Customer Reviews for

Lullaby (Watersong Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 93 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

The Watersong Series began with a bang as Amanda Hocking¿s firs

The Watersong Series began with a bang as Amanda Hocking’s first never-before published novel, Wake, hit stores. In Wake, Hocking introduces readers to the two sisters, Harper and Gemma, whose relationship is put to the test when Gemma is targeted, and forcefully recru...
The Watersong Series began with a bang as Amanda Hocking’s first never-before published novel, Wake, hit stores. In Wake, Hocking introduces readers to the two sisters, Harper and Gemma, whose relationship is put to the test when Gemma is targeted, and forcefully recruited, by three strangers who appeared mysteriously in their small town. The story resumes in Lullaby as Harper deals with the aftermath of Gemma's running away with Penn, Lexi, and Thea. Her friendship with Daniel becomes strained as she pushes him aside to search for Gemma, researches who Penn, Lexi, and Thea might be, and why they lured Gemma away from their family. Meanwhile, Gemma is stuck with the sirens and hoping against all hope that she can reject their violent nature. Penn, Lexi, and Thea’s background story is lightened with a few more details, but it only serves to prove to Gemma that she doesn’t belong with them.

The progression of Lullaby is just as it was with Wake. Alex, Harper and Daniel struggle to make sense of the myths and legends they discover while they all feel the pressure of what danger lurks for Gemma, and them. The plot builds to what could’ve been an explosive conclusion. With only an advanced galley to go on I won’t go into too much detail, as scenes might change, but Wake offered readers a surprising twist and stronger taste of the paranormal as Harper faced down Penn, Lexi, and Thea before they stole off into the sea. Lullaby also comes down a tension filled Mexican standoff-like scene; this time Harper doesn’t stand alone against the sirens. It was slightly disappointing, to say the least, because it was just too easy after the novel built up so much tension and an aching for some hard-hitting action. However, my faith is not lost in this series as I believe Hocking may have some pretty big tricks hiding up her sleeves for the next installment, Tidal.

Different sides of the characters arise, as well. Alex is so clear about his feelings for Gemma, and Hocking expresses his feelings with few words to lend to his sincerity. When it comes to the romance in this series, it’s not cheesy exclamations or a spill of romantic clichés that make readers swoon, but the simple realness of the characters who know who and what they want. A softer, more insightful, side of Harper emerges as Daniel prods her to open up. Gemma, caught between her family and three evil girls, learns to stand up to Penn, Lexi, and Thea, to some degree, while fighting her new body to stay alive.

Lullaby wasn’t the action-packed sequel I’d been expecting, but it still does wonders for the series. The characters come more to life and forge a greater bond between readers. Amanda Hocking’s Watersong series is only at its beginning, but readers are wise to not miss out on what is sure to be a fantastic series!
*eARC provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review*

posted by Candace-LoveyDoveyBooks on November 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

?

Thank u candance lovey dovey books for ruining the book with your overly excessive plot spoiler. You are rude and inconsiderate by telling everything that happens. You should be banned. Learn to write a review, not a book report, a dissertaion or a booj blog. Stop ruini...
Thank u candance lovey dovey books for ruining the book with your overly excessive plot spoiler. You are rude and inconsiderate by telling everything that happens. You should be banned. Learn to write a review, not a book report, a dissertaion or a booj blog. Stop ruining books for other ppl.

posted by 8888649 on November 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    ?

    Thank u candance lovey dovey books for ruining the book with your overly excessive plot spoiler. You are rude and inconsiderate by telling everything that happens. You should be banned. Learn to write a review, not a book report, a dissertaion or a booj blog. Stop ruining books for other ppl.

