Customer Reviews for

Lunch in Paris: A Love Story, with Recipes

Average Rating 4
( 134 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Déjeuner à Paris est sûr Delicious!!!

When I was walking through B&N about a week ago this book caught my eye because of its title. So I picked it up and boy am I glad I did! It was wonderful! It takes you through Elizabeth's journey with her boyfriend Gwendal and the love that blossoms between them. At the...
When I was walking through B&N about a week ago this book caught my eye because of its title. So I picked it up and boy am I glad I did! It was wonderful! It takes you through Elizabeth's journey with her boyfriend Gwendal and the love that blossoms between them. At the end of each chapter she includes recipes (most of which are talked about within that particular chapter) and let me tell you, this book make me hungry for more. I am anxious to try the recipes out! This would be an excellent choice for anyone who loves to cook and for those who just enjoy a good love story. It is a memoir that reads like a novel at times. Very well written =)

posted by SpecialKi25 on May 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely Horrible!!!

This was the worse book I ever bought. It was so bad I returned it. I could barely get past the first three pages!!!!

posted by cathyg25 on March 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Déjeuner à Paris est sûr Delicious!!!

    When I was walking through B&N about a week ago this book caught my eye because of its title. So I picked it up and boy am I glad I did! It was wonderful! It takes you through Elizabeth's journey with her boyfriend Gwendal and the love that blossoms between them. At the end of each chapter she includes recipes (most of which are talked about within that particular chapter) and let me tell you, this book make me hungry for more. I am anxious to try the recipes out! This would be an excellent choice for anyone who loves to cook and for those who just enjoy a good love story. It is a memoir that reads like a novel at times. Very well written =)

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    JUST DELICIOUS!

    This is a book that delivers on so many levels. There is the exploration of cultural differences between the US and France, a love story, a toss up love for French cuisine and a man. "Ooh La La!!" Lunch in Paris tells the true story of a young woman in her mid-twenties who falls in love in Paris. Over eight years she progresses from the plague of self-doubt to a mature woman who finally reaches self-acceptance and comes to the realization that what she wants is not always what she needs. Just delicious!! If you love this one, you'll adore EXPLOSION IN PARIS!!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Let's Do Lunch...In Paris

    The preparation and consumption of food in Paris is planned and savored in much the same way women in America set out to buy the perfect pair of shoes. There are oohs and aahs through out Elizabeth's journey and discovery of the processes involved in cooking. The jaunts to specific stores and markets for certain items, and the need and love of the french language are all mixed and blended to perfection in this colorful and filling memoir. You'll want to book a trip to Paris or at least try several of these recipes.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Never Expected

    After recently becoming obsessed with the whole idea of France, food, language, lifestyle. I picked up this book expecting to inhale every ingredient and become completely engulfed in French cuisine. Her recipes, her reasons, her descriptions of every detail and moment during this book are exactly that. However this book was more to me. This story was not only about the food, but I found myself identifying with the writers emotions about expectation for life and love. Her plan, she made for herself. The difference between what is important and what we MAKE important. This book is perfect when you are ready for a reminder, that the equation for happiness is simple and it doesn't come from money, success, etc.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Delightful book

    This lovely book is worth the price for the recipes alone. Ms. Bard has a wonderful, engaging writing style that if you sit real quiet as you read the book you will feel as if you are there like a fly on the wall. Imagine what a Paris restaurant should look like with that special handsome man whose hair hits his collar and one stand on top that has a wayward look, and so so sexy. Now picture a cute American woman who is extremely observant and has the right degree of vulnerability and you have a wonderful story before you. When she writes of the calls home to Mom when good bad and scary things have happened, you can almost hear her voice as she speaks. Or sense the glee when she tries a new improved way of making French Onion Soup. I tend to think of someone like Audrey Hepbrun or an Audrey Tautou when I picture this young author.

    The various chapters are all such a delight to read. From Coffee Tea or Me, And Affair To Remember, April in Paris, A Birthday Celebration, Pixie Dust, Vocabulary Lessons, Fig Fest 2002, The Long Winter, Meet The Parents, Family Heirlooms, Big Band Smelly Cheese, Family Values, The Circle Line, After The Fairytale the Parsnip, How to Make Cheesecake in a Pâté Pan, Forever in France, Ladies who Lunch, Comfort Food, Conquering the World, When New Yorkers Come to Visit, Spring Thinking, A New Years Feast, Next Year in Paris.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    very enjoyable

    I found the book to be entertaining and loved the references to different locations in Paris. I was in Paris with my then 16 year old granddaughter, Lea last year and she fell in love with Paris and wants to marry a french man. She is now reading this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Great book!

