Customer Reviews for

Lucy

Average Rating 3.5
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Does Creating a New Species Damn Us?

Jenny is a scientist working in a remote part of Africa. She goes to visit a collegue who experimented with bonobo apes. She finds that he was murdered by raiders and that there is a young girl still alive under one of the dead bonobos. The girl says that her name is Lu...
Jenny is a scientist working in a remote part of Africa. She goes to visit a collegue who experimented with bonobo apes. She finds that he was murdered by raiders and that there is a young girl still alive under one of the dead bonobos. The girl says that her name is Lucy and that she is the daughter of the murdered scientist and her mother is also dead.

Jenny doesn't want to leave the girl alone so she takes her back to her camp and learns that Lucy has a British passport so she must have some relatives in England. Jenny tries to locate them to no avail so she decides to take Lucy back to the states with her.

Jenny and Lucy immediately bond and Jenny decides that she want to formally adopt Lucy. Lucy exhibits a lot of strange behaviors including liking to be naked and sleeping in trees. Also, Lucy has superior strength to anyone her age and seems to have advanced senses (hearing, smell). Jenny enrolls Lucy in the local high school and Lucy has a tough time adjusting. Jenny starts to read the scientist's notebooks for some clues to Lucy's behavior. She discovers that Lucy may not be fully human.

This book is full of current political themes such as misuse of the Patriot Act by unscrupulous government officials, torture, and other devices used to study prisoners. Also, when the government learns about Lucy the controversy that errupts is like the themes of stem cell research, gay marraige, etc. Parts of the book reminded Cornelius and Zira in the movie Escape From the Planet of the Apes and the controversy over them having a baby that could talk.

Overall the book is a good thought provoking read. I found it difficult to rate it with five stars because of the way Jenny is able to bring Lucy to the US and adopt her. Also, there are things that happen later on in the book that had me shaking my head at how ridiculous they were.

posted by Kataman1 on July 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

a good read

A good read. Unusual story line with an unexpected ending.

posted by 3975321 on August 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    thought provoking

    With the death of her associate in the Congo, primate anthropologist Jenny Lowe rescues her crony's daughter Lucy as the civil war continues to go unabated and ugly. Jenny and Lucy go to the anthropologist's home in Chicago where the girl acts weird, but not shocking as she lived in the jungle.

    Jenny begins to reconsider the child's skills displaying abnormal strength and superhuman agility. However, it is Lucy's seemingly instinctive preference to stay in trees rather than the ground that leads Jenny to realize that her tweener is a hybrid mix of half human and half pygmy chimpanzee. DNA testing confirms what the two females sort of knew. The kid insists she is a humanzee who reads the classics and can speak in several tongues, but has incredible senses well beyond the human range. Scientists make a bid to study her and HSD declares she doesn't have any rights because she is not human and could be a terrorist

    This deep look at what is human will have readers pondering the definition while wondering with a nod to Frankenstein although Lucy is charming how far science should go. The story line is fast-paced while introducing readers to a myriad of complex social, scientific and religious problematic convergences. Although the ending feels overly neat after how complicated the questions of Lucy's human rights as a hybrid, fans will relish this thought provoking powerhouse.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Fast moving story line. Emotional and thought provoking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    Loved it

    Couldn't put it down from the first page,would make a great movie!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2010

    Couldn't put it down

    I thought this sounded like a good vacation read and once I started I couldn't put it down. I found myself getting totally wrapped up in the story and truly feeling for Lucy and Jenny and the ordeal they must face. I would love another book from the author following up on the aftermath that is only touched on briefly at the end of this book. I also think it would be neat to hear more from the perspective of Lucy's father and her early years.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    eminently readable

    I loved this book and read it in just a few days. My heart bled for poor Lucy and her horrible experiences in the human world. It's very hard to put down and I was right into it from the very first pages.

    Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2010

    I couldn't put this book down!

    What an amazing read! You will love the characters, the story, and especially how it relates to how you personally view humanity. Bravo!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Benny

    You guys here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Cody

    No. The books are too sexual. My parents could see it. Do you think you could ask her to change it to everyday all results?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    Soooooo Good

    Story about a scientist working in the Congo during a revolution who flees to a neighoring scientists camp. This scientist has been secretly inseminating bonobos (apes) in an attempt to create a bonobo-human hybrid. When he is killed the other scientist escapes with his daughter and finds out she IS the hybrid!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great read - highly recommend for Bookclub Reading

    Lucy is charming, inquisitive, engaging and a very different young girl but you have to look past what you see to understand the wonder of this girl and how she got "here". From the start, the book captures your heart with the Congo and it's beauty then pulls your heart strings with the death of a great scientist, leaving behind his beautiful daughter who must flee her only known home and those she so loved.

    The heroine, Jenny Lowe, makes this story so very real and touching as she saves Lucy, many times over and tackles traditional thinking as the story unfolds...Lucy is the result of an experiment - part human, part ape. The controversy of those who meet her, think they know what is right and those who seek to eliminate her will give pause as you find this a page turner that you don't want to put down.

    Already sharing this with so many and enjoying the discussions at Bookclubs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic!!!

    This book was an absolutely fantastic read. I initially heard the book review on NPR (of course) and immediately went out to pick up my copy.

    Lucy is incredibly well written, the author draws you into the story and builds a bond with the family of characters in the book. The subject matter can be described as "science fiction" but the author makes it believable.

    At the finish of this story it left me hungry for more, wanting to know where and what Lucy's family was moving onto next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Surprisingly deep and thought-provoking.

    An absolute page turner! It begs the question of what the world really would do with such a person in their midst, if they decide that she is a person at all! While some may not like that the very complex legal issues involved were glossed over, it was not vital to the plot and I didn't find it a bad thing. I laughed, cried, and prayed that everything would turn out ok for Lucy and her family. This novel was more than a good story, it was a commentary on human behavior.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2010

    Lucy ....

    I read this in a few days and would've had it done sooner if I hadn't been so busy. The characters intertwined so nicely and I really like the writing style. My heart broke for this girl's ordeal. This was a wonderful book - I highly recommend this book to all of you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2