Customer Reviews for

The Lust Lizard of Melancholy Cove

Average Rating 4
( 108 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Lusting for Moore

If you've never read Chris Moore, prepare to get hooked! That is, if you're not easily offended by mockery of the religious right,not put off by psychiatric humor, don't mind sympathizing with aging B-movie actresses, and feel OK reading about sex between the latter and...
If you've never read Chris Moore, prepare to get hooked! That is, if you're not easily offended by mockery of the religious right,not put off by psychiatric humor, don't mind sympathizing with aging B-movie actresses, and feel OK reading about sex between the latter and a huge green sea reptile named Steve. A reluctant N. California tourist town goes cold turkey on their antidepressants and is soon after visited by the above mentioned Steve, who's attracted to low seratonin levels and, apparently, gas trucks. I could picture this as a movie-that is if the Coen brothers took acid and decided to redo 50's Japanese horror films, this time in 2000 California. Loved the book! Loved the humor, the details, the characters.

posted by Anonymous on August 7, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I guess if you're into ridiculous, it's ok.

Ok, heard this guy was funny, funny and more funny. I can't even get into this. Just ridiculous. If you're going to read this, just get a comic book instead.

posted by 967045 on August 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2000

    Lusting for Moore

    If you've never read Chris Moore, prepare to get hooked! That is, if you're not easily offended by mockery of the religious right,not put off by psychiatric humor, don't mind sympathizing with aging B-movie actresses, and feel OK reading about sex between the latter and a huge green sea reptile named Steve. A reluctant N. California tourist town goes cold turkey on their antidepressants and is soon after visited by the above mentioned Steve, who's attracted to low seratonin levels and, apparently, gas trucks. I could picture this as a movie-that is if the Coen brothers took acid and decided to redo 50's Japanese horror films, this time in 2000 California. Loved the book! Loved the humor, the details, the characters.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    This is a definite original

    In Pine Cove, California, almost everyone celebrates the end of summer as those monsters called tourists finally go home. However, a stunned clinical psychiatrist Dr. Valerie Riordan worries about over-prescribing mind medicine after a patient kills herself especially with statistics claiming suicide for the hard core fifteen percent of depression sufferers. Valerie switches her patients from anti-depressants like Zoloft to placebos. <P> While the townsfolk turn dispirited yet erotic, the Head of the Slug Saloon hires Mississippi Delta blues singer Catfish. His music attracts Steve a sea beast, a long time fan of the blues singer. Steve recently has been bathing in water supplemented by a nuclear leak. As the town turns psychotic, law enforcement officials augment the chaos. <P> THE LUST LIZARD OF MELANCHOLY COVE is a satirical bite at the American way of life. The story line is irreverent nuking everything and everyone involved in the chemical reinventing of Americans quite droll. Surprisingly, Christopher Moore's tale, sea beast and all, feels almost genuine as he avoids his previous tendency of going totally over the line of poor taste and remaining there. Anyone who relishes irony at its most humorous best, needs this novel to wash down 'mother's little helper'. <P>Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2010

    I guess if you're into ridiculous, it's ok.

    Ok, heard this guy was funny, funny and more funny.
    I can't even get into this.
    Just ridiculous. If you're going to read this, just get a comic book instead.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sick Sick Man

    But wonderfully entertaining - great ending!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2005

    My all time favorite Christopher Moore book

    I don't know if it's because this book was my FIRST Christopher Moore book, but it is definately my FAVORITE Christopher Moore book. Creative, hysterical and touching all at the same time!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    HAHAHAHA

    I LOVE MOORE!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2001

    I Keep Buying and Buying Them For My Friends

    I proud to say that I have converted many people to be Christopher Moories. Not only is this book light and exdtremely funny, it is just the lift we all need in this crazy world of ours. Chris Moore is quite the cutie too!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2013

    Crazy, imaginative, hilarious read.

    The second of Moore's books I've read and I've told everyone I know to read it now. I love his wacky sense of humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Hunting grounds

    Under the cave-like roots of the tree chricits, mealworms, waxworms, and superworms live, breed, and nest under them.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Lighningsta

    Its hard to pah for everything and to be responsible for everything.. its horrible

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Rocky

    Ya im so sorry i fel asleep

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    My first Moore novel.

    This is my first time reading anything from Moore and I loved it. I don't normally read much comedy, but I literally laughed out loud quite a few times. The plot and characters are crazy (seriously), but it works so well. I look forward to purhasing another book by Moore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Knowing Moore..i was let down

    Not anywhere near as good as lamb or A dirty Job but it was worth what i paid for..not reading it again though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A fun read

    I picked up this book for a change of pace. It did not disappoint. It was funny, demented and a quick read. The characters were interesting and the story line bizarre, but kept you interested up until the end. I plan to read more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Odd & Fun

    Once again, Moore brings a silly balance of odd situations and humor that keeps you reading and laughing. Great soft read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Worth Reading

    Loved it! Funny!!! A twisted, good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A true ANTI-depressant! Funny stuff!!

    Christopher Moore is the funniest writer alive. Plain and simple. The is the fourth novel of his that I've read and have loved them all. Here, the charcaters are insanely hilarious yet somehow believeable. Remarkably crazy happenings that never make you scratch your head but mighht make you wet yourself. So, so funny! Great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    So funny! Great author!

    I love his books and this story is hilarious!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another Great Read

    Christopher Moore has done a wonderful job with keeping my hands on the book. Thank you C.M. I enjoy every min. of your writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Make someones day give them this book to make them laugh.

    One of my friends gave me this book which is not my typical read - I couldn't help but laugh at half the stuff in the book. Mind you the deaths/murders portrayed are not something to laugh at but otherwise WOW. Each character has their own quirks/problems that you can sympathize/relate to. Essentially the title explains the main character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6