Customer Reviews for

Luna

Average Rating 4.5
( 204 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(152)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Luna: A Must Read Novel!

"I love her, she's my brother."
Luna is a fantastic novel that touched my soul. After reading the story of a boy named Liam whose only wish is to have the body of a girl. I was filled with awe, respect and a unique kind of love for trans-gendered people. Luna is to...
"I love her, she's my brother."
Luna is a fantastic novel that touched my soul. After reading the story of a boy named Liam whose only wish is to have the body of a girl. I was filled with awe, respect and a unique kind of love for trans-gendered people. Luna is told from Regan's perspective, (Liam's sister) the only person that knows who Liam truly is on the inside. Regan shared her heart shattering experiences with Liam, or should I say Luna? Luna is the name Liam chose for the girl he really is.

This book is one of the very few that brought tears to my eyes. I cried for sorrow, for joy, excitement, justice and so much more. It shows the depth, loneliness and depression transsexuals often go through. In a society full of closed minds, unacepting parents and peers, transsexual people are very likely to like a lie! Pretending to be somebody your not, is that living? To me its not. Its no wonder these people live in fear every single day. Even when they want to express themselves to their families, to the world by dressing the way they feel on the inside. A shadow of fear will follow them everywhere they go. A fear of not being accepted, being judged or even being physically and verbally harassed. Bruises will heal but words will leave a scar for life.

This novel also got me thinking, what if I had a boy's body when I know Im a girl! How would I cope with that? How would you? People are always saying, "It's the inside that counts" If this is true, then what makes it so hard to accept somebody that's different from us?

This book also made me realize a huge difference between gays and transsexuals that many people don't understand. Transsexuals are not attracted to their same sex; it only seems that way because we forget that they are stuck in the body of the opposite sex. They don't choose to be trans, just like we don't choose who our parents are or what our hair color is. On the other hand, gays are attracted to the same sex, and some people are even born being gay; others choose to be gay as a lifestyle but gays and trans have something in common; they both deserve respect, just like you and I.

To conclude this, Luna is an intriguing masterpiece about a girl stuck in the body of a boy with a bittersweet ending. Luna leaves you satisfied, but craving for more at the same time. I believe that everybody should read this mind-opening novel.

posted by beautifulnightmare on March 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good read but...

i loved almost everything about the book but the constant dramatic smashes to the face and abrupted ending stopped me from truely loving everything. I dont regret buying and reading this book, infact i have recommended it to friends, i just wish there was a sequel or so...
i loved almost everything about the book but the constant dramatic smashes to the face and abrupted ending stopped me from truely loving everything. I dont regret buying and reading this book, infact i have recommended it to friends, i just wish there was a sequel or something to give a little more to the story. 3-4 stars all in all.

posted by 5809254 on February 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Luna: A Must Read Novel!

    "I love her, she's my brother."
    Luna is a fantastic novel that touched my soul. After reading the story of a boy named Liam whose only wish is to have the body of a girl. I was filled with awe, respect and a unique kind of love for trans-gendered people. Luna is told from Regan's perspective, (Liam's sister) the only person that knows who Liam truly is on the inside. Regan shared her heart shattering experiences with Liam, or should I say Luna? Luna is the name Liam chose for the girl he really is.

    This book is one of the very few that brought tears to my eyes. I cried for sorrow, for joy, excitement, justice and so much more. It shows the depth, loneliness and depression transsexuals often go through. In a society full of closed minds, unacepting parents and peers, transsexual people are very likely to like a lie! Pretending to be somebody your not, is that living? To me its not. Its no wonder these people live in fear every single day. Even when they want to express themselves to their families, to the world by dressing the way they feel on the inside. A shadow of fear will follow them everywhere they go. A fear of not being accepted, being judged or even being physically and verbally harassed. Bruises will heal but words will leave a scar for life.

    This novel also got me thinking, what if I had a boy's body when I know Im a girl! How would I cope with that? How would you? People are always saying, "It's the inside that counts" If this is true, then what makes it so hard to accept somebody that's different from us?

    This book also made me realize a huge difference between gays and transsexuals that many people don't understand. Transsexuals are not attracted to their same sex; it only seems that way because we forget that they are stuck in the body of the opposite sex. They don't choose to be trans, just like we don't choose who our parents are or what our hair color is. On the other hand, gays are attracted to the same sex, and some people are even born being gay; others choose to be gay as a lifestyle but gays and trans have something in common; they both deserve respect, just like you and I.

