Customer Reviews for

Lucy Woodward Is... Hot & Bothered [Barnes & Noble Exclusive]

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantastic

    I love this album, it is so easy to listen, and enjoy it. No song is alike it is all sultry and wonderful

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hottest Album of 2008!

    Lucy Woodward is legit! A unique mix of soul, funk and rock that makes you think, &amp quot what the!&amp quot , &amp quot did she really?&amp quot , &amp quot damn, she did!&amp quot and &amp quot that came out of a white chic?&amp quot I've seen her live a couple times and this cd takes the cake. SHe brings it down- for real- like Bronx down...Lucy is a highly talented and a true artist- you'll get all hot and bothered from the first song in!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hooked

    Love this record. Fresh and yummy. Songs are catchy, a bit retro but very now, and the musicianship is outstanding. Lucy can saaaang! Fave tracks: &quot Don't Wanna Love Again&quot and &quot Slow Recovery.&quot

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Worth every last dime!

    Lucy Woodward rocks and every track on this album is superb!

    Nothing more to say other than - BUY IT!

    I can't wait for her next release.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Won't Leave Your CD Player

    After just one listen, you will be hooked. Lucy Woodward's voice is in a word, captivating. Every track on this album draws you in more than the next, and still remains deep, relevant and charming. I find myself finding little nuances in the songs on each subsequent listen and I guarantee you that you will be humming these songs in no time. Personal favorites include Geographical Cure and Hot and Bothered, but the ultimate has to be &quot Sugar&quot . The track is fun, kitschy and lyrics are adorable in clever. I can't get enough Lucy Woodward. Hopefully more great music is to come from this beautiful and talented artist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A cut above her peers

    Lucy is silk meets steel. A modern day Benetar, but with the vocal chops to pull off the classiest of tracks. This album shows off her talents and the compositions are great. Is there any genre of music she can't touch? Pop enough for the kids, yet retro and jazzy enough for the older set. Radio programmers, WAKE UP!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is my favorite record of the year

    Lucy Woodward has always been an amazing singer but this collection of songs really takes things to another level. Too often when I buy a CD and there are only 2 or 3 good, listenable songs on it, with this CD EVERY song is great and I can listen to it the whole way through. &quot Slow Recovery&quot is my absolute favorite. I actually had to buy a second copy because my girlfriend keeps stealing mine. This is definitely my favorite record of the year. Great job Lucy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lucy Woodward Knocks it Out of the Park!! Can you say sexy?!

    I've always loved Lucy Woodward's voice and music but this album takes to the next level! The music is refreshingly unique, and the title is perfect..., the music sexy and sultry..., Lucy has an amazing voice and she just sounds like she's having a blast belting out these tunes! Saw her live in LA she was amazing!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    LUCY IS HOT HOT HOT!

    This record is beyond fantastic. Lucy is an amazing talent. I had the opportunity to see her perform this album live at a show in NYC and she blew me away. She sounds even better in person! Buy this album, you will not regret it!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sultry and Sexy

    Lucy Woodward's much-awaited sophomore effort is a complete departure from her 2003 debut, &amp quot While You Can&amp quot . In &amp quot Lucy Woodward Is Hot and Bothered&amp quot , Lucy is not only Hot and Bothered herself, but she gets her listeners there too, with sexy, smooth vocals that evoke a Julie London for the 21st century. Lucy's voice, and her choice of material, has always been her strong suit. I have been mesmerized by her deep, throaty laugh in her one-off collaboration with The Scumfrog &quot &amp quot Bacon&amp quot &quot , and that laugh haunted me as I listened to the 11 tracks on &amp quot ...Hot and Bothered&amp quot . If I had to choose a favorite track &quot and the choice would probably depend on my mood&quot , it would be &amp quot Love Is Gonna Getcha&amp quot . This track is gonna getcha. In my mind, I'm sitting in a 40s-themed club, nursing a single-malt scotch. The orchestra starts with a snare drum, guitar, and celeste, then layers on strong brass, sultry oboe, and strings. I sit, captivated, as Lucy strides across the stage in a form-fitting silk dress. She takes command of the microphone, and perfectly on cue, out comes...&amp quot She!&amp quot Lucy, you had me at &amp quot She&amp quot .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    In love with ... Lucy Woodward

    I am a 23 yr Male from Southern California. I have been trading music with my Grandmother for sometime to expand my musical horizons. Lucy Woodward has really been able to suffice our musical taste and we are both in love with her. Her album/voice/lyrics are original, passionate and uncanny! I am very impressed by her. Buy Her Album!!!! I have over 400 cds and she is better then at very least half of these big name artist. As a matter of fact, She is in my top 10 list of Favorite cds. Her seductive vocals in &amp quot Hot and Bothered&amp quot and &amp quot I won't care&amp quot are sexy. &amp quot Use what i got&amp quot is Fun! and &amp quot 2 much 2 Live for&amp quot is strong. She is a quality entertainer and sincere about her passion {you can hear it in her voice}. Good luck, Lucy! You got my vote.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sounds great across the Pond as well!

