Customer Reviews for

Lunch in Paris: A Love Story, with Recipes

Average Rating 4
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Déjeuner à Paris est sûr Delicious!!!

When I was walking through B&N about a week ago this book caught my eye because of its title. So I picked it up and boy am I glad I did! It was wonderful! It takes you through Elizabeth's journey with her boyfriend Gwendal and the love that blossoms between them. At the...
When I was walking through B&N about a week ago this book caught my eye because of its title. So I picked it up and boy am I glad I did! It was wonderful! It takes you through Elizabeth's journey with her boyfriend Gwendal and the love that blossoms between them. At the end of each chapter she includes recipes (most of which are talked about within that particular chapter) and let me tell you, this book make me hungry for more. I am anxious to try the recipes out! This would be an excellent choice for anyone who loves to cook and for those who just enjoy a good love story. It is a memoir that reads like a novel at times. Very well written =)

posted by SpecialKi25 on May 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely Horrible!!!

This was the worse book I ever bought. It was so bad I returned it. I could barely get past the first three pages!!!!

posted by cathyg25 on March 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    Paris: What girl doesn't love Paris? Elizabeth Bard does an extr

    Paris: What girl doesn't love Paris? Elizabeth Bard does an extraordinary job in creating a read that envelopes all the best of Paris and the delicious aspects of her own personal boulangarie--love this book. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Sweet story...

    I love memoirs that involve living abroad. This was a quick easy read with a sweet story. I enjoyed the characters and after finishing the book...i found myself wanting more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Fun Read

    I really enjoyed A Lunch in Paris, and certainly fueled my desire to visit the City of Lights. If you love to travel or love food, this is a great book. The recipes are actually pretty good, and I am planning on trying a few out here soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    This was a fun, easy read with more meat on its bones than I expected.

    Lunch in Paris is Elizabeth Bard's memoir of falling in love with a Frenchman over a pave au poivre for lunch. As the relationship advances she moves to Paris and encounters all the typical, but somehow never tiresome, dilemmas of an American in Paris. Like many before her she also falls in love with the culinary scene, discovering butchers and bakeries, markets and chic, little, sidewalk cafes. The recipes are doable and sound delicious - especially Pork Tenderloin with Four Kinds of Apples and Gwendal's Quick and Dirty Chocolate Souffle.

    The second half of the book delves deeper into what it really means to live in another country. I really enjoyed Bard's insight into managing relationships with in-laws ( on both sides), forming truly meaningful new friendships, sadly navigating the health care system, and making career decisions. Her careful, detailed look at the differences between the two cultures not only made me appreciate France more, it taught me a little bit more of what it means to be an American.

    This was a fun, easy read with more meat on its bones than I expected.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Fun in France

    A fun summer read for anyone interested in France or a little romance. It was nice to reconnect with a country I very much miss.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    Incredible Story by an Incredible Author

    Lunch in Paris encompasses all the elements I look for in a good book, from relatable characters, comprehensive themes, imagery I can picture in my head, and the spark that comes from an author's passion. As an added bonus, it is nonfiction, which means there really is an American woman living in Paris with the love of her life right this very minute. The most notable characteristic of Bard's writing is her imagery. The descriptions cause the scene to come to life in my head as I read, but she doesn't over analyze or confuse you as you read. She is living every American woman's secret fantasy, and recording it with accuracy. Following Elizabeth Bard around Paris while she falls in love, shops at French markets, plans a wedding, and learns to cook is an extremely pleasant experience. As we make our trip around the city, the reader learns a little about French culture and lifestyle. Instead of sitting down and telling us everything she knows about France, Bard allows us to learn as she leaned, through direct experience. I have no complaints about the book, but some may find fault with the lack of intensity and depth. I enjoyed it for that very reason, but it is true that there isn't much to ponder or worry over in terms of huge tragedies or tough situations like many nonfiction books. Overall, this is the best book I've read in a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Read

    I found this to be a good read, I enjoyed her story of trying to settle in and find herself in Paris. I liked how this book included recipes to fit each chapter, which was the main reason for my purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this book!

    It's an exciting read! If you've ever wanted to live in another country, especially Paris, then you'll love this book. I enjoyed being able to live vivaciously through Elizabeth while she takes on Paris and the love of her life. Not to mention the recipes throughout the book are delicious ... my favorite is the carrot soup =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2