BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Lullaby

Average Rating 4
( 323 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(131)

4 Star

(118)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 323 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    good book

    Another great Chuck book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Didn't put me to sleep...

    Quick read. Interesting plot, but a little confusing at times. Great detail and narration. I definitely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    And he does it again.

    I've been a fan of Palahniuk's writing ever since reading Fight Club and Survivor for the first time. Lullaby definitely does not disappoint either. The book tells the story of a nursery book containing a culling song - which causes parents to unintentionally lull their children (or significant other) into a peaceful death. A newspaper reporter that is investigating SIDS stumbles across the poem, and once discovering the power it has, goes on a quest to erase it so that no one else can get hurt.

    In all, I found the story very entertaining and a thrilling ride the whole way through - and most people that like Palahniuk's style of writing should like the story as well. It flows well in his usual style of prose and keeps you interested from beginning to end. The characters are well developed and while reading it, you can almost see the story play out in front of your eyes like a movie. The only thing I didn't enjoy was that, like a movie, there were a few cheesy parts that seemed to be thrown in to make the audience happy. Very minor incidences, but all in all, a very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Culling

    Lullaby by Chuck Palahniuk is a very good book. It is different from his other novels in that it has real 'supernatural' type activity. The twists are nice. The last one really got me! This book is easy to read and it will hold your attention. The plot doesn't waste very much time moving along. I found this book to be a little more sexual than most of his other works. Snuff and Choke being the other 'sexual' ones. Read this on a rainy day or a weekend. It's a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    !!!!!!

    after the initial confusion, this book has the power to really trigger your imagination.

    i loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    Awesome!

    Could not put this book down. Palahniuk has such a dark humor in this novel. Great ending! I would recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2008

    A great book by a great author

    Chuck Palahniuk creates a thrilling fictional story with an amazing storyline in Lullaby by centralizing his theme around something that is hard to wrap your own head around. The detectives run this story, and go around the country looking for books that hold an old African ¿cure¿, that can put anyone into permanent sleep if they here it. The detectives set out to find every book that has the cure in it so that no one else can get a hold of it and have the easiest killing mechanism ever. They have to do their fair share of dirty work to get the books that they need. They go to people¿s house and libraries and have to steal, or even kill, to get the books. All it takes is for the ¿cure¿ to be read in the mind of someone to make someone else go down. The main detective takes this to the extreme in the climax of the book. Anyone and everyone that gets in his way is nothing he has to handle with. He does this to help himself, but he finds himself becoming comfortable with it and he can¿t cope with it. The story has so many twists and turns that the detectives can barely keep up. It¿s a great read and anyone who loves reading should try this book. It mixes a great storyline with some slight romanticism to make a wholesome novel that is mind-blowing at the least.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2008

    Twisted beyond all belief

    Words can kill--at least that's the premise of this fantastic Palahniuk novel. Don't be fooled by the title--this is no sweet and low-down book it's a nasty, funny, bawdy, horrifying novel that is so intricate and well-porortioned that you'll be shaking your head at the ending. Great fun stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    i'm not one for books but this one was amazing

    i am not really the person to come to about books, but chuck palahniuk is probably the most innovative and disturing authors of all time. after seeing the movie fight club (top 3 favorite movies of all time), i heard from my metal tech teacher at school that lullaby and invisible monsters were great books. so i picked one up and i COULD NOT STOP READING IT!! i read the book in 2 days! i can not remember the last book i actualy finished, (i think it was angels and demons), so that means this one has to be good. palahniuk's deranged and disturbing writing style makes this book absolutly amazing, if you are into that sort of thing. i reccomend this book to anyone who has seen fight club, or is into extreme turning points that completely contradict everything you thought to be true in the book. a great read all around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2008

