Customer Reviews for

Lush (Delicious Novel Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I enjoyed reading this book,

I enjoyed reading this book,

posted by Anonymous on April 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A deliciously uncomplicated romance story that's as mouth-wateri

A deliciously uncomplicated romance story that's as mouth-watering as its characters!

I normally wouldn't use the word 'mouth-watering' in describing a novel, but that's exactly what Lush is. It is mouth-watering and delicious because the female lead, Mary Whaley, is a...
A deliciously uncomplicated romance story that's as mouth-watering as its characters!

I normally wouldn't use the word 'mouth-watering' in describing a novel, but that's exactly what Lush is. It is mouth-watering and delicious because the female lead, Mary Whaley, is a successful caterer.

The dishes featured in this book alone made my stomach growl in frustration when I was reading. The sad part is, I can't do anything about it because I don't know how to cook.

Anyways, what I liked about this book is that the characters are distinctly unique and likable. There's Mary Whaley who's her own person. She's caring, loyal and independent. She's successful in her chosen field and knows exactly what she wants. I guess it's safe to say that she's got a good head on her shoulders and doesn't let her head float up in the clouds. She's realistic and that's what I liked best about her.

Then there's also Damien Hurley, the lickable drummer in a rock band. He stands for everything that's cliche in a rock band - the partying, the drinking, the groupies and the multiple sex partners in every city they tour. He's the kind of guy that good girls usually kept at arm's length.

What I liked about this story was that there was build-up between the two protagonists. They didn't just bump into each other and fall in love instantly. There was space between when they met and how they eventually began seeing each other, which made the story believable to some degree.

What I don't like, however, is that the only conflict within the story are the insecurities held by Mary and Damien. There was no real, tangible and intense conflict that actually threatened to tear them apart. The conflicts that were presented in this story could easily be sorted out by communication, which might I add, was actually done with the help of the people around the two main characters.

Anyways, this story has likable characters, a plethora of mouth-watering dishes, a hot caterer and a rock star. I'd say that those things definitely make-up something worth reading.

posted by Dia_Pelaez on May 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I enjoyed reading this book,

    I enjoyed reading this book,

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I have thoroughly enjoyed this series. I cannot wait for the next book. Lauren Dane never disappoints.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Lauren Dane weaves another compelling and delightful story.  Wel

    Lauren Dane weaves another compelling and delightful story.  Well drawn characters and a fun story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2013

    Awesome!

    I love this series,couldn't put it down. A must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2013

    I truly enjoyed this book. Initially, I didn't know that this bo

    I truly enjoyed this book. Initially, I didn't know that this book was part of a series..and at first when some of the supporting charcters were introduced to me I have to admit I was a bit confused. But once it got past that and the main charcters' story played out...I was hooked.

    I enjoyed Mary Whitley's charcter...such a strong charcter, a strong woman in this story. Not the typical damsel in distress, with so many emotional problems. She knew what she liked, she knew what she wanted to do for herself and she did it. Her business, her life...she was in control. Plus, she wasn't afraid to show her emotions or admit when she was wrong.

    Damien's charcter was wonderful, as well. He's a sexy rock star with a past and many women who would love to be by his side...but when it came to falling for Mary... he was a true gentleman. A real man. He was portrayed as strong, smart, gentile, and loving. None of that didn't make him any less of a man.

    Yes, this is definitely a very good read and I highly recommend it. In fact, because of Lauren Dane's writing style in this book, it's even convinced me I need to pick up the other books in this series and give them a go. *ARC provided by NetGalley.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Highly recommend!! Awesome book and characters.

