BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Lust, Money & Murder: Book 1, Lust - A Female Secret Agent Takes on an International Criminal

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Worth the Read

This is another series book, which ends in medias res, leaving the reader yearning for more, and yet, it’s such a good read, long enough to give the feel of a full length novel, that it didn’t bother me too much when it abruptly ended. While I would much rather prefer ...
This is another series book, which ends in medias res, leaving the reader yearning for more, and yet, it’s such a good read, long enough to give the feel of a full length novel, that it didn’t bother me too much when it abruptly ended. While I would much rather prefer a full-length novel to multiple shorts, Wells has actually put all three together for purchase on Amazon and Barnes and Noble, for only $4.99, and in my opinion, that’s a steal, especially as the storyline and writing is so well done. But, if you want to check out the first portion of the series before committing to buy, it’s currently free on Amazon and Barnes and Nobel right now, which is where I obtained my copy for review.

The main portion of the story follows Elaine Brogan as she naively finds herself and her father the victim of a counterfeiting scandal, leaving her destitute and alone. Resolved to join the Secret Service and take down the man who destroyed her life, Elaine throws herself into her studies and works diligently in hopes of revenge. The story moves very swiftly, and Elaine soon finds herself working for Nick LaGrange in Bulgaria as he attempts to shut down the counterfeit ring taking Europe by storm. Of course, things aren’t always what they seem, and while Elaine is indeed amazing at her job, she soon finds herself in a difficult situation, having to choose carefully between love and ethics.

I really enjoyed this story, save that it ended right in the middle of a climax within the story. Wells is a very good writer and his story kept me captivated from start to finish. While there were more references to sex than I would have liked there to have been, they weren’t overly erotic, which is good, although I really don’t see the point of adding detailed sex into the mix of a really good story anyway. But, that aside, the characterization and story were very well done, and I am eager to read the rest of the series, which, like I stated before, is available, complete, on Amazon and Barnes and Nobel and, in my opinion, is worth it. Four stars.

posted by Read_A_Book on April 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Beware, these 3 books are really only 1 story

This is only one story that needs all 3 books to finish the story. It is interesting and keeps moving. I do dislike having to buy 3 books to get one story. This is very deceptive and therefore gets a one star rating!

posted by 598336 on May 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Beware, these 3 books are really only 1 story

    This is only one story that needs all 3 books to finish the story. It is interesting and keeps moving. I do dislike having to buy 3 books to get one story. This is very deceptive and therefore gets a one star rating!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    Worth the Read

    This is another series book, which ends in medias res, leaving the reader yearning for more, and yet, it’s such a good read, long enough to give the feel of a full length novel, that it didn’t bother me too much when it abruptly ended. While I would much rather prefer a full-length novel to multiple shorts, Wells has actually put all three together for purchase on Amazon and Barnes and Noble, for only $4.99, and in my opinion, that’s a steal, especially as the storyline and writing is so well done. But, if you want to check out the first portion of the series before committing to buy, it’s currently free on Amazon and Barnes and Nobel right now, which is where I obtained my copy for review.

    The main portion of the story follows Elaine Brogan as she naively finds herself and her father the victim of a counterfeiting scandal, leaving her destitute and alone. Resolved to join the Secret Service and take down the man who destroyed her life, Elaine throws herself into her studies and works diligently in hopes of revenge. The story moves very swiftly, and Elaine soon finds herself working for Nick LaGrange in Bulgaria as he attempts to shut down the counterfeit ring taking Europe by storm. Of course, things aren’t always what they seem, and while Elaine is indeed amazing at her job, she soon finds herself in a difficult situation, having to choose carefully between love and ethics.

    I really enjoyed this story, save that it ended right in the middle of a climax within the story. Wells is a very good writer and his story kept me captivated from start to finish. While there were more references to sex than I would have liked there to have been, they weren’t overly erotic, which is good, although I really don’t see the point of adding detailed sex into the mix of a really good story anyway. But, that aside, the characterization and story were very well done, and I am eager to read the rest of the series, which, like I stated before, is available, complete, on Amazon and Barnes and Nobel and, in my opinion, is worth it. Four stars.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Great Read - must read!!!

    This is a very fast paced story - sucks you in and you can't stop reading. Looking forward to reading the rest of the series. Mike Wells is an author to watch - he is great!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    This book draws you into the story from the very first page to the very last page. Excellent writing! A must read - you will not want to miss out on the other two books in the series. I read this book and could not put it down, i went on to read all the books by Mike Wells and have not been disappointed!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Dawn Torrens - Brilliant a must read!

    From the moment I started reading this book I could barely put it down! I loved it. Elaine is the main character and she is out to avenge her father's death. She joins the secret service in order to track down the culprit. She takes you on a journey of survival and strenght. Brilliantly written, uputdownable, I could imagine seeing this story on the big screen... If your reading this review I urge you to put this book at the top of your must read list - a fantastic book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    You can get all 3 books for $5.00

    Even though I really enjoyed Book 1, I found it extremely frustrating that I had to buy Book 2 and Book 3 to get the complete story. Be advised: You can buy all three books in one eBook for $5.00.

    I love book series. I read the first book of every series I find just to hope that I find an author and characters I like.

