Customer Reviews for

Lumby on the Air (Lumby Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    I've read the previous 4 books, and mostly enjoyed them. But th

    I've read the previous 4 books, and mostly enjoyed them. But the "offbeat" has run its course. I don't think I will even be able to finish this one as I am continually thinking to myself that responible people don't act this way. What was fun for a few books now grates on me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love this book, so funny

    This is the 5th book in the series, I have only read "The Promise of Lumby" which I found to be a great. This book Lumby in the Air is just as good. I really like "Hank" the pink flamingo who plays a great part in the books that I have read. He is moved all over town and the book talks as if he a real person, Hank dreams of being a great eagle that can score so high in the air.

    In this book Pam and Mark are getting ready to celebrate their 25th wedding anniversary with a week long celebrations. It is to coincide with this year's Chatham County Fair and what a week this will be. The brother-in-law is coming in bringing his talk radio show crew "in which no one invited" and all mayhem breaks out.

    The first thing that went wrong was Mark's name on the invitation was wrong and it read "Fark" instead of Mark. The Monks from the monastry are back and some nuns that have run out of room at their abby are wanting some land and join forces with the Monks so they would have room to plant their grape vines. This gets to be a chore as the nuns do all the work themselves.

    The town newspaper prints some really funny things and this is just one that I really liked from one of the papers, "The Lumby Lines" classified ads, "Mixing bowl set ideal for wife with round bottom for dough beating" and I just have to tell one more. From the same days paper " Parachute, never been opened. Used once , slightly stained. $350.00 0r best offer. Lumby Sporting Goods." I have to stop now so you will want to but this book and all of them if you have not read any, they are sure to please...

    This book proof was sent to me by Christian Review of Book for review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Series

    I agree with the reveiw on the front of this book "If Gail Fraser's little town of Lumby could escape the confines of her imagination and be put on the proverbial map, I'd move there in a moment" This series is just full of such fun, loving, wacky, heart warming tales and people. There always seems to be a good lesson to all of us within the pages also. Not to mention at some time during each book I have go searching for the box of tissues. Can't wait until the next one comes out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Charming Town & Characters

    What a sweet book! Just what I needed. This is the fifth in a series. I haven't read the others, but I picked up on the story with no problems.

    There were a few serious underlying ideas, like redemption, a teen's need to fit in at any cost, family issues, and how the sale of a large tract of land to the wrong person can change a community's character forever. Linking all of these together was the question of how responsible we are to each other.

    Mostly this was just a nice story with repaired family relationships, a community that looks out for everyone, and Mark's crazy antics to lighten everything up. Seriously, who enters a chainsaw art competition when they've never done anything like that before? Overseeing it all is the town's mascot, Hank, a plastic pink flamingo who longs to be an eagle. I loved the newspaper excerpts! They added a perfect little taste of small-town life.

    I have to say that the resolution to the angsty teen didn't feel drastic enough. I didn't quite buy it. But the whole book is more of an escape than anything, so it did fit with the tone of everything else.

    I also could have used a cast of characters. I lost track of who everyone was. This is where it might have helped if I'd read the books in the right order, but my biggest problem was with the various family members. I got the feeling that they were mostly introduced for the first time in this book.

    There was a whole section full of extras, such as recipes, discussion questions, and "What's in your..." interviews with characters. I enjoyed looking through all those.

    If you've had a rough day and you need to escape to a simpler place, pick this up. I'll be doing that with the earlier books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A quirky and fun summer read.

    Lumby on the Air centers around Mark and Pam Walker as they are about to host a family reunion in celebration of their twenty-fifth wedding anniversary and vow renewal. As Mark and Pam's family members converge on the little mountainside town of Lumby, personalities clash and long-standing issues collide, all making for an entertaining and intriguing week in the Walker's life.

    I didn't quite know what to expect from this book, it's not something I would normally pick up while perusing bookshelves, but I am so glad I read Lumby on the Air. At times it does lack the finesse I like to see from good writers, but I can overlook that for it's better qualities. Lumby on the Air is simply a fun book, a wonderfully light read, about the quirks in every family, and the pulse of a small town set aside from corporate America; a town where neighbors are people who always come to your aid, regardless of how far away they may actually live.

