Customer Reviews for

The Lump of Coal

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    my review of the lump of coal!!!!

    I think this book will be great for kids that like to think whats going to happen next!!! This book is a unforgettable story; you will cry at the ending cause then he knows where he belongs and he's very happy!!!so you should remember that this book is not something you would want to read by yourself!! So have a great time with your family reading this book!!!ENJOY!!!!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    Lemony does it again!

    I liked and bought the screaming latke book a few years back and thought that would be the only holiday offering from the always-amusing Mr. Snicket. So I was delighted to find The Lump of Coal, which is even better. And I had a great excuse to buy it-a stocking stuffer for my husband. (Which means, of course, that I get to read and enjoy it, yet I look generous by giving it away.) It's a win/win. I eagerly await something soon for either Ramadan or New Year's. Maybe then he will branch out to holidays outside of December. The Blue Valentine, perhaps? Or The Freakishly Five-leaf Clover for St. Patty's? The possiblities abound!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This story ROCKS!!!!Get it!!!!

    This book is so awesome and your children and you will enjoy this book!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Masterful Story

    Lemony Snicket is such an interesting author. He has written this original story about a lump of coal, and what an interesting story to add to your Christmas collection! Most kids are afraid of getting a lump of coal for Christmas, but this "Lump of Coal" story adds a twist to the typical naughty kid gift. My kids also have another fun book about a little boy who is afraid to get a lump of coal "Jake the Snake and the Stupid Time-Out Chair." These two books would make a wonderful duo for the Christmas season!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2009

    A story about a lump of coal.

    Lemony Snicket and Brett Helquist have done it again. This is a very
    unusual holiday tale. For so many years of being the threatened gift
    for bad children, we have a tale about a erudite lump of coal wearing
    a very nice black suit and tie. A lump of coal who exceeds beyond his
    wildest dreams. This story turns dear Charles Dickens on his brillant
    head.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Lump of Coal

    I bought this book for my little sister who loves Lemony Snicket, and my whole family ended up reading it. Its a great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Great Children's Tale by Lemony Snicket

    As only Lemony Snicket can do, he has written another quirky tale that you will want for your bookshelf. I picked up the book when I saw the name Lemony Snicket, but I read it cover to cover because the story is great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Inspires Holiday Good Behavior

    My child and I enjoyed reading this. Lemony Snicket definately has an odd sense of humor. His old fashioned style drawings set a special nostalgic mood. The irony may prompt good discussions of what is proper in prayer and speaking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2014

    B & N failed me . . .

    I'm afraid I can't review a book which was unavailable on my simple version of Nook. Very unhappy about that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    ?..............

    IS IT A PICTURE BOOK OR A NOVEL? I REALLY NEERLD TO KNOW

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Ummm

    How long is it

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    great

    great book even when it is not the holidays

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    A charming Holiday book!

    It is a delightful but thoughtful Holiday book aimed at young children, but special for children of all ages ( Adults too)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2