Customer Reviews for

Lunar Park

Average Rating 4
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    I read Lunar Park when it came out years ago and it stands out a

    I read Lunar Park when it came out years ago and it stands out as one of the best books that I've read in the past 10 years. It was genius -- bizarre, dark, fantastical. But, oddly enough, completely relatable.

    This is is Ellis's best novel. And, why I will always pick up any novel he writes in the future.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing

    it's likely that brett easton ellis' identity will forever be defined by his novels, 'less than zero' and 'american psycho.' but, 'lunar park' is his literary masterpiece. it's everything dark, tortured, and lost, that he ever put down on paper. this time, the fear and horror don't come from people desperate to lose themselves...but from a man desperate to find and free himself. it's the closest thing to uplifting, he's probably written. &if you can get through to the end, there's much to be learned in his truth and honesty.

    plus, i just like the way he's constantly evolving the role of narrator...tres postmodern.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2006

    One of the best books I have ever read!

    Undoubtedly one of the best books I have ever read. It is funny, gripping, creepy, sad, and melancholy. I listened to it first and now I am reading it to catch the parts that I may have missed. I can't wait to read more of Mr. Ellis' books. I really liked the video scene with his father from the email and the scene where Harrison Ford as a young actor was calling for Mr. Ellis. These parts had me shivering and I was really creeped out. I can't wait to see what else Mr. Ellis comes out with next!!! Thanks for the wild ride Bret! an avid reader

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2006

    Ellis is underappreciated

    This is the best Ellis novel yet. I enjoyed this novel immensly. Perfectly captures the nightmare of modern life, real and imagined. This novel will make your heart ache and race at the same time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2006

    A Sort-Of Autobiography Warped Within A Funhouse Fiction Mirror

    Lunar Park is the sort-of autobiography of its author, Bret Easton Ellis, warped within a funhouse fiction mirror. The book begins with an engaging recount of the author's professional past, and then an onslaught of terrifying psychological and actual events take place over a Halloween holiday weekend. Those who have read his earlier five books will be best prepared to pick up the continuous -- and brilliant -- use of self-referential detail that adds to the literary weight of the novel. Ellis has fused sophisticated postmodern fiction techniques with contemporary horror and the result is one of the best American novels of 2005.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2006

    I didn't expect this...

    Intruiging at first, then gripping, then genuinely touching at the end

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2006

    His best yet!

    This is a truly inspiring book for an author that is bearing his soul for his art. Ellis is at the top of his game here and the allusions to Hamlet (amongst others) and the inclusion of the 'Jayster' are amazing. It's a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2006

    Bizarre but great

    Ah, the lost art of self-deprecation. Fans of Ellis will most likely enjoy LUNAR PARK. I also think, however, that fans of horror will also enjoy it a ton. Being a fan of both, I have to say this novel is probably my favorite of his. Its been a long time coming and, for me, it was more than worth the wait. I hope it hasn't been too late. Ellis's previous novels are disturbing, but they usually escape being categorized as horror. LUNAR PARK, despite its classification as literature, absolutely earns itself a place among the top works of horror. Interestingly, this is Ellis's least graphic and gruesome work. If you enjoyed books such as LESS THAN ZERO or the novel KATZENJAMMER by McCrae, then this will be right up your alley.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2005

    Outstanding

    His best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2005

    Finally

    Maybe now the critical tide will turn and he will be given proper recognition as an American prose stylist and writer of great substance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Terrific biographical fiction

    Bret Easton Ellis knows he is an egotistical drug abuser, whose dysfunctional relationship with his now deceased abusive father still leaves him unable to hook up with his own son. His former lover, movie star Jayne Dennis offers him redemption through marriage and jointly raising their eleven years old son Robby, whom Bret barely knows. He agrees and the trio along with Jayne¿s daughter Sarah sired by another freak settle in the New York suburbs while he works on his next porno shocker, Teenage Pussy.............. Bret cannot cope with the three people he shares a home with especially his distant non-communicative son. He returns to his drug and alcoholic past while chasing college student Aimee. That is until the weirdness begins starting with Terby the mechanical bird suddenly like Chucky coming alive ready to harm all. Neighbor boys vanish, e-mail from his dad¿s ashes arrive, and gruesome murders from out of his novel AMERICAN PSYCHO haunt the town as much as the spirit haunting Ellis's house demands he writes the sobering paranoid truth hence this novel........................ This novel is best for those readers who know Bret Easton Ellis¿s writing career and ¿brat pack¿ days of LESS THAN ZERO in which the author and his cronies symbolize the acceptable excesses of the Reagan Era. The story line lampoons the writer as he stars in an autobiographical fiction in which uses real people that he knew and events to tell his self parody that critiques and criticizes his celebrity status now that he no longer can claim the folly of youthful self indulgence. Terrific biographical fiction just not for everyone as the knowing the ¿Brat Pack¿ is a great part of the fun................. Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Nova Shadow

