Customer Reviews for

The Lunatic Cafe (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 870 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(549)

4 Star

(233)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Anita Blake

The Anita Blake series is by far my favorite series out there. The complex personalities and evolution of the characters is amazing. Laurell K. hamilton writes a book that creates a whole new world for us to get sucked into. Once you pick up one of her books, you can't ...
The Anita Blake series is by far my favorite series out there. The complex personalities and evolution of the characters is amazing. Laurell K. hamilton writes a book that creates a whole new world for us to get sucked into. Once you pick up one of her books, you can't put it down. And once you finish one you just have to immediately start the next one.

posted by Anonymous on December 10, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I can't believe...

so many people love Anita Blake. I originally picked up the series because it had recieved such great reviews, but I regret my descision. Anita is just plain annoying. She's always whipping out her guns whenever someone walks NEAR her! I just cannot like her. Jean-Claud...
so many people love Anita Blake. I originally picked up the series because it had recieved such great reviews, but I regret my descision. Anita is just plain annoying. She's always whipping out her guns whenever someone walks NEAR her! I just cannot like her. Jean-Claude is a great character, but his saying 'ma petite' EVERY SCENTENCE is annoying beyond belief.
Richard may be the most annoying character besides Anita. He's always playing the martyr, which I find sad.
I also find it sad that Anita couldn't even stomach his being a werewolf, but tries to console herself about it.
This book is only good if you're alone and need something to occupy your time.

posted by MunsterMovie13 on January 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 233 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Great series

    As a lover of supernatural themed fiction, I know how easy it is for books with these themes to get silly. But so far, I am still enjoying every word of this series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    RE: The Lunatic Cafe

    This was an interesting book which showed us more of Anita's boyfriend Richard and how he rules his pack. It introduces characters that explain why the pack and Richard are where there are now and how Anita is able to grow more understanding and help them all. Anita is very clever in this one a lot of the times using her mind and her power over her weapons and in the end does what is best for all sometimes at a cost to her. Good plot and fun to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    Anita Blake is a vampire hunter/executioner and an animator. She

    Anita Blake is a vampire hunter/executioner and an animator. She is currently dating Richard Zeeman, a local werewolf and high school science teacher, for the past two months. She enjoys being with him and can see herself with him in the long time unlike Jean~Claude, Master of the City. George Smitz wants Anita to find his wife Peggy, who is missing and a shapeshifter, yet Anita has no experience with a missing persons case and hands it off to Ronnie Sims instead. Anita is called by Sergeant Dolph Storr into an interesting case of murder that was done by a shapeshifter just not sure what variety. Irving Griswold asks Anita to help him out with the local alpha werewolf and Richard. He tells Anita that he is in rock and hard place between them both which makes Anita mad at both of them. Anita refuses to acknowledge Marcus as dominant over her which pisses Marcus off but Anita doesn't care. Marcus wants Anita to look into 7 more missing lycanthropes besides Peggy Smitz. Anita is asked by Elvira Drew for help in locating wererat for her book and tells her that she will have to get back to her on that. Bert and Anita need to have a chat about client lists again. Richard asks Anita to marry him which she says yes but is not sure about it now. Jean~Claude's date Gretchen tells Anita that she must tell Jean~Claude that she's to marry another. Anita has done her best to avoid crossing paths with Jean~Claude yet doesn't see a way around doing this. Can Anita solve her case? Will she marry Richard? What about Jean~Claude? What of missing lycanthropes? Your answers await you in The Lunatic Cafe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    Recommended

    I really enjoyed this book. I like Anita Blake she is no nonsense heroine. I read it in one sitting. If you like the Southern Vampire books, but something a little more "dark" you'll love these.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    I absolutely love the Anita Blake series. This book was not my

    I absolutely love the Anita Blake series. This book was not my favorite in the series so far but was still great and fun to read. The only reason I did not give it a full 5 star rating is due to the fact I that I am not a fan of love triangles. However, this was one of the best love triangles I have read. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a good mystery with some paranormal thrown in the mix.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Good

    I can't believe this book has yet to be rated it is great!!! Alot os insight in the way things happen for the shapeshifter underworld!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Loved it

    I am on my 8th series, love every one. Love Women writers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    lunatic cafe

    Neat characters & plot. Not every book in the series is about the same thing. The characters grow and mature in each book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Another good one in the series

    Great series although sometimes repetitive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Best so far

    I've just finished #1 and #2 of the Anita Blake Vampire Hunter Series, and got confused and read the 4th out of order. It was suspenseful, somewhat romantic, and definitely action packed! Its a must read series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Couldn't put down!

    I am addicted to Anita Blake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2005

    Lunatic Cafe

    This book wasn't her best but it was certainly worth the read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2005

    sexy

    It was sexy. I loved it. It made feel so good. In one of those sex ways. I mean maybe it was just that I was thinking a lot about sex at the time (when reading this) but it made me feel sexy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2004

    The Lunatic Cafe

    Again, Laurell K Hamilton has sucked me in. Her tales are wonderful, and quick reads. The developing relationship between recurring characters is making the books better and better as we get further along in the series. I would certainly recommend reading them in order, although each book tells a tale of its own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 233 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12