Customer Reviews for

Lush

Average Rating 4.5
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Lush

Sam has always had a secret; her father is an alcoholic. This takes a major toll on her and her family as Sam tries to grow up as normally as possible. Her mother makes excuses for her Dad, and her little brother Luke is too young to help. So in a moment of desperation,...
Sam has always had a secret; her father is an alcoholic. This takes a major toll on her and her family as Sam tries to grow up as normally as possible. Her mother makes excuses for her Dad, and her little brother Luke is too young to help. So in a moment of desperation, Sam turns to a girl named Juliet who she always sees in the library, writing her an anonymous letter explaining her situation and asking for help. As the story progresses, Sam and "Juliet" exchange many notes in between pages 32 and 33 in The History of Modern Whaling. However, Sam also finds herself with another problem when an older boy from the library named Drew takes an interest in her. After lying to her friends and ditching their usual sleepover for a high school party, she gets herself into a lot of trouble with both her friends and herself. Things also get worse when her father, who was drunk, smashed a bottle in her brother Luke's face. She is constantly reminded of this by the stitches on his face from his nose to his ear. Her father goes to a rehab center called Shady Brook Farm to get help for his growing problem. This is a great book that has a surprise twist in the end that was great. She stays true to her insight and the story is written perfectly in the persona of a middle schooler. Any Natasha Friend fan will enjoy this book very much!
****PLEASE RATE THIS REVIEW****

posted by BookWerm21 on November 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I liked it,

I liked this book but the thing with it was, it just ended. You never found out some stuff. It just left you hanging. But I liked the story overall, it wasn't bad I just wish the ending was different.

posted by Turk on March 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted November 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Lush

    Sam has always had a secret; her father is an alcoholic. This takes a major toll on her and her family as Sam tries to grow up as normally as possible. Her mother makes excuses for her Dad, and her little brother Luke is too young to help. So in a moment of desperation, Sam turns to a girl named Juliet who she always sees in the library, writing her an anonymous letter explaining her situation and asking for help. As the story progresses, Sam and "Juliet" exchange many notes in between pages 32 and 33 in The History of Modern Whaling. However, Sam also finds herself with another problem when an older boy from the library named Drew takes an interest in her. After lying to her friends and ditching their usual sleepover for a high school party, she gets herself into a lot of trouble with both her friends and herself. Things also get worse when her father, who was drunk, smashed a bottle in her brother Luke's face. She is constantly reminded of this by the stitches on his face from his nose to his ear. Her father goes to a rehab center called Shady Brook Farm to get help for his growing problem. This is a great book that has a surprise twist in the end that was great. She stays true to her insight and the story is written perfectly in the persona of a middle schooler. Any Natasha Friend fan will enjoy this book very much!
    ****PLEASE RATE THIS REVIEW****

    19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    I liked it,

    I liked this book but the thing with it was, it just ended. You never found out some stuff. It just left you hanging. But I liked the story overall, it wasn't bad I just wish the ending was different.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Book

    Samantha has a secret;Her dads and alcoholic but he wont admit it.He has been hiding alcohol bottles all over the house.When her dad makes a mistake the whole family turns the oppisite of what they really are.Sams brother doesn't say much anymore and her mom is sad all the time.When Sam finally finds out who her secret note taker is she is very surprised...... This is a very good book so I hope you enjoy it!:)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    The title of the book Is Lush by Natasha Friend. It¿s about this

    The title of the book Is Lush by Natasha Friend. It’s about this thirteen year girl whose father is an alcoholic and her mother is a yoga freak and thinks that everything in life can just be breathed out. She hides all her family problems and her real life from her best friends because she doesn’t want the girls to think different of her. I first met Samantha, the main character, as she watches as her father is passed out in a plate of lasagna. I chose this book because honestly it did not have very many pages and the words were sort of in a bigger text. When I started reading I discovered there was more to it behind the words. If I really had thought about it. I could kind of relate to Sam but it a total different way not alcohol but drugs. It destroyed her family just like mine. I would recommend this book because it keeps you wanting to read more, funny at times, and has a great meaning behind it all. There were some events that went on that shouldn’t for a thirteen year old girl, but that is life. I’d say it should be read by fifteen year olds and up. Lush was an amazing book but I believe it lacked in the very end. She did not connect us to what happened it just ended in a daze. I’d still rate it five stars if I had to. I gave great points and ideas to anyone who might be dealing with the same problems. It was basically a diary of Samantha’s life I think. She went through the drama, boys, and keeping her grades and friends up to point. There is a story behind everyone’s smile. In every dark room there is a light, just have to turn it on. People go through the rough to make them who they become. This book really packs a punch. I loved it!
    Destiny Brown 11/19/13

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Kitkat101

    I read the first book perfect and it was great i will get this book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2010

    What was this?! Amazing!