    Name: BILL FRICKING COSBY. No, duh. It's Nova Shadow.<p>Gender: &male<p>Type of Pony: Unicorn. <P>Looks: His coat is an odd blackish-orangish. Hard to describe otherwise. His tail is long and curved, and his mane splits off into two antenna-like ponytails that go straight down the sides of his face and come close to touching the ground. Both his tail and mane are orange. His eyes are slanted and yellow.<p>Cutie Mark: If you play Kingdom Hearts, it's the heartless symbol. If you don't, I'll describe it. At the top is a heart, divided into four equal sections by an "X" through it. The bottom of the heart tapers off into a long point, with two smaller points off of the larger one. It is all red.<p>History:None, would love a job.<p>I think that's all...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Zues and Dagger

    Name: Call me Zues or King <p> Age: 24 <p> Gender: &male <p> Species: Winged Unicorn Slenphir <p> Eyes/Hooves: Gold <p> Mane/Tail: Blonde <p> Body: Golden blonde <p> Powers: Can control wind, fire, metal, earth, and water <p> Personalities: Protective, fun, nice, caring, fatherly <p> Crush: None <p> Mate: None <p> Foals: None <p> Other: Is a slenphir. A Slenphir has 8 legs instead of 4. <p> &spades Zues &spades <p> Name - Call me Dagger or Knight <p> Age: 22 <p> Gender: &female <p> Species: Winged Unicorn Slenphir <p> Eyes/Hooves: Red eyes Silver eyes <p> Mane/Tail: Dark gray <p> Body: Black <p> Powers: Can bring the dead back to life and heal the sick and hurt <p> Personalities: Fun, nice, caring, protective, motherly <p> Crush: None <p> Mate: None <p> Foals: None <p> Reproduction: If mated with another unicorn and the same species, can have a chance to give birth to a unicorn. <p> Other: Is a Slenphir. A Slenphir has 8 legs instead of 4.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Tartblood

    Name:Tartblood
    Age:…
    Gender:girl
    Apperence: black with blood red streaks running through. Black and white mane Luna style, and Cadance style bloodred,white, and black tail. Light blue eyes Cadance style
    Weapons:Macheyte
    Cutie mark: a bloody machette with a greyscale rainbow in the background with cuts and blood spilling out.
    Crush: Blue Lightning
    Anything else: ask

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Brokens bio

    Name: Broken Heart. Gender: mare. Mane/tail: messy red fluttershy style. Eyes: red rarity style. Body: black. CM: a red broken heart. Species: (accidental) alicorn. Other looks: sometimes has blood or rainbows smeared on her. Occupation: rainbow factory worker. Personality: meet her. Family: none. Boyfriend/crush/husband: none. Pet: a black cat with yellowish green eyes. Horn glow color: red. Favorite animal: cat. Theme song: titanium by david guetta and sia or something. Birthday: july 22. Age: like teen or preteen. Friends: alot of ponies. Favorite band: coldplay or imagine dragons. Magic power: high. Wingpower: medium. Anything else ask!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Tall Tails of The Six

    Bios in last res.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Twilxe

    I am Flash Burst BFF. We thoght we fighting princess luna. But it is not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Rainbow Dash

    Trots in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Breezekit

    She watched the clan curiously from the entrance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    CrystalEclipse

    *a jet black she-cat with dull white paws , tailtip and underbelly with dark amber eyes padded in as another cat padded behind her. It was an all brown tom with red stripes on his pelt and a deep scar going down his right side and dark brown eyes. They both sat down.* "Hello , my name is CrystalEclipse , and this is my brother , RedStripe. May we join your clan ?" *CrystalEclipse meowed softly as her brother looked around camp.* ~ &#9834 CrystalEclipse & RedStripe &#9834 ~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3