    As with any Lauren Dane book very entertaining and addictive. This book is for any one with good love story,who loves rock and roll and just a good book. I love books who continue with previous characters.Love Adrian,Gillian and Miles. Thanks Lauren Dane! Keep them coming!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Sweet Story

    This was one of the better ones of the series. The heroine was a bit too whiny and wishy washy for me but all in all I really enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2013

    Love bad boy rockers laid low by the love of a good woman? Super

    Love bad boy rockers laid low by the love of a good woman? Super hot sexy love scenes with humor and realism? Love a great love story full of conflict, and a look into the world of celebrity & vicious press? Then Lush is for you. Lauren Dane's latest interconnected story of the Delicious, and the Brown siblings, it's even got amazing food for the foodies among you! Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

     Lauren Dane is one of my favorite authors.  I love her books.  

     Lauren Dane is one of my favorite authors.  I love her books.   Lauren did it again, this book is awesome.  This is a second book in her
     new series that spins off the Brown Siblings.  Mary Whaley is a creative genius when it comes to food.  Damien Hurley is a rock god on
     the drums.  They meet at her best friends engagement party, then again at the wedding.  There is instant attraction between the two.
      Lauren does a fabulous job of keeping your interest in her books.  Between the humor, the real relationships, the steamy bedroom
    (and other rooms) scenes, and  good friendships you will not put this book down.  I give it 5 stars. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    A smoking hot musician, an earthy chef, and some naughty sex. W

    A smoking hot musician, an earthy chef, and some naughty sex. What's not to love?

    Lauren Dane can be a tough one. When she writes a straight m/f romance as she did with Lush and with Adrian and Gillian's story, I'm all in. When she veers off into the triads and the paranormal, I can't connect with it. It's almost like there are three different authors, so joy, joy, joy that this one was right up my alley.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    Liked it even better then the first.

    Liked it even better then the first.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Fantastic!

    Great story! It was romantic, funny and sexy. Everyone wants a sexy rock star...yummy! (220pgs)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Washington & Oregon Mary Whaley is so busy running her cat

    Washington & Oregon


    Mary Whaley is so busy running her catering company and her supper club the last thing she is looking for is a relationship. She has everything she wants or thought she did until she met rock star Damien Hurley. Mary thinks it is just going to be some fun with Damien and then they will go their own ways and live their lives they way they always have.

    Damien Hurley has lived a hard and fast life and it is the one he is used to living. He started a band with his brothers and they have hit the big time and have managed to stay there. He also has a reputation as being a madman on the stage and in the bedroom. When Damien meets Mary though things start changing for him.

    What starts out a fling for both of them suddenly gets more complicated especially when Damien wants more with Mary. Damien is not sure what to think when the tables turn and he is the one wanting more and the woman he wants that with doesn’t seem to want it at all. Mary knows all about celebrity news and what they say about Damien. Now Damien is going to have to prove to Mary that what is in the news isn’t always what the truth is.


    This story shows the other side of being a celebrity and those that are involved with them and what they have to go through at times. The characters are so well written the reader can really relate to them and will end up emotionally invested in the characters. This one will pull on the readers heartstrings and they will be right there with the character through all the ups and downs. This is another great book in this series from an author no one should miss. This story also brings back some character favorites from some other great books and the reader will enjoy going back and visiting the character and to see what they are up to now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    I love this series.

    I love this series. Lauren Dane tells a great story about the main characters but keeps you connected to the previous characters. Lauren Dane does and excellent job of making you feel apart of the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Twc

    OMG! They just keep getting better. Love that the books have all the people from previous books in them! Damien and Mary's story rocked. The hallway scene steamed up my nook! Cannt wait for more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    Isabel

    If you see this you're on the wrong book. Lush by Natasha Friend. - Mia

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2014

    I loved it. This is the 3rd book in the Delicious novels by Lau

    I loved it. This is the 3rd book in the Delicious novels by Lauren Dane and the whole series is amazing. The series follows the Seattle Browns Series also by Lauren Dane. That is one of my favorite series of all time and this one is a close 2nd. This story is Mary and Damien's Mary is a caterer whose business is fast growing and Damien is a drummer from a rock band. They fall hard and fast into lust which even faster becomes love. The surrounding characters are all from the 2 series so you know them and love them already by the time you get to this book. I can't wait to read whatever comes next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Awesome!

    Awesome book to me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2