she loves will have readers turning pages as fast as they can. The ethical issues raised are all too pertinent in today's world of genetic experimentation. Though it ends somewhat abruptly, the story is well worth the ride.

    Recommended for readers who enjoy thinking about deeper issues even as they're gripped by a thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2