    Words Murdering Peple

    The book Lullaby, by Chuck Palahniuk is a well-written pushing the avant-garde. While reading this book you get a great opportunity to fallow along with the narrators every thought and emotion, learning valuable lessons of the power of words, emotions, and the effect they bring upon people. This book, along with choke, stranger then fiction, the very popular Fight Club, and many other books he has written, shows Palahniuk¿s very unique and obscene way of writing. The book Lullaby also shows a second theme to you, the addiction a man can have with the false sense of freedom. Palahniuk does an outstanding job clarifying the two themes in this story. The first theme is shown in the story when the narrator, Carl Streator a news reporter is assigned to investigate the cause of ¿sudden infant death syndrome¿ which is occurring to children and babies, causing a peaceful death during their sleep. Once Streator comes across the cause, a culling song, which is a lullaby sung in Africa to kill people in a painless way. Streator begins to figure out the power of this culling song, Streator starts to drift off in repetitive thought about the culling song pondering of its power. Thinking it could become a plague of death, ¿Imagine a plague you can catch through your ears. Sticks and stones will break your bones, but now words can kill, too.¿ [p.41] He begins to think if this song gets out to the world that books and TV programs are going to begin to be silenced. In realty why was the government trying to silence books? Is that because words have too much power or effect on humans? The truth of the madder is that words are very powerful and can mean a lot, it can changed ones views, give someone false hope, or bring them down. The second theme centers on the addiction a man can have with the false sense of freedom. One can feel like this when they have power to be free and do what ever they please but are held back by guilt from the past or from the wrong they are about to do. In the story when Streator starts to reiterate the culling song in his head, believing that the first word leads to the second and so on, beginning to dissect each word and soon finds himself unable to loose the thought of the song and its effects. He does think that he holds more power then he thinks and that whenever he thinks of the song people end up dieing, he finds it too easy to think of the song, and not wanting to kill everyone that annoys him he forces him to seek help. He¿s informed that he has more power with the culling song because he has more emotion that he has bottled up inside him causing him to be more when he thinks of the song killing other with out him even having to speak. From this point Streator feels like he has the freedom to kill whomever when he really isn¿t free at all. He may be free from the annoyance of other but he isn¿t free from the guilt that he feels that lingers along with him wherever he goes. From then on he decides that the culling song is dangerous and all copies should be destroyed. Anyone who likes to read vulgar books with twisted plots and endings I highly recommend this book. It has a twisted ending and lots of psychotic humor. It¿s a quick and fun read that indulges on the power of words and false freedom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    Noise Annoys

    In Chuck Palahniuk¿s novel, Lullaby, you first meet the protagonist of the story Carl Streator who¿s a reporter and is assigned articles on infants who have suffered from S.I.D.S (Sudden Infant Death Syndrome). He comes across a Book titled Poems and Rhymes from Around the World that was found at all of the deaths and also opened to the same page, page 27 with the poem ¿Culling Song¿. Streator later find out that the reason for the deaths is the lullaby found in the book. Throughout the book you meet Helen Hoover Boyle, she too lost her infant and husband as victims to the lullaby, who is a real estate agent. Followed by Boyle¿s assistant Mona Sabbat, a Wiccan follower, and her vigilante boyfriend Oyster. The group goes on a road trip sort of expedition in search of the book for the sole purpose of destroying it before it falls into the wrong hands. The book having been published in 2002 still had a modern effect to me and made it a bit more realistic to me. Streator is telling the reader his story all the while still dropping hints about today¿s society, ¿Here¿s Big Brother, singing and dancing, force-feeding you so your mind never gets hungry enough to think.¿ I felt his work mostly revolved around tone and diction. This is because he kept describing the tenants in his apartment ¿Noiseaholics¿ and ¿quietaphobics¿ due to the fact that not one single minute of the day were the television or radio turned off and there was constant yelling and movement going on, ¿imagine a plague you can catch through your ears.¿ I thought this to be very true about today¿s society and how there¿s noise pollution. The tone of Lullaby is disturbing because it¿s odd to have someone chant or think of a child¿s lullaby and seconds later a person drops dead. To me it meant that although the lullaby was meant to have a positive effect towards the child or to whoever it was read to, it ultimately had the negative effect of killing them. Although Streator would belittle society he still wanted to save it from the ¿culling song¿ in fear that it would kill them but slightly hoping it would to put an end to all the noise polluting the world. Overall, I was very pleased with the book, just like the rest of Palahniuk¿s work. It caught my attention quickly and wasn¿t a let down at all. It opens your eyes about today¿s culture and the way it functions. The entire book was written to be so intense and through out the book i was just in awe at what was going on. I didn¿t want to put down the book because I wanted to know more about the quirky characters, if the characters would reach every last book, and if the deaths would ever stop. This is by far one of the best reads and it compelled me to want to read more litarature like Palahniuks. I was satisfied with it from beginning to end, ¿Some people still think knowledge is power.¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2008

    Chuck does it again...

    As always, Palahniuk is one of the most affecting, brutal authors writing today. His work is always shocking and painful, but always has a moral that can be applied to real life. The same is true in this novel. As much as it hurts to read his novels and stories, it is more than worth it. It grinds you up inside and changes how you see everything. I promise, you will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book...

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. Chuck Palahniuk is one of the most skilled writers in the field today. His style is unique, in a class of its own. If you have not read this book yet, now is the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2007

    White hot good

    Loved this book, as I loved all of Palahniuk's books. Fight Club was my fav, but Lullaby comes in a close second. This author is not going to be for everyone, but if you enjoy edgy material, then he's the man for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2006

    I Love Chuck!!

