Customer Reviews for

Lush Life

Average Rating 4
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Another tour de force from Price

Anyone who's lived in New York and moved away retains a corner of his heart for the city. I had to love this book if only because it described the lower east side where I once lived. That aside, the book is brilliant. The dialog and characters are so real that you can a...
Anyone who's lived in New York and moved away retains a corner of his heart for the city. I had to love this book if only because it described the lower east side where I once lived. That aside, the book is brilliant. The dialog and characters are so real that you can almost hear their voices. It's not a thriller: there are no chase scenes, just real cops and real criminals. Read it.

posted by ArchieGoodwin on October 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not quite as good as I first thought

Price doesn't control the main concepts with the same refinement as his dialogue and characterization. It's a good delivery, but it gets engulfed with unimportant situations and I went a little bit cool after about halfway.

posted by Anonymous on March 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The title and cover attracted me first!

    Lush Life...great title! Good versus evil in the city life...murder...seeking truth....Interesting characters and lingo. Richard Price either did his homework or he grew up in the bad end of a city! I very much enjoyed the read.....Another book I enjoyed before this one that isn't anything like this except the good versus evil part...EXPLOSION IN PARIS, by L.M. Pirrung...REALLY LOVED THIS ONE...More of a woman's book....

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another tour de force from Price

    Anyone who's lived in New York and moved away retains a corner of his heart for the city. I had to love this book if only because it described the lower east side where I once lived. That aside, the book is brilliant. The dialog and characters are so real that you can almost hear their voices. It's not a thriller: there are no chase scenes, just real cops and real criminals. Read it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2008

    A Great Read On Any Level

    This book is a meditation on good and evil, the sacred and the secular, and tradition versus modernity -- all dressed up as a police procedural. It is remarkable that Price is able to develop his themes, his characters, and his plot line and at the same time create a driving narrative that is so deeply involving. Many of Price's characters are so vivid that they continue to live in the reader's mind well after the book has been read. One deliberate exception is a hazy God/Satan who ultimately consigns another character to Hell (Atlantic City). Buy this book! It is a pleasure to read on any level.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    Very satisfying

    The reader knows in the first few chapters what happened. The fascinating part of this book is the effect the event has on the life of each character.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    very NYC

    New twist on the detective genre. Great main character. Lots of good NYC flavor.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Lush Reading

    This book lives up to its reviews. Plot and characters fully formed and a compelling read. The only thing I had a bit of trouble with was the cop lingo but that did not deter from my enjoyment of this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2008

    A reviewer

    Thoroughly enjoyed reading this novel. Richard Price takes the reader step-by-step into the multi-layered lives and circumstances of his characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Lush Life

    My first Richard Price novel was Clockers, a novel that would end up becoming one of my favorite books of all time. Lush Life is the second work of his that I read, and like his 1992 classic, Lush Life is an incredible work of fiction. Price is great at telling a great story while showing the reader how hoods, cops, and other New Yorkers live. Price created a lot of great characters but his greatest strength is his dialogue. Price is up there with the greatest writers of dialogue: Quentin Tarantino, David Mamet, George Pelecanos, the writing staff of The Wire (which Price and Pelecanos are a part of), Elmore Leonard, James Ellroy, Coen brothers, etc. Lush Life is an amazing novel and I wouldn't be surprised if I re-read it in the future.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    its strength was also its weakness

    Richard Price's Lush Life is not a 60 minute tv drama moving rapidly toward getting the bad guy. Instead it's much more real life. Read that to mean slow and plodding. To me the most likeable character is New York City and neither the good guys nor the bad guys are all knights in shining armor or Black Barts. They are all human beings with human foibles. Lush Life is too real to be escapism. This isn't some beach read or long flight read. But for real urban nitty gritty you can't do better than this. Just don't expect to be cheered up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    Gripping

    This is a gripping novel. I felt like I was there with the characters as the story unfolded. Some of the descriptive terms are hauntingly beautiful even though the story is gritty. Five stars for this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A terrific read.

    This is surprisingly readable for a literary novel. Maybe because I'm from a big city, but I relate the the characters, time and place. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    Not quite as good as I first thought

    Price doesn't control the main concepts with the same refinement as his dialogue and characterization. It's a good delivery, but it gets engulfed with unimportant situations and I went a little bit cool after about halfway.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    Life in the city?

    Gritty and depressing -- didn't care for any of the characters or the setting.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3