    I loved this book. Well I'm not quite finished with it yet but I really do enjoy it. I love the main character's personality. This is usually the kind of books I read so finding another one was exciting :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Ever wonder what would happen if you mixed Julia Child and the movie, "Under the Tuscan Sun" together? You would have in the book, I just finished reading!

    Lunch In Paris by Elizabeth Bard, finds Ms. Bard,in Paris for a weekend visit, where she sits down for lunch with a handsome Frenchman - and never goes home again.

    Was it love at first sight? Or was it the way her knife slid effortlessly through her pave' au poivre, the steak's pink juices puddling in the buttery pepper sauce? Lunch in Paris by Elizabeth Bard, is a memoir abut a young American woman caught up in two passionate love affairs - one with her new beau, Gwendal, the other with French cuisine. After packing her bags to begin a new life in the most romantic of cities, Bard is plunged into a world of bustling open-air markets, hipster bistros, and size-two femmes fatales.

    She learns how to gut a fish (with a little help from Jane Austen) and soothe pangs of homesickness (with the rise of a chocolate souffle') and she develops a crush on her local butcher (who bears a striking resemblance to Matt Dillon).

    This book is an amazing read for anyone who has longed for the desire to just pick up, leave and move to Paris! Woven wonderfully at the end of each chapter are the most amazing recipes of everything from appetizers to main courses, to "death by chocolate" desserts! What more could woman ask for a cook book and love story all in one!

    I received this complimentary amazing book courtesy of Hachette Book Groups to review. If you would love to know more about this book, the author or even where to purchase a copy of this heartwarming book, simply click on the link below.

    http://www.hachettebookgroup.com/books_9780316042789.htm

    Trust me this is the perfect book to read over Spring Break, summer vacation or while you are having your favorite Starbucks beverage and croissant!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    C'est si bon

    Delicious read. Elizabeth tells her story of love for her man, his country and the amazing French cuisine we all love.

    I loved her humor as well as the scrumptious recipes she includes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Adorable, laugh-out-loud narrative, charming romance, yummy reci

    Adorable, laugh-out-loud narrative, charming romance, yummy recipes, and glorious descriptions of Paris? More, please.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Wow. This was beautiful. One of the best travel memoirs

    Wow. This was beautiful. One of the best travel memoirs I have read. If you are interesting in Paris, are a foodie, love French Culture or just want to read something enchanting: read this. I really hope the author continues on with a second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    J'aime beaucoup!

    Very enjoyable. Bard book read perfectly as she details the scenes, the people, and how it all feels and seems to an American perspective. My favorite aspect, after reading other memoirs of expats in France, was her ability to see the good and bad in both her native and her adopted homelands. It' s honest and doesn't come off as pretentious or exaggerated. Plus the recipes are delicious and not out of reach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    I truly enjoyed this book and return to it again and again. It's

    I truly enjoyed this book and return to it again and again. It's honest, funny, and captivating. A pleasant book to just enjoy before cooking an excellent meal from one of her recipes. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    run, don't walk to the store and buy onions and make the onion s

    run, don't walk to the store and buy onions and make the onion soup. I made the onions using her dutch oven/oven technique, and my son and I just stood over the pot and ate the onions with a fork.....barely enough left to make the soup. Will make a much larger batch this time, and just freeze the onions. This recipe alone is worth the cost of the book!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    One of the best books ever....

    While reading this book i felt like i was back in Paris and walking alongside elizabeth.... everything about her story always brought a smile to my face.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Great book...love the recipes!

    I recommend this book to anyone who loves to cook! I thoroughly enjoyed reading her story of how she met her husband in Paris and also loved how she tied in her love of food along the way. Couldn't wait to get through each chapter to read the recipes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    cest magnifique!

    i loved the story and the recipies are a bonus, i cant wait to try them! this book is an absolute must read for anyone dreaming of being an expat someday. ive already recommended it to several friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I am LOVING this book

    I had no idea what this book was like when I got it. It was the first book I have on my nook so it was a shot in the dark. It had turned out to be witty , clever, upbeat, and a joy to read. I love the main character. And the bonus to the story is the receipes! I have several bookmarked so I can go back and try them. Wonderful light read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3