Customer Reviews for

Lullaby

Average Rating 4
( 323 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(131)

4 Star

(118)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Slightly dissapointing

    I really looked forward to this book and was not very impressed. It wasnt terrible but his other work is so great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Culling

    Lullaby by Chuck Palahniuk is a very good book. It is different from his other novels in that it has real 'supernatural' type activity. The twists are nice. The last one really got me! This book is easy to read and it will hold your attention. The plot doesn't waste very much time moving along. I found this book to be a little more sexual than most of his other works. Snuff and Choke being the other 'sexual' ones. Read this on a rainy day or a weekend. It's a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2006

    Okay and dissappointing

    This was my first read of Palaniuk - I was disappointed. I had read many recommending reviews of his other novels and thought I'd give this one a try. Mediocre. The theme of the story was enticing, but the story in whole, which was quick, led me no where and left me feeling blank.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2005

    Sort of Disapointed.....

    After reading this book i felt that there was some sort of element missing. I think 'lullaby' was the fourth palahniuk book i've read and i was rather dissapointed. I can understand how other people would enjoy if it was their first palahniuk book, but after reading 'choke', 'diary' and 'invisible monsters' it wasn't near as good as the others. it just seems like the others show a more nihilstic view as where this one just seems immature then the others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2005

    OK

    Chuck P. fans are rabid, and I think it's a love it or hate it scenario; if you love gore and macabre and all forms of derangement, you will love this book. It is better than his Invisible Monsters, but it begins to unravel about halfway through the book. Although it does have some interesting (though far-fetched) plot twists, overall it is very dark and disturbing, sort of on par with a Tarantino flick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2003

    Strange. Very strange indeed.

    This is my first visit with Chuck Palahniuk and I will definitely have to read him again, if only to find out if all his books are this ¿off-the-wall.¿ I found myself flipping back to the beginning all during the reading of this novel to just pick up little bits and pieces I might have missed along the way. This book definitely has an interesting storyline ¿ a culling poem (if read or even thought about immediately kills someone). Definitely an interesting read¿I¿m wondering if Palahniuk is Vegan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2003

    Hobbies, details, do they shadow us from the past?

    Lullaby wasn't as great as Fight Club, but it came close. The characters were mysterous. This was book that required the reader to pay attention to the very end. Details about the furniture, killings, vegetarianism were abundant. It made me question whether hobbies are for fun or survival. All of the characters have some kind of 'hobby' that helps them cope with life. Oyster was my favorite character because he was hilarious and pretty predictable. The kinship between Helen and Oyster was new and weird. This book would be popular among teens and college students.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2003

    So-so

    We can always count on Chuck Palahniuk to create offbeat characters and then toss them into incredulous circumstances, that's the sheer genius of his talent as a writer. However, this novel fell a little flat with me. Not one of his better books, so don't start with this one if you're a new reader to the Palahniuk world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2002

    Just Doesn't Measure Up

    Chuck Palahniuk is no doubt an excellent novelist - one of my favorites - but the quality of Lullaby does not come close to that of Fight Club, Invisible Monsters, and Choke. The characters were good, and the idea of an epidemic that could be spread through the media was cool, but overall the book just didn't grab me. I am, however, now more seriously considering becoming vegetarian, if not vegan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2002

    Lullaby isn't quite what I expected

    While Lullaby is a novel that keeps your interest long enough for you to finish it, you don't like it after you've finished it. Like Fight Club and Invisible Monsters, I couldn't put it down. However, this story just lacks something. I wasn't too interested in all of the subplots and couldn't understand the countings. . .maybe its just me. Don't start Palahniuk with this. It's a fast read, and its not bad to read once, but won't ever be his best work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2002

    Good essay, mediocre novel

    Palahniuk offers a strong, futuristic essay about a future where the old adage - "sticks and stones may break your bones, but words will never hurt you" - is not true. In Lullaby, a future where words can be used to kill is offered. While certainly a book that provokes deep thought, the plot is thin. Short, choppy sentences make this a quick read, but readers expecting character development and a rich plot may be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2002

    Dissapointing

    Being a near fanatical fan of all of palahniuk's other novels, I have to say that this one was a bit of a let down. It still reads quickly, but doesn't seem to have the same sort of analytical social commentary the other novels had. What the heck was the purpose of Oyster other than to annoy me throughout the whole novel. I'll read it again later, maybe I missed something, but this book comes in last on my palahniuk list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3