Customer Reviews for

Lust, Money & Murder: Book 1, Lust

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Worth the Read

This is another series book, which ends in medias res, leaving the reader yearning for more, and yet, it’s such a good read, long enough to give the feel of a full length novel, that it didn’t bother me too much when it abruptly ended. While I would much rather prefer ...
This is another series book, which ends in medias res, leaving the reader yearning for more, and yet, it’s such a good read, long enough to give the feel of a full length novel, that it didn’t bother me too much when it abruptly ended. While I would much rather prefer a full-length novel to multiple shorts, Wells has actually put all three together for purchase on Amazon and Barnes and Noble, for only $4.99, and in my opinion, that’s a steal, especially as the storyline and writing is so well done. But, if you want to check out the first portion of the series before committing to buy, it’s currently free on Amazon and Barnes and Nobel right now, which is where I obtained my copy for review.

The main portion of the story follows Elaine Brogan as she naively finds herself and her father the victim of a counterfeiting scandal, leaving her destitute and alone. Resolved to join the Secret Service and take down the man who destroyed her life, Elaine throws herself into her studies and works diligently in hopes of revenge. The story moves very swiftly, and Elaine soon finds herself working for Nick LaGrange in Bulgaria as he attempts to shut down the counterfeit ring taking Europe by storm. Of course, things aren’t always what they seem, and while Elaine is indeed amazing at her job, she soon finds herself in a difficult situation, having to choose carefully between love and ethics.

I really enjoyed this story, save that it ended right in the middle of a climax within the story. Wells is a very good writer and his story kept me captivated from start to finish. While there were more references to sex than I would have liked there to have been, they weren’t overly erotic, which is good, although I really don’t see the point of adding detailed sex into the mix of a really good story anyway. But, that aside, the characterization and story were very well done, and I am eager to read the rest of the series, which, like I stated before, is available, complete, on Amazon and Barnes and Nobel and, in my opinion, is worth it. Four stars.

posted by Read_A_Book on April 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Beware, these 3 books are really only 1 story

This is only one story that needs all 3 books to finish the story. It is interesting and keeps moving. I do dislike having to buy 3 books to get one story. This is very deceptive and therefore gets a one star rating!

posted by 598336 on May 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Great Read - must read!!!

    This is a very fast paced story - sucks you in and you can't stop reading. Looking forward to reading the rest of the series. Mike Wells is an author to watch - he is great!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    This book draws you into the story from the very first page to the very last page. Excellent writing! A must read - you will not want to miss out on the other two books in the series. I read this book and could not put it down, i went on to read all the books by Mike Wells and have not been disappointed!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Dawn Torrens - Brilliant a must read!

    From the moment I started reading this book I could barely put it down! I loved it. Elaine is the main character and she is out to avenge her father's death. She joins the secret service in order to track down the culprit. She takes you on a journey of survival and strenght. Brilliantly written, uputdownable, I could imagine seeing this story on the big screen... If your reading this review I urge you to put this book at the top of your must read list - a fantastic book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    Excellent Read - You will not be disappointed

    When it comes to book reviews, I tend to find no credibility in a review when the poster is Anonymous. If you have a critique, do share it and your pen name too. When I critique a book, I find it more beneficial to be extremely detailed than to "yell fire in a crowded movie theater" as the old saying goes and then close the review. In essence, is it necessary to attempt to bring a person down to your level? That's one voracious readers opinion

    In reading Book 1, I found it exciting and vivid from the first paragraph until the end. I specifically enjoyed the strong personality the Author gave to Elaine - he also let us in on her trials and tribulations that make her who she is.

    One last note on reviews, the Author does write in series form and I myself do not feel cheated that I have to read Books 2 & 3. It keeps me excited to see how it all ends. Great job Mike and I can't wait to see what happens next.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Great, loved it looking forward to 2nd book!

    Great, loved it looking forward to 2nd book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Lust, Money, & Murder: Book 1 is a pleasing thriller with a

    Lust, Money, & Murder: Book 1 is a pleasing thriller with a fast-paced storyline incorporating a touch of romance. I was hooked from the beginning and plan to keep on reading the subsequent books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    A must read!

    I found myself not wanting to put this book down. I will read the rest of this set and many more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    highly suggested read

    What a great job Mike Wells has done!
    Excellent quick read. Mind blowing and full of suspense. LOL to Mr. R! Hoping for NIck and Elaine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Great Read

    Loved this series! A great attention grabber in the beginning, and be forewarned, you will NOT be able to put it down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Very impressed with all 3 books in the series. Lots of edge of

    Very impressed with all 3 books in the series. Lots of edge of your seat, nail biting suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    In our century, if an author makes inroads toward marrying a pag

    In our century, if an author makes inroads toward marrying a page-turning thriller with talent-lurking prose, then he is certainly heading somewhere; Mike Wells is an author to keep your eyes on, ladies and gents.

    Mike Wells is an aesthetically keen painter using a large brush yet still managing to provide us an occasional peek into his poetic heart. He'll paint broad strokes, escalating a plot to draw you in, employing powerful, unpredictable story lines to be sure you don't take his novel for granted, and then he'll infuse gentle emotion, add a dab of poetry to the description of a scene, and develop surprisingly subtle nuances of character. I can easily see his series novels as movies that could entertain a wide audience. He has the ability, like many gifted authors, to make you sympathize with brutish or morally suspect characters. He does this with several characters in this first book, from a thug-like but daughter-doting bad guy type to a CIA agent that breaks the rules but with such style that the reader, just like Elaine, is sure to fall head over heals with him.

    The plots of crime and intrigue have their own unique style and are well researched and quite plausible (e.g., the counterfeit details and the CIA application and training of Elaine are extremely believable). Perhaps this is why the reader finds himself vicariously living the heroine's desire and path of reckoning, waiting to see what happens next. I sincerely look forward to the next book in the series to find out how this plot unravels.

    I also like how the author starts backwards with an intriguing event and then uses the rest of his books to fill in the gaps. Clever.

    Readers of any genre will appreciate the craft of Mike Wells, but if you love suspense thrillers and intrigue, written with flare and a talented pen, you will surely enjoy this book.

    Yours in literature,
    J.G.C.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2012

    THIS WAS A GREAT BOOK I WOULD READ MORE FROM THIS AUTHOR KEEP TH

    THIS WAS A GREAT BOOK I WOULD READ MORE FROM THIS AUTHOR KEEP THE GOOD WORK UP

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    LOVE

    Love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Page turner

    This is a great read. I couldn't put it down. Yes you have to get the other books to find out what happens next. But good books should leave you wanting more and this one does that. Give it a try you won't regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Really enjoyed

    This was a good book. Was hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1