Customer Reviews for

Lullaby

Average Rating 4
( 323 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(131)

4 Star

(118)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 131 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Creative, darkly funny novel by an amazing author.

    Reading a Palahniuk novel is like watching a David Lynch movie written by a more literary Howard Stern: completely off the wall, usually mildly offensive and nearly impossible to dismiss. Certainly not for the conservative or oversensitive, his novels are incredibly intricate, smart and darkly funny. The movie Fight Club has generated a huge amount of success and cult following, and that was based on a Chuck Palahniuk novel. I really enjoyed reading Lullaby and would definitely recommend it to anyone who enjoyed watching Fight Club or another film adaptation based on Palahniuk's other novel Choke.


    The basic summary (if you could even make one short enough to call it a summary) is all centering around a culling song, or lullaby that has the power to kill a person after you sing it to them. Carl Streator is a journalist investigating SIDS or sudden infant death syndrome and he's not coming up with new explanations until he happens upon this culling poem and it's correlating presence at each victims family home. Once he discovers the truth behind the tragic deaths he embarks on a journey of destruction and discovery with the colorful and powerful Helen Hover Boyle, that will change his life and the world forever.


    I love the descriptions of the characters in the book. They are each so colorful and eccentric that you really start to care for them no matter how much more vile and corrupt they become. It is difficult to compare Palahniuk's style to any other authors because it honestly is more like it's own language. He is probably the author that influenced me the most to want to be a writer. Something about how he is able to mix fascinating story with his own views and opinions really inspired me. I am going to try and read another Palahniuk book called Diary next and then possibly will read Invisible Monsters which is set to be made into a film later this year.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Good

    Good

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Loved it

    It has been a long time since a book has really pulled me in like this one did. I thoughly enjoyed every word of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    Chuck did it again!

    Haunted is still by far my favorite, but Palahniuk has provided me with yet another great read. I had such a hard time putting it down and I completely read it in two days. I loved that you never knew where it was going next and every time you think you have figured it out, he surprises you again! Crack it open and get to reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2006

    This Is Great!

    Wow I had never read any of Chuck Palahniuk stuff before my roommate got me to read this book and I have to say that is a really good book and that Palahniuk is an amazinig writer... I will definately be reading more his stuff!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    Lullaby(e)

    The only flaw to this book is that there's not another 200 pages attached to the end (that, and there's no sequel).
    Lullaby is one of the best Palahniuk novels I've read. Its disturbing, imaginitive and funny. In other words, its a Palahniuk book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    Wonderful

    Just the perfect book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Love it

    Very creative and well thought out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2014

    Well worth the read

    Lullaby is an intriguing and thought-provoking read from a great author. The characters are engaging, and like some of Palahniuk's other works, this is one of those stories that you can read over and over to find new things you hadn't noticed. It's similar to Fight Club, in that it takes on a whole new life after you have learned the ending, and as soon as I finished it I wanted to read it again. It also poses the moral question of "if you could kill someone with just a word, would you?" which I find fascinating, since there are so many implications concerning how and why someone would use that power. I highly recommend this book, and I have loaned out my copy of it to several people who all loved it. Chuck Palahniuk delivers again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    So good

    By far one of my favs! So well written, and unique....Palahnuik is a master at wordplay, and originality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    One of Chuck's Best

    Fans will find this novel an especially well-wrought addition to their Palahniuk collection. With savagery, the author takes on practitioners of witchcraft, and subjects them to his trademark brand of merciless examination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Outstanding

    One of my favorite books by chuck. Very creatve story that makes you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted August 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Didn't put me to sleep...

    Quick read. Interesting plot, but a little confusing at times. Great detail and narration. I definitely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    !!!!!!

    after the initial confusion, this book has the power to really trigger your imagination.

    i loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2008

    Twisted beyond all belief

    Words can kill--at least that's the premise of this fantastic Palahniuk novel. Don't be fooled by the title--this is no sweet and low-down book it's a nasty, funny, bawdy, horrifying novel that is so intricate and well-porortioned that you'll be shaking your head at the ending. Great fun stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    i'm not one for books but this one was amazing

    i am not really the person to come to about books, but chuck palahniuk is probably the most innovative and disturing authors of all time. after seeing the movie fight club (top 3 favorite movies of all time), i heard from my metal tech teacher at school that lullaby and invisible monsters were great books. so i picked one up and i COULD NOT STOP READING IT!! i read the book in 2 days! i can not remember the last book i actualy finished, (i think it was angels and demons), so that means this one has to be good. palahniuk's deranged and disturbing writing style makes this book absolutly amazing, if you are into that sort of thing. i reccomend this book to anyone who has seen fight club, or is into extreme turning points that completely contradict everything you thought to be true in the book. a great read all around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2008

    Chuck does it again...

    As always, Palahniuk is one of the most affecting, brutal authors writing today. His work is always shocking and painful, but always has a moral that can be applied to real life. The same is true in this novel. As much as it hurts to read his novels and stories, it is more than worth it. It grinds you up inside and changes how you see everything. I promise, you will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book...

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. Chuck Palahniuk is one of the most skilled writers in the field today. His style is unique, in a class of its own. If you have not read this book yet, now is the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2007

    White hot good

    Loved this book, as I loved all of Palahniuk's books. Fight Club was my fav, but Lullaby comes in a close second. This author is not going to be for everyone, but if you enjoy edgy material, then he's the man for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 131 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7