    I was very fortunate to find Lucy Woodward through a mutual myspace friend and even more fortunate to find she was available through itunes UK. However even though I had all the songs on my ipod already I just had to have the physical copy. I pre-ordered it as soon as it became possible and it arrived on 16/08/08. To say I am happy with it is an understatement! 'Lucy Woodward is Hot and Bothered' in the 'flesh' is even better than I imagined it would be. The brilliant 'Slow Recovery' has been mixed slightly differently to the itunes version and yet it works so well that I'm having trouble deciding which version I prefer. The whole album is class and the songs so varied. From the sultry 'Slow Recovery' to the funky 'Love is Gonna Getcha' to the 60's vibes of 'You Found Me Out'. Every one outstanding! Twelve wonderful tracks! America should be proud of this young lady and I hope one day I get the chance to see her perform live.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Can't Rave Enough...

    This is easily one of the best CD's I've heard. Lucy manages to flow through different genres here and hits the mark every time. She is one of the true talents out there today. This CD is a must own for anyone who enjoys great music from an intelligent female vocalist. &quot You Found Me Out&quot , &quot What I Can Do&quot and &quot Slow Recovery&quot stand out as my personal favorites on here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An album NOT to be missed!

    The sophmore album, &quot Hot &amp Bothered&quot from the very multi-talented Lucy Woodward is an album not to be missed. This follow up is a bit of a departure from her 2003 pop album, &quot While You Can&quot , which is also an album to have in any serious music lover's collection. The songstress seems to bare her heart and soul in every track of this very sincere and eclectic collection of songs. Each track, better than the previous. I look forward to Ms. Woodward's follow up album. It will most definately accompany her previous two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Unique

    If you&#180 re waiting to hear something like her first album,forget it.This is a mix of personality and beauty! If you like a good voice and a unique sound,check it out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lucy Woodward Is... Hot & Bothered [Barnes & Noble Exclusive]

    I, like many, have become disenchanted with the radio, MTV, and what passes for popular music these days. Although I have always been a huge American music fan I find that the stuff I listen to most often these days comes from England, France, Sweden, South American artists... This is not to say this is a Euro record in anyway, it's not. It's brilliant melodic original music with great American roots that is totally addictive and enchanting, like great music always is...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lucy Woodward Is... Talented and real

    If you have never had the chance to hear Miss Woodward strut her stuff live I guess you should just console your sad self with this jaw droppingly good CD. She does pop old school style- with wit, humour, sexy sass and a set of pipes drenched in good old fashioned talent. Yeah- remember talent? Buy it. And try to see her perform live.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It just keeps on getting better!

    I've been a fan of Lucy's since her &quot While you Can&quot CD. It seems she has evolved more into a jazz feel on this new CD and I love the feel it has. Folks, she just keeps getting better and better and if you can catch her at small venues like the Zipper Factory in New York, I recommend you grab that opportunity now because moving forward, those opportunities will be slim pickin's! Keep up the GREAT ear candy Lucy and HURRY to Texas!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lucy Woodward Is... Hot & Bothered [Barnes & Noble Exclusive]

    Lucy Woodward has flipped her sound completely! I was surprised hearing the vibe this time round and how different it was from the last record. It seems she has grown up and found her voice. My daughters and I love this record and I think she is really raising the bar in the pop world today. She is classy and her true colors are shining brightly. Get this record! I can't get enough of it. Especially Slow Recovery and I Won't Care. Love is Gonna Getcha is straight out of James Bond film but You Found Me Out is my absolutely favorite....This girl is amazing. The world needs to know who this girl is....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Real Deal

    I just picked up this album last week and cant seem to put anything else on. Its pretty consistent throughout, but of course there are the real bangers. From the driving songs like Submarine Love, to the more sultry jams like Hot and Bothered, this record&#8217 s songs range from amazing to absolutely really amazing. Lucy is the real deal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3