    This series is worth reading. I would have rated Book 1 a four, but I felt frustrated by the technique of providing a free copy of book 1 just to sell books 2 and 3 so you can read the complete story. Not a series, a story.

    I would carefully check out any "series" by this author to make sure it wasn't one long story split across multiple books.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    Excellent Read - You will not be disappointed

    When it comes to book reviews, I tend to find no credibility in a review when the poster is Anonymous. If you have a critique, do share it and your pen name too. When I critique a book, I find it more beneficial to be extremely detailed than to "yell fire in a crowded movie theater" as the old saying goes and then close the review. In essence, is it necessary to attempt to bring a person down to your level? That's one voracious readers opinion

    In reading Book 1, I found it exciting and vivid from the first paragraph until the end. I specifically enjoyed the strong personality the Author gave to Elaine - he also let us in on her trials and tribulations that make her who she is.

    One last note on reviews, the Author does write in series form and I myself do not feel cheated that I have to read Books 2 & 3. It keeps me excited to see how it all ends. Great job Mike and I can't wait to see what happens next.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Enjoyable

    A very fast read

    Was not happy that i had to buy two more books to see how it all turned out, but i still recommend it!

    Hope to see more from author!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Not finished.

    Cliff hanger non ending!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2013

    I received this book in return for an honest review. Beware wha

    I received this book in return for an honest review. Beware what you ask for.

    Lust, Book One of Lust, Money and Murder is approximately 106 pages long, and is the first book in a trilogy. Elaine Brogan was an engaging character and the subject of counterfeiting was either well-researched or one with which Mr. Wells was very familiar from his day-job. The book was fast-paced and kept me on the edge of my seat, but there were continuity and grammar issues, info dumps and point-of-view jumps that I found very off-putting and distracting. I know what free-lance editors cost, but they make the difference between a polished, professional book, and the kind of amateurish presentation that gives independent publishing a bad name.

    Finally, these pieces should not have been published as a series. Three hundred pages is not a long book. Most of the big publishers won’t look at a manuscript of fewer than a hundred thousand words and that runs about three hundred pages. When writing a series, each book should be able to stand on its own. Look at Patterson’s Alex Cross books or Clancy’s Jack Ryan books, any of the Kellerman’s series (Jonathan, Faye or their son Jesse’s), or Jim Butcher’s Harry Dresden Files. You can pick up any one of those books and they stand on their own. You can read one or all in each series. Yes, The Hunt for Red October made me want to see more of Jack Ryan. Storm Front made me want more of Harry Dresden. But each book had a beginning, middle and end. Lust does not have an end. It just stops at the beginning of Money. That makes me crazy and makes me feel manipulated. It’s not like this book would have been a couple thousand pages and needed to be split into manageable pieces like Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings (which was originally written as one book, but was split in three by the publisher). If you still want to read this book, buy the bundle and read the trilogy as one book. Otherwise, you’ll be stuck with only part of the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    This doesn't have a conclusion so shouldn't be considered a book

    This doesn't have a conclusion so shouldn't be considered a book. I agree that this is quite deceptive and should be listed as a sample of the entire package.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    Very Disappointing

    Although the writing is solid, the story failed in many ways. The reader is promised a story of revenge, but the whole premise of that revenge is questionable. The protagonist's father commits suicide, but we as readers never see any real development of the father as a character, and the suicide appears simply as a gimmick to move the main character along. Then, half way into the story, that story line is squelched when the heroine finds out the target of her revenge has died. But again, we're simply TOLD that, not shown it. The rest of the book is a new story, different from the main story promised in the beginning, and there's nothing there. It's dull, lacks tension, lacks interesting character development, has more telling than showing and, as stated in my headline, was very disappointing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    Would have given a better rating but just completed the 2nd book

    Would have given a better rating but just completed the 2nd book and very disappointed. Wouldh ave been better to charge for the first book and have more substance int he 2nd. Don't want to take a hancge on the 3rd! I agree with the comment about beware of having to buy 3 books to complete one story. Really don't want to get into the habit of encouraging these authors who become too confident!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    very good mystery

    I enjoyed this mystery.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Great, loved it looking forward to 2nd book!

    Great, loved it looking forward to 2nd book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Meh.

    This book just isn't very good. The writing is amateurish and the story is very shallow, as are the characters. I'm not going to bother reading the next one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Don't bother

    This "book" is not a book at all, just a long sampler trying to get you hooked into buying TWO more short books to get the complete story in what should be one book. It is not a stand alone plot and there is no conclusion. The story line is thin with little action. There is a mildly interesting romance, but it, like the entire story, drags along with little development then takes a huge inexplicable leap. Don't get suckered. Skip this one.
    JB

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Lust, Money, & Murder: Book 1 is a pleasing thriller with a

    Lust, Money, & Murder: Book 1 is a pleasing thriller with a fast-paced storyline incorporating a touch of romance. I was hooked from the beginning and plan to keep on reading the subsequent books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    A must read!

    I found myself not wanting to put this book down. I will read the rest of this set and many more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    highly suggested read

    What a great job Mike Wells has done!
    Excellent quick read. Mind blowing and full of suspense. LOL to Mr. R! Hoping for NIck and Elaine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3