Customer Reviews for

Lust, Money & Murder: Books 1, 2 & 3

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    No Holds Barred

    Really irresistible page turner by novelist Mike Wells, "Lust, Money, and Murder" is the story of a woman out for revenge against the man who ruined her father and her vow to see him pay takes her on a journey around the world that is neither predictable nor dull in the slightest.

    The heroine’s name is Elaine Brogan. She watches in horror as her father is arrested for passing counterfeit money and the man she holds responsible becomes the catalyst for a dive into the world of a Secret Service agent, the grueling treatment Elaine must endure to become one, and then the time she must bide until her quest really begins.

    As Elaine sets out to bring her father’s nemesis to justice she goes on a wild ride through Bulgaria, Russia, and eventually Italy that gives the reader enough thrills to keep the pages turning as the climax, which is anything but what you might expect, comes into view. Add in the ingredients of romance and suspense and the result is a novel you won’t want to end a page too soon.

    Author Wells has written a real delight in "Lust, Money, and Murder." It reads like something Sidney Sheldon might have written at the height of his literary career but the overall effect is a thoroughly enthralling story told by a writer who quite indelibly has a style all his own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Brilliant. Brilliant. I couldn't put the book down. The writer l

    Brilliant. Brilliant. I couldn't put the book down. The writer leaves you hungry for more page after page and book after book. I hope he will have a new book soon.I still can't find other books that measures up to Lust, money and murder except what is written by mike wells.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was my first attempt at an audio book and I haven't read th

    This was my first attempt at an audio book and I haven't read the original book yet, so the story was completely new to me. I was a bit nervous thinking about this review, but here we go! I will attempt to not include any spoilers - it is tough when you are writing about 3 books though. 




    Mike Wells really does write 'unputdownable' novels! At first I thought 'how long is it going to take me to get through 10 hours of an audio book.' Well the answer was less than a week. I listened while getting ready for work in the morning, while driving to work - instead of the radio and any moments in between! It was completely addictive. 




    Narrator 5/5 : I thought the narrator was awesome. She changes her voice and accent as the characters change and really gives a good performance. Sue is easy to follow and listen to. Her pace is perfect.




    Characters: 5/5
    The characters are well rounded, interesting and lovable. You love the good ones and you love to hate the 'bad' ones.




    Elaine Brogan




    Book 1 : I easily connected with Elaine. She is lovable, soft, caring and smart, but also has the strength to always do what is right. I quickly found myself rooting for her. Elaine works for what she wants. I took to her story quickly and definitely enjoyed her growth and learning curves. One of the things that bugged me and which made me feel quite sad for her was that she had such a bleak view on sleeping with someone and finding someone special. I almost threw a party when she met Nick! But we will get to Nick a bit later on. I really enjoyed her time in Bulgaria and felt that this was a turning point for her. Her feelings for Nick were a bit torturous in the beginning and bitter sweet when the romance finally happened. I really wanted to shake some sense into her when she did what she did at the end and for not trusting her instincts more. 




    Book 2: In this book I felt for her and just wanted her back with Nick! As a secret service agent sometimes I wished she could be a bit more kick-ass - but I did appreciate that she could think her way out of a situation. This was a tough period for Elaine and I wished she had connected some of the dots sooner. None-the-less this book was fast paced and full of twists. 




    Book 3: this is the book where Elaine's lines blur, and she learns who she really is as a person. She does get seduced a little bit by the wealth, the power and the corruption. I was a bit angry at Elaine when she lost her will after the Nick incident and that she let Caterreti do what he did to her, even though I could understand why. Once the real Elaine was back and thinking clearly, I was so relieved. I wanted to climb in there and help her. Elaine's story tugs at your heart strings and draws you in. The ending of Elaine's story was perfect - I was almost in tears. 




    Patrick - her dad. I liked him. He focuses on his daughter and loves her so much. He sacrifices much for her. 




    Nick Le Grange 




    Book 1: I immediately liked Nick. He is true, honest, street smart, witty and your good/bad boy who doesn't follow the rules. What u see is what u get. Nick is my favourite character in this series and I would love to read it from his POV to hear his story. Although some of Nick's actions come across as shady, he is so much more than he appears. I was so happy when he finally admitted his feelings for Elaine and took the chance with her! #TeamNick




    Book 2: Nick is not really featured in Book 2, but I believe he is a good guy and he truly loves Elaine. I missed Nick's presence in book 2 and was so annoyed that Lassiter kept Nick and Elaine apart unnecessarily and so easily. The whole way through this book I was hoping Nick would show up. 




    Book 3: When Nick finally arrived I was jumping for joy and was then in utter shock! Nick didn't feature much until nearly the end, which was a really long wait from book 1! When the Nick incident happened, I was in utter disbelief. I was secretly hoping it wasn't what it seemed to be. I am really looking forward to reading/listening to more of Nick's story in Volume 2. 