    16 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Watersong Series began with a bang as Amanda Hocking¿s firs

    The Watersong Series began with a bang as Amanda Hocking’s first never-before published novel, Wake, hit stores. In Wake, Hocking introduces readers to the two sisters, Harper and Gemma, whose relationship is put to the test when Gemma is targeted, and forcefully recruited, by three strangers who appeared mysteriously in their small town. The story resumes in Lullaby as Harper deals with the aftermath of Gemma's running away with Penn, Lexi, and Thea. Her friendship with Daniel becomes strained as she pushes him aside to search for Gemma, researches who Penn, Lexi, and Thea might be, and why they lured Gemma away from their family. Meanwhile, Gemma is stuck with the sirens and hoping against all hope that she can reject their violent nature. Penn, Lexi, and Thea’s background story is lightened with a few more details, but it only serves to prove to Gemma that she doesn’t belong with them.

    The progression of Lullaby is just as it was with Wake. Alex, Harper and Daniel struggle to make sense of the myths and legends they discover while they all feel the pressure of what danger lurks for Gemma, and them. The plot builds to what could’ve been an explosive conclusion. With only an advanced galley to go on I won’t go into too much detail, as scenes might change, but Wake offered readers a surprising twist and stronger taste of the paranormal as Harper faced down Penn, Lexi, and Thea before they stole off into the sea. Lullaby also comes down a tension filled Mexican standoff-like scene; this time Harper doesn’t stand alone against the sirens. It was slightly disappointing, to say the least, because it was just too easy after the novel built up so much tension and an aching for some hard-hitting action. However, my faith is not lost in this series as I believe Hocking may have some pretty big tricks hiding up her sleeves for the next installment, Tidal.

    Different sides of the characters arise, as well. Alex is so clear about his feelings for Gemma, and Hocking expresses his feelings with few words to lend to his sincerity. When it comes to the romance in this series, it’s not cheesy exclamations or a spill of romantic clichés that make readers swoon, but the simple realness of the characters who know who and what they want. A softer, more insightful, side of Harper emerges as Daniel prods her to open up. Gemma, caught between her family and three evil girls, learns to stand up to Penn, Lexi, and Thea, to some degree, while fighting her new body to stay alive.

    Lullaby wasn’t the action-packed sequel I’d been expecting, but it still does wonders for the series. The characters come more to life and forge a greater bond between readers. Amanda Hocking’s Watersong series is only at its beginning, but readers are wise to not miss out on what is sure to be a fantastic series!
    *eARC provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review*

    8 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Good book but i felt it was a bit short

    I love Amanda Hocking books! This book was 206 pages. This book really went into developin the characters and relationships. However, if you are looking for a lot of action you won't be totally disappointed, but it won't be an all out fight until the third book which will be awesome!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Slow

    I liked the first book in this series, but I could not get into this one. It was extremely slow and boring, and went absolutely no where. I honestly skimmed most of this and I don't feel like I missed much. It is too bad, because I have enjoyed a few of her series. I think it could have been written as either one longer book or two rather than a trilogy, and would have made more of an inpact. I will still try out books from this author, but this one wasn't for me.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Anonymous

    A well written story and I can't wait for the next! But I feel there is much to be desired so I give Lullaby only 4 stars.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Great

    Great book! I really enjoyed the first two books so far. Ready to start the third book! Great series! Loved it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Watersong is a really good series. For the fans of the Trylle tr

    Watersong is a really good series. For the fans of the Trylle triology, I think it was a bit disappointing, but not because the quality of the writing is any less. Throughout the Trylle books you gain a sort of relationship with the characters, and I think it's a little bit harder to do that in this book. I loved how she included Greek mythology, and like Amanda Hocking I have always loved it. I'd definitely recommend the books, especially for people who don't read much.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Best book ever

    Hi im bob i like pie i hate reading but i luved this book rawr

    3 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    Amazing, yet it lacks action.

    Lullaby follows Harper's quest to find her sister, Gemma, and save her from Penn, Thea, and Lexi. She is determined to rescue Gemma, and will do so no matter what.
    Meawhile, Gemma must try to adjust to life as a siren. She loves swimming, but she's not as ecstatic about feeding on mortal blood.
    This incredibly written sequel to Wake is filled with twists and turns that will keep you hooked. However, I was hoping it would be action packed. Despite this, it is a great read and I truly recommend it to fans of paranormal-teen stories.
    I'm definitely getting my hands on book 3!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Great Read..