    Lumby on the Air was refreshing to read in the way I imagine visiting the actual town of Lumby would refresh me from city-living. It's nice to be reminded that there can still be places where people help each other instead of living a single-minded existence where we only worry about ourselves. Most of Gail Fraser's characters come to life on the page, and I feel like I know Pam and Mark and the people of Lumby. Small parts of the book are disconnected; Mark's sixteen-year-old niece Jessica is somewhat unrealistic because her personality and issues are over the top, but in general, each character was well-formed and amusing. Even the town mascot Hank, a plastic-pink flamingo (well, to be honest, I didn't get his character, but I have a feeling he'll be in the other books).

    If you're looking for a nice summer read that you can relax with and not think too hard about, Lumby on the Air is perfect for the beach and bright weather.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is an amusing Lumby entry

    In Lumby, residents Pam and Mark Walker run the Montis Inn. At the same time the town hosts the Chatham County Fair, the couple is celebrating their silver wedding anniversary with a week long gala at the inn with family and friends; highlighting the get together with a vow renewal. Ironically, the person who made up the invitation changes his name from Mark to Fark, an omen of what is about to occur or perhaps a purposeful use of a descriptor "noun".

    Mark's estranged sister Lynn arrives with her companion Coco the cat. He is elated to see her as they split apart when Lynn's ex husband cheated him out of money. However, his canines sniffing a cat meal chase pregnant show champion Coco up on the inn's roof where she refuses to come down. Pam's mother Kay and her friend arrive, but her companion is not who her daughter expected to see. Next, Mark's other sibling Nancy and her husband radio talk show host Carter and their son Corey join the festivity; as the radio celebrity continues his show badmouthing small town living and pushing an anti rustic Rockies resort to the ire of the Lumby community.. Finally his brother Patrick and his wife Elaine and their sixteen year old daughter Jessica show up with the teen bringing her all night social networking equipment with her.

    This is an amusing Lumby entry with serious undertones providing a strong story line as for instance economic development vs. rustic living and teen internet savvy vs. parental ignorance. Enhanced by wonderful Art Poulin drawings, the tale is fun to follow as Pam and Fark wonder what whether they should have eloped as the horde is driving them crazy (think of the movie Madhouse).

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    Lumby on the Air

    Pam and Mark Walker live in Lumby and run an inn that had been restored from an old Monk's Abby. Their twenty-fifth wedding anniversary was coming up and they were having a week long celebration with Mark's relatives. This was the same week as their Fair so everyone would have something to do. Pam and Mark were really good friends with the Monks and the Nuns that lived near them.

    What a surprise when the relatives started coming in, the first one was Mark's sister Lynn, who they were looking to be there. Her ex-husband had cheated Mark out of a lot of money, so she and Mark had not spoken since. She arrived and just sit in the car talking to something, and as she got out they saw she had been talking to her cat, Coco. Out came Mark's dogs, up of the roof of Lynn's went Coco and she couldn't get her down. Coco was a show-winning champion Seal Point Birman and was pregnant by a top-rated Seal Point Birman stud, so she though.

    Pam's mother Kay, had to be picked up at the airport with a friend. It happened not to be the friend they were looking for her to bring, Surprise!!
    Then came Nancy, Mark's sister with her famous radio talk show husband Carter and their son Corey. Next was a brother Patrick, his wife Elaine and their sixteen year old daughter Jessica. Jessica so did not want to be there, she had brought all her laptops and every type of electronic equipment that she had as she stayed on the internet all night, unknown to her parents.

    What a week Mark and Pam had before their renewal of vows. There was trouble every way they turned, from Coco, Carter, who set his radio show up live from their sitting area, to all the contest in the fair that Mark had decided to enter, and then there was Jessica.

    This is the first of the Lumby books that I have read, but it was so funny.
    This book, an unedited pre-release edition was sent to me FSB Associates for review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1