    Jean Lassiter




    Book 1: Jean plays a very minor role in book 1. He is introduced while Elaine is being trained at the secret service as one of her lecturers. Near the end Lassiter appears again and changes the whole story, setting the scene for book 2. 




    Book 2: I could tell Jean had ulterior motives. I wanted to knock him out for keeping Nick & Elaine apart. I really didn't like him much. He works Elaine to the bone on his secret project and then sets her up. He is a twisted old man that many underestimate. 




    Book 3: In this book, all of Jean's true colours show. In the end I actually felt sorry for him and when the twist came about Gypsy..! I was busy doing my mascara getting ready for work and my jaw literally dropped and I almost made a complete mess of my make-up! After the jaw dropping shock I burst into fits of giggles. 




    Georgio Cateretti




    Book 2: We first meet Georgio after he 'rescues' Elaine. In the beginning he is so charming and he draws Elaine in and seduces her with wealth, power and designer clothes. I'm sure he has cracked even the most committed women - the life of corruption comes across as a life of pure luxury. 




    Book 3: Georgio is an intriguing and extremely interesting character. He is such a likable criminal and charming gentleman with a wicked temper. In this book we get a clear glimpse of his past and how he became the way he is now. When his darker side did show, I literally loathed him. No pity here. In the end though, Mike created a really memorable and great character. 




    Plot, Pace, Writing style: 5/5
    The pace of all 3 books is great. The plot is captivating and kept my attention - I just wanted to keep on listening. It is tough to judge Mike's writing style through audio, but Mike kept me interested and definitely kept me wanting more. 




    Book 1 ~ Lust: Has great pace, lays a great foundation for the series and ends with a huge twist.




    Book 2 ~ Money: picks up exactly where book 1 finished. The end of book 2 was sort of blasé. No huge ending but definitely a meaty middle book. I really missed Nick but really enjoyed Georgio Cateretti's character. 




    Book 3 ~ Murder: has a bit more kick, everybody's true colours come out, and the lies are unravelled. Just when you think you know how it's going to end, Mike throws in another twist. If the book didn't end the way it ended I was going to have some real issues to chat to Mike about! The ending of this book and this series was perfect. 




    Cover talk 2/5: I am not overly fond of the cover. It's ok. 




    My Final thoughts:
    This is a fantastic story about love, friendship, betrayal, revenge and truth. Elaine's life and journey is easily relatable, filled with good times and tough or dangerous situations. I'd definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good mystery and suspense type book with a touch of romance. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2013

    When I first saw this book the cover intrigued me. I had that wa

    When I first saw this book the cover intrigued me. I had that warm fuzzy feeling I get when I see a book I want to read. ¿  As I started reading I felt as though I was watching a movie, it no longer felt like I was reading. This book is very fast paced and you are unable to put it down.  I agree with so many people before me who have read Lust, Money, & Murder that Mike Wells has captured the mind and perspective of a women.
    Lust, Money, & Murder revolves around Elaine Brogan, a brave and determined women. She decides to become a Secret Service Agent specializing in counterfeit money. After being tempted she finds herself balancing justice and the life of crime.
    I don't want to reveal too much about the book, because I want everyone to read it for themselves and become hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2013

    I absolutely loved these books. I couldn't put them down. I go



    I absolutely loved these books. I couldn't put them down. I got the first book for free and then had to buy the next 2 so I could keep on reading. Action packed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Great story; could not put it down.

    A fast pace story that draws you in and takes you on a great adventure of murder, betrayal, loss, discovery, and love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Good books

    Loved rrading all 3 books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Definitely worth your time!

    If you like a book to grab you and hold your attention from first pargraph to last, this is for you. Wells writes with enough color that I would love to see this book as a movie. I could actually see the characters and felt like I was pulled right into the story, especially the cab ride through the woods. I look forward to this series continuing. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Dawn Torrens - Fantastic, could not put it down!

    From the moment I started reading ths book I could not put it down. Elaine has lost everything, and now she wants to avenge her father's death. She joins the secret service in order to persue the culprit, and you are taken on a journey of strenght and survival, along the way she falls in love with her boss, however another agent convinces her he is dealing on the wrong side of the law and is about to be arrested, so she up sticks leaving Nick her boss in Bulgaria! If I could give this book more than 5 stars I would, just awesome, well written a real page turner. I shall be reading more of this authors books for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A fun roller coaster ride!

    "In God We Trust" is a journey through the entire emotional spectrum. Love, revenge, danger, and pride propel the reader through this excellent novel. The protagonist, Elaine, grows throughout this entire story and at each stage the reader can relate to what she experiences. Fantastic read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1