    Everyone knows the phrase ¿Knowledge is power!¿ Yet in Chuck Palahniuk¿s 5th, suspenseful novel Lullaby. The power of knowing may be the thing that leaves the world in total disaster. In this suspenseful and interesting story is about a reporter by the name of Carl Streator who stumbles across a culling spell while investigating the recurring deaths of infants that have seem to have died of sudden infant death syndrome. He is joined with the help of Helen Boyle, her assistant Mona, and Mona¿s boyfriend, to find all the copies of the poem across the country to destroy them and to find the original book of spells it was in. However, they all have different intentions for destroying the poem and all want to use the book of spells for their own reasons. This is a wonderful, creepy, and intense story that its sure to get and keep your attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2006

    Lullaby

    Lullaby is the third novel that I have read written by Chuck Palahniuk. The first of Palahniuk¿s novels that I read was Fight Club. After seeing the movie it quickly became one of my favorites and was intrigued by it and I decieded to read the novel upon which it was based. And after being intensely satisfied with Fight Club I decided to read more of Palahniuk¿s works. And I am yet to be disappointed. Palahniuk writes with a style that I am yet to have encountered any where else. He never shies away from topics that are seen disgusting or vulgar, in some places he actually welcomes them. And in this novel is no exception. In several parts of the novel he refers to necrophilia and throughout the novel he uses vivid descriptions to illustrate the novel. Palahniuk writes with a style and many times makes the reader question reality and the validity of the society in which we live in, and this is why I enjoy his novels so greatly. Lullaby is a novel that follows a reporter named Carl Streator as he investigates Sudden Infant Death Syndrome, or SIDS. Carl¿s own son and wife died in their sleep, apparently from SIDS. Upon further investigation Carl begins to find a connection between all of the deaths, a book that was left open to a certain poem. He eventually discovers, by experimenting on his editor, that if this poem is read aloud to someone they will die. The poem is called an African culling song and unintentionally Carl memorizes the poem and by nearly thinking of the poem in his head focused on someone, he kills them. After going on his minor unintentional killing spree, Carl eventually meets with Helen, another who has unintentionally killed her family, and goes on a cross country tour to try and eliminate all of the remaining copies of the culling song, which can be found in almost every public library. And in addition to trying to eradicate this killing song they are also in search of the grimorie, an ancient book of spells. In addition to having not only a very entertaining plot, Palahniuk seeks out to make certain statements about our society. Palahniuk ponders a world in which information is used as a weapon and must be regulated. He comes this to the world that he perceives now in which there is always incessant senseless noise and babble that merely fills up our world. Palahniuk also makes a strong statement by having Carl deal with the lose of his wife and son by making perfect little models of houses and schools and destroying them shortly after with his bare feet. It is only then after he has destroyed something perfect and felt his blood flowing over the broken pieces of the model can he find relief not only from the pains of having lost his loved ones but of the pains having to deal with his mundane shell of a life in which all is just becoming filled by noise. I greatly enjoyed Lullaby and found myself intrigued with it all the way until its very conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2006

    Okay and dissappointing

    This was my first read of Palaniuk - I was disappointed. I had read many recommending reviews of his other novels and thought I'd give this one a try. Mediocre. The theme of the story was enticing, but the story in whole, which was quick, led me no where and left me feeling blank.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2005

    The Philosophy of Chuck

    I think what makes this book and all of Chuck's novels unique and good is not just the interesting plot and characters, but also much of his books hinders upon the philosophy he puts into them. He writes about his ideas and philosophy about things that encompass social, political and spiritual which revolves around the main story of each of his books. Its interesting to read it because there's always new ones in every chapter which motivates you to keep reading because his thoughts and personal philosophy are so true and one can relate with it. Lullaby is all about power and the need to acquire power. It's good novel, but not quite as enticing or deep as CHOKE or SURVIVOR.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2005

    class review

    In ancient tribes in Africa, when an elderly person is sick, they recite a powerful spell that instantly puts the person to their death, a culling spell. When a culling spell is published in a lullaby book, babies across the nation start dying rapidly. Carl Streator, a journailst asigned the task of researching Sudden Infant Death Syndrome and real estate agent, Helen Hoover Boyle,who deals in haunted houses, team up and discover that the lullaby is really a culling spell.Together they embark on a journey across the nation in hopes of destroying all copies of the book in which the culling spell is published. Although they are trying to do a good deed, something can always go wrong. I am a huge Chuck Palahniuk fan, and I definately think this is one of his best books. You can compare the anti- hero type character to Tyler Durden, the main character in Fight Club. You can compare the intellectual horror to the many wrong doings of the characters in Diary. I definately reccomend this book, to anyone who¿s looking for a good thought provoking book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2005

    Chuck is God

    Everything Chuck writes is gold..I decided to write a review on Lullaby because it was the first I read and right there he had me hooked..his style is like nothing i have ever read and if your just getting into Chuck books now i suggest you start with Lullaby

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 323 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17