    To conclude this, Luna is an intriguing masterpiece about a girl stuck in the body of a boy with a bittersweet ending. Luna leaves you satisfied, but craving for more at the same time. I believe that everybody should read this mind-opening novel.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    Good read but...

    i loved almost everything about the book but the constant dramatic smashes to the face and abrupted ending stopped me from truely loving everything. I dont regret buying and reading this book, infact i have recommended it to friends, i just wish there was a sequel or something to give a little more to the story. 3-4 stars all in all.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

    LUNA is the first book I've ever read that deals specifically with transgender issues. Although you get a feel for what the book is about by reading the back copy--in effect, that Regan's brother, Liam, is a woman trapped in a man's body--you don't get the full spectrum of what this actually means until you reach the end of chapter one. <BR/><BR/>"Rolling over, I muttered, 'You're such a freakshow.' Her hair splayed across my pillow, tickling my face. 'I know,' she murmured in my ear. 'But you love me, don't you?' Her lips grazed my cheek. I swatted her away. As I heard her slog across the floor toward my desk--where she'd unveiled her makeup caddy in all its glory--a sigh of resignation escaped my lips. Yeah, I loved her. I couldn't help it. She was my brother." <BR/><BR/>Liam is the type of boy who, even as a small child, wanted to by the Mommy when he and Regan played house. For his ninth birthday, he asked for a Prom Barbie and a bra. Now, as a senior in high school, Liam is consumed with letting out Luna, the name he's taken for his female self. His dad, of course, is adamant that his son will finally play baseball. His mother, lost in a world of uppers and downers, pretends not to notice when her son offers to fix dinner or do the laundry. And Regan, the only one who knows her brother for who he is--a sister named Luna--is losing sleep and a chance for her own life by hiding the secret. <BR/><BR/>Something has to change, and it finally does when Luna decides to go all the way, to actually become Luna, the woman he knows he is. But what will it mean for his family, especially Regan, who has spent so long loving her brother, protecting his secrets, being a part of his life? It might just be time for Regan to have a childhood of her own, and for Luna to come out of the darkness, out of the shadow of the moon, and into the light. <BR/><BR/>LUNA is an emotional, heartfelt read that deftly deals with the issue of transgenderism in a way that makes it believable and important. I had never really thought of what it must be like for someone who believes they were born with the wrong body, but after reading LUNA, my heart and support goes out to anyone who has ever suffered with this issue. This is a book not to be missed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2007

    Being the REAL YOU!

    I just finished Luna. I spent a couple of weeks reading a chapter at a time. Then, I spent 10 hours reading that last 2/3 of the book! POWERFUL. As a TRANSGENDERED PERSON, I can Relate! Emotional, Personal, Real-life story & Wonderful-Sacrifice of Regan, Sister-Supporting in a world that DONESN'T- UNDERSTAND what's it's like to live in a body that doesn't match your True-Inner-Self! I am a mid-age adult, male body that felt like a girl since 12 and everything I've tried to 'Get-rid-of-it'...it keeps comming up. Why?? Societal-Pressures! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK from teenage- thru Adult! Powerful Loving Story of a Sister that 'Sacrifices-her-life' for her-brother to be 'Herself!' I Honer-her-for-that!!!! Once you start to read, you just CAN'T PUT THE BOOK DOWN!! A~MUST~READ!! It's SOOOOOOO AWESOME, Sensitive & Human!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    STOP ROLEPLAYING

    Pretty good book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Amazing

    The story opened ny eyes to a new world that is becoming more common in todays society. And the story is just amazing and the credibility if it too. This story is definitely one to be remembered.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Different Within

    Before I started reading Luna, I was unsure of how I would react to the plot. I had never read about transgenders, but I was opened minded. As I read Luna, I started to become a little attached to her because I felt really bad for her. Liam was shy and embarrassed, but Luna was exotic and bright. They were battling inside one body. Luna was winning, thankfully. This book wasn't the best, but it was an interesting story about a transgender trying to find themself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2010

    So Good!

    This book was so good, I felt a different range of emotions for each character and I just couldn't put it down. It explores Regan's relationship with her brother/sister to her love life (or lack there of) to even how unconnected she is with her own parents. I found myself dabbing at my eyes from time to time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2008

    Luna=AMAZING

    Luna is an amazing novel and a very easy read. It is one of those books you just do not want to put down. I would not recommend this novel for audiences younger than a high school student because I think the book was written for a mature audience. I enjoyed reading Luna because it was about a topic that is very rarely written or talked about, transgender. Before reading this novel, I knew basically nothing about transgender. I think lots of people are uneducated about it. Lots of people confuse transgender with homosexuality, which is a completely different thing. Transgender people are trapped in the wrong body, whereas, homosexuals are happy with the gender they were born with, but they just happen to be attracted to the same sex. I like how Luna is written from the point of view of Regan, the sister of a transgender boy. I like how the novel showed not only the struggles of Liam/Luna, the transgender boy, but also of the struggles that Regan went through being the only one Liam/Luna could go to when he/she needed help. Regan being there for Liam/Luna made Luna feel like she was not alone in this world. Regan saved Luna many times from doing some drastic things, like committing suicide. One struggle that Regan deals with is finding her own identity. She is always concerned about Liam/Luna and his problems, so she does not have a life of her own. Everything she does revolves around Liam/Luna and his/her plans. By the end of the novel, Regan realizes that she needs to start living her own life. I think this book is very inspirational for other transgender people. I feel like it might help them to have the courage to finally become the person they truly are, or at least tell another person about their struggles, so they do not have to go through it alone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    A gem of a book

