Customer Reviews for

Luncheon of the Boating Party

Average Rating 3.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great fun!

The rich characters and luscious landscapes of Paris and the surrounding countryside made this book so much fun to read. Loved it.

posted by Anonymous on May 29, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I picked up this book on the strength of Vreeland's Girl in Hyacinth Blue and because I love the impressionist painters. Sadly, I was disappointed. The pace is slow and the characters shallow, and the author seems more intent on showing off her own knowledge of painti...
I picked up this book on the strength of Vreeland's Girl in Hyacinth Blue and because I love the impressionist painters. Sadly, I was disappointed. The pace is slow and the characters shallow, and the author seems more intent on showing off her own knowledge of painting than in creating an engaging novel.

posted by Anonymous on July 28, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Really enjoying it!

    A friend had suggested the audio version, but being a lover of books I chose the book. I love Impressionist art and even had a print of the subject painting in my home. I'm really enjoying the details and personality quirks of the characters and how the author has wound the history and politics and fashion of the time into the story. Looking forward to another!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I kept falling asleep

    There was nothing in the first few chapters to bring me back. While riding to work on the bus, I kept falling asleep!!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    Brings art to life!

    This book is great! If you love Renoir (and I do) then you will appreciate this book. It really brings the artist to life and the painting as well. I have enjoyed this author before and look forward to reading more of her books. This would make an excellent gift for impressionist art lovers! I recommend this book to all!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Art as love

    What goes through an artist's mind during the act of creating a painting? Susan Vreeland makes that question the theme of Luncheon of the Boating Party. Generally agreed to be one of Renoir's masterpieces, Luncheon is a huge canvas depicting fourteen people enjoying a repast at an inn along the River Seine. Renoir is depicted at the pivotal point in his career when he was struggling to decide whether to persist with the impressionist genre, or to incorporate more formal techniques and styles. Provoked by a critical comment from Emile Zola, he embarks upon a quest to produce a work to serve as the definitive rebuttal.

    Vreeland immerses her readers within the heart of Montmartre and the romantic Parisian ideal of "modern life". A joyous commingling of street scenes and cafe society, artists and models, dealers and yachtsmen, Luncheon is an earthy, incandescent evocation of one of the art world's most momentous eras. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2007

    Disappointing

    I picked up this book on the strength of Vreeland's Girl in Hyacinth Blue and because I love the impressionist painters. Sadly, I was disappointed. The pace is slow and the characters shallow, and the author seems more intent on showing off her own knowledge of painting than in creating an engaging novel.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2007

    Great fun!

    The rich characters and luscious landscapes of Paris and the surrounding countryside made this book so much fun to read. Loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2014

    In the summer of 1880 at a restaurant along the banks of the Sei

    In the summer of 1880 at a restaurant along the banks of the Seine downstream from Paris, goaded on by the taunts of Emil Zola, Pierre-Auguste Renoir set out to produce the definitive masterpiece of Impressionism. Over a period of several weeks during that summer Renoir assembled a troupe of friends and models, posing them on the upper terrace of the restaurant La Maison Fournaise overlooking the Seine. The author details both the artistic (such as eliminating the appearance of scene floating in air) and the practical (such as coming up with fourteen rather than thirteen characters) challenges faced by Renoir in producing the huge canvas.
    Susan Vreeland has written a story of that titled work, Le déjeuner des canotiers, The Luncheon of the Boating Party, that simultaneously captures both the artistic temperament of the Renoir and the personalities of the models in the masterwork. The author skillfully employs a grammar and structure that mimics in words what Impressionism meant to deliver on the canvas.
    Only toward the end of the book does Vreeland drift occasionally into bits of modern language and political correctness that mars somewhat a text that is otherwise historically and artistically accurate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Meet the People in the Picture

    A very enjoyable read, filled with atmosphere of the period. Interesting insights into the picture and the artist's struggle to depict an idea. Very descriptive of the relationships among the people portrayed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2007

    I liked this book a lot

    I have often viewed this painting and wondered about the people in the painting. It seemed to me that life was always beautiful to these people and today's problems did not apply. Oh to live in that time. In reading the book, I see the story behind the people and realize that life wasn't all sunshine and Sunday as it shows in the painting. I liked the information given about how the painting came together. I've always loved impressionism but after reading this book, I'll look at art with a more knowledgeable eye and will view lines and colors in a new way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2