    I got this book after I read anither book by Natasha Friend, called BOUNCE. BOUNCE was absolutely amazing and I was very excited to read this one. It was a short read, but I think that the storyline was very good. When Samantha's dad always comes home and is drunk, she is very frusterated, and it soon becomes a handful. WHen He comes home and never remebers anything in the morning, Sam is very agitated,. Since Sam cannot tell any of her friends that hjer dad is drunk all the time, she picks a random person in the library to write notes to. The person gives her good advice and Sam goes to it for everything. One day Sam decides to go to a party with a highschooler, and it begins to get out of hand. He trys to it her and when she tells him that she is only a "chlid, " only thirteen he freaks out and leaves her. After she gets abducted by lamos from her class and she is pressured to do things she isn't. When she herself is drunk, Sam sees through her dads eyes. But then the unexpected happens and Sams dad hits her brother with a wine bottle she must euither go for help or protect her dad. What will she choose? read on to find out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2009

    Lush-Natasha Friend

    I Really like the book and it was interesting! The book lush is a very good book the reason I like it so much is because some girls probably relate to this story. The story is about a girl named Samantha and her father is a drunk and when her father comes home drunk from work one night he hit Samantha's little brother Luke in the face with a glass beer bottle. A couple months after that Samantha's father was sent to a place that will help him quit drinking and Samantha's mother had to take extra care of Luke since the accident but Samantha's neighbor gave her mother sleeping pills that she took all the time if that wasn't enough when Samantha goes to school everyday the boys at the school would make fun of her and call her rude names and sometimes graffiti her locker. But..when its time to go get there father their all really quiet on there way then once they arrive home Sam imagines what will happen next.The book was pretty good, but I kind of felt sorry for Samantha because she got made fun of at school plus, when she came home she never new when her father would come stumbling in the door drunk.The book had a weird ending because after Samantha's father came home from the place to help him stop drinking. Samantha is sitting in the window sill imagining them all going out and building a snowman.Go get this book off the library shelf and read it NOW!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Courtesy of Teens Read Too

    Sam has a secret. Her dad is a swiller, a sot, a toper, a guzzler. Her dad is a lush. She has to navigate junior high, while at the same time keep things from falling apart at home. Watching her mother remain quiet while the family walks on eggshells around her father is driving her crazy. Luke, her four-year-old brother, is who she worries about most of all, though. He isn't old enough to read the signs. The signs of whether it's going to be a good day or a bad day. With no one to talk to, since she doesn't want anyone to know about her father - even her three very best friends - she decides to write a note, sharing all of her feelings, and give it to a total stranger. Sam makes the trip to the local public library several days a week in order to scout out just the right person. She sees a high school girl and decides to make her move. Sam folds the note and leaves it in the study carrel the girl always uses. Sam writes in the note that if she wants to write back, to leave her response in the book The History of Modern Whaling, catalog information 360.68 Ton, between pages thirty-two and thirty-three. Sam chose this book because it has been at least thirty years since someone has checked it out. She is sure the dust-covered book wouldn't be going anywhere anytime soon. Someone does write back, though, but not who she expects. The two start a lengthy correspondence where Sam receives several pieces of advice until finally an incident occurs that leads the secret 'advice-giver' to set up a time for them to meet. Natasha Friend has written a touching novel centered around a strong female character. The cycle of emotional abuse that is associated with alcoholism seems to be realistically portrayed and comes full circle, ending with the healing process and what it takes for a family to survive a tragedy, heal, and stay together. **Reviewed by: Karin Perry

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Perfect

    This book is amazing nd i never wanted to put it down PLEASE READ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book lush,is ssooooooooo amazing and inspirational. Very many kids in the world are going through the same thing sam was going through and when they read that book, it gave them advice without them being too embarrased to ask. And for the person who said this book was horrible; i know its only an opinion, but thats hekka wack

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Good book by dejah

    That is a good book that is good for 5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Soo great

    This book is the best and its so relatable and enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    BBEMBNF

    Best book ever made by natasha friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Horrible

    Waste of time. Save your money

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    A great book!

    Great book. Great author. Thats all I have to say :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    LUSH

    I loved this book sooooooo much because it felt like I was the girl in the book. Highly recamended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    AMAZING

    Best book ever!!!! Its soo awesome!i highly recomend it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Hi

    I love this book and natasha :) totally recomend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Lush

    An amazing story tht i cood not put dwn and even though it was a short book, it was still absolutely amazing!!! Im going to read the rest of the series and i strongly reccommend this book. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Another fabulous novel

    Natasha Friend talks abiut the real thigs tht is happening o girls ight now. Truly inspiong

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6