    Lullaby is an awesome book! It has Gemma and Harper working together and we finally figure out what in the world is going on with everything so its a for real book in this series. I like it. It also had me turning and turning the pages.. by the time I was almost half way through I went ahead and bought book 3 Tidal so I wouldn't miss anything and I must say I'm really glad I found this series.. it has been very interesting and I love the mythology information as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Most Helpful

    I am in the middle of this read and I am shocked when I started reading this book for I read more than one bad review about the book having a bad start. I have to say the book is just about as good as the first. When I was reading page 104 I started getting tired of the book but at page 111 the book went through many turns and twists and all my doubts about the reviwers stating that this book was bad vanished. This is an excellent read and you can really notice the character's changing. Gemma has gone through the biggest transformation of her life which might be ending shortly as Daniel, Alex, and Harper embark on a dangerous journey doing everything they can for Gemma and her father. This book has just the right amount of romance, mystery, hunger, desperation, violence and love. Gemma's mom also enters the story more often. Being on page 164 I am excited but nervous to see what happens next!!
    xoxoxo Hugs and Kisses
    ~voraciousreader123

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Diving in and I¿m on a search for mermaids. If you have not read

    Diving in and I’m on a search for mermaids. If you have not read the first book, I suggest you do. This story begins right where the last book left off. Now, in the first book, the reader gets most of the story from Gemma’s point of view. In this book, the reader gets most of the story from Harper’s point of view, and then switching to Gemma’s. I didn’t mind the point of view switches being that they did flow well. As the reader, you never felt lost in what was happening in the story.  I like that you got plenty of details form both sisters without ever feeling lost or confused.
    Now, the love interest some what get a bit difficult. Both girls have a lost interest in which they love but being under the circumstance that they are under, their relationships began to take some tolls. Their barely making it through and I have this feeling that both of their relationships will be out to a test.  I’m anxious to see exactly where these girls will end up and if these guys will make the cut. Lots of stuff is happening and at this point, its up in the air.
    Both of the girls development within the story is good. I love that both girls grow quickly, learning and taking chances in what they need to do. I am a bit miffed that despite being sisters, they don’t really trust each other well. They both hold back a lot of stuff from each other. I think that if they told each other everything, things would be a whole lot easier. As I see it, they are just making it harder on themselves and everyone else around them.
    Lullaby is an great sequel. Surfacing for air, I felt this story had lots of amazing plots twist and turns that keeps the reader hooked to the story.Ambitious and superior in action, Lullaby is great.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Watersong Series is not just for Teens

    I am a 50+ person that enjoys reading and loved Twilight, this series seemed interesting in reviewing so started with Wake the first of the series, it was good and I wanted to read more so purchased Lullaby. this was even better and kept me intrigued. I was actually disappointed when the booked ended because I wanted to read more. Now I am very much looking forward to reading number three "Tidal" when it comes out.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book just made me fail a science text because I was reading

    This book just made me fail a science text because I was reading it instead of studing! I loved it and I ove Amanda Hocking's writing. She makes it seem efforless and I can not figure out how she does it:/

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Amazing

    Read this in one day! I can't wait for the third book! This book will keep you way excited

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The excitement that Wake ended with continues in Lullaby as you

    The excitement that Wake ended with continues in Lullaby as you learn more about the Sirens. Gemma is trying so hard to hang on to her humanity, but the Siren urges within herself make it impossible. Some surprising things happen. I'm glad the author is letting these things happen. I love that you are provided perspectives from both Gemma and her sister, Harper. I can't say that I have a favorite at this point. I like them both for different reasons. When it comes to the guys, Daniel is my clear favorite. He has been since book one. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Meh....

    Both the first installment and its sequel are mildly entertaining, but are not well written. The books are lightly peppered with grammatical errors and the characters are not well developed or realistic (obviously comment was not intended for the mythological characters). Does anyone else find Harper annoying? Both books are quick reads and may be good "holiday/beach" reads, but cannot be compared to more epic trilogies. I will be purchasing the third book, as I'll have to finish what I, regrettably, started.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    sucky

    Dont get it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    .

    .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Great

    Really great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5