    Luna written by Julie Ann Peters is a book with a subject that most teen have never read about, transgender. The book focuses around Regan a fifteen year old girl who has a lot on her plate, she has a mean chemistry teacher who holds her up to her genus brother, trying not to act stupid around her oh so cute chemistry partner, her popping pills mom, and her macho man dad. But on top of all this her brother wakes her up almost every night to transform into Luna 'his chosen name' by putting on wigs and women¿s clothing from thrift stores. Since his mother is never home to notice and his dad is always pushing him to be more of a man Luna remains secret only to Regan and Liam. Regan does her best to be supportive even putting her own life on hold to take care of Liam/ Luna. But now Luna is growing restless and is ready to break out. Everyday it becomes harder and harder to keep Luna a secret from the world. And the outing of this secret is enough to wreck both of their lives. Luna is a book best saved for 13-16 year old girls since the subject matter is a little much or too hard to comprehend. The story is told in many flashbacks that give us insights to how Liam was always trying to be a girl, while also telling how their family fell apart. In my opinion is a engrossing read that is new and exciting, many times you take a pause a think about the characters and the decisions they made. The book preaches understanding along with acceptance that many readers will be able to relate to. That is why I give it five out of five stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2006

    Amazing

    As a teenaged transgendered male to female, I think that Julie Anne Peters did a phenomenal job portraying the struggle of the transgendered teenager. I found myself relating to Luna's character immensely and was so moved that I cried at different times in the story. This book is perfect for anyone who doesn't understand transsexuality and wants to know more about it, or anyone who needs a great book to laugh and cry to.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2015

    My social medias

    Instagram: _call_me_ty_
    ooVoo: tyler_is_magic
    Snaphat: tyty0517
    Kik: tyler_is_magik

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2015

    MORE OF LUNASTARS RISE

    HUGE CLIFF HANGER PLZ PLZ PLZ GO ON AND WRITE MORE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2014

    Also read

    Membrs of the retreat at juk

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2014

    To obiwanbunker11

    Star wars fan?There's an rp at 'basil'.Kid,pretty good,work on spelling and grammar.-AnnabethSolo,Warriors fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2014

    To Lunastar's rise

    I like your story. Pkease continue. I have just one suggestion though. Please capitalize names. Other than that though it was great and suspenseful. Also read my story at 'wd'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2014

    Lunastar's rise- prologue

    It was nighttime in pineclan and a cream colored shecat walked to the dirtplace and slipped through the dirtplace tunnel . The queen padded along a stream and sat by a pine tree to rest. She heard a rustle of leaves and saw a black tom with bright green eyes. She gasped with delight as she entwined her tail around his and said, " my love i have something to tell you.." "what is it lillyshine?" Said the tom with a concerned look across his face. Lillyshine's brilliant purplish blue sparkled as she replied " im going to have your kits in a half moon!" The tom's eyes widened in satisfied shock as he mewed "our kits will be beautiful!" The tom's warm gaze didn't last long as he whispered "oh no..." when he saw a band of rogues burst into the clearing. "There you are dragon! We've been looking for you!" Smirked the dusty brown tom with amber in the lead of the group. A small old misty grey shecat with angry blue eyes padded up beside the brown tom and exclaimed "dragon your brain must be made of thistledown if you thought we wouldn't have noticed your little nighttime trips.." " venom! Viper! Leave lillyshine and i alone!" Said dragon as he shielded lillyshine from the intruders. " you can redeem our trust if your mate serves us after she has her kits." Venom sneered. " no! I couldn't do that!" Screeched dragon. " dragon, let me do this for you." Mewed lillyshine quietly. " why!!?" Meowed dragon. "Because... because i love you." Mewed lillyshine with tears streaming down her face. "Looks like this is settled. Lillyshine, you're coming with us." Said venom triumphantly.
    (Thanks for reading this! If you have any character applications feel free to suggest them!) -obibunkenobi11

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2014

    Valo

    "Here"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    To all cats

    /)_- you actually clicked here? Jk um..... plz join camp half blood! At borgias

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    Question for all cats

    WHAT IS ETHEREAL????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11