Customer Reviews for

Lydia: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    LYDIA ARABELLAS BIO!!

    Name-- Lydia Arabella. Age-- 17 i just turnd 17 yesterday 12/28. Looks-- Red curly hair blue eyes with a silver tint 4'10 my skin is a creamy milk color i have a flat tummy a small button nose and baby soft lips. Likes-- CHRIS CHRIS CHRIS CHRIS CHRIS CHRIS!!! country music rodeos horses. Dislikes-- the dark!!! :/ status-- in a relatiobship with Chris ;)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Zero

    Wats goin on lydia

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Ares

    ur the imposter

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Lydia

    Lays her head on his shoulder. I wish i could stay like this forever. She leans her head back and french kisses him dragging him down onto the bed

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Phenomenal read with a surprising yet satisfying ending. I loved it!

    I finally finished LYDIA and encourage everyone to read it, even if you fast forward through some pages. As a double decade fan, I pre-ordered Lydia on my Kindle figuring I'd read it in a few hours like I had Tim's previous novels. Lydia is not meant to be a swift read. You actually have to use your noggin on this somewhat complicated novel involving dysfunctional folks from previous TS novels. In Lydia, Oly Pedersen is more dominant than other characters, for good reason. I initially scanned through Oly's tales, but went back and savored these chronicles, filled with Sandlin's distinct voice and wacked-out humor. A magical transition occurs as Sandlin brilliantly understates insights through his character voices---insights that may cause readers to face their own fears, weaknesses, and strengths. My epiphany was that worthwhile novels should NEVER be read quickly. I was thrilled with this magnificent, humorous, sentimental and bittersweet novel that neatly ties the final ribbons across Sandlin's wonderful gift to readers. Despite its gratifying ending, I'm once again champing at the bit for more GroVont stories to spring to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Rollicking Tale

    How to explain this book, Tim Sandlin's latest novel in his GroVont series. There's Sam, living his life in Wyoming running a home for unwed mothers with his second wife. His first wife Maurey lives right down the road where she runs a horse farm. His daughter, Shannon has lived her life moving from man to man and now wants more and has returned to Wyoming to search for her life's meaning. Roger is the organization's handyman; he was raised by Maurey and her husband after a friend showed up and left him there as a young boy of five. Roger didn't talk for two years and still doesn't know his history. There is Oly, the oldest man in town, about to turn one hundred. Then there is Lydia. Lydia is Sam's mother but you wouldn't really call her a maternal figure. She is a force of nature, a woman who doesn't care what you think of her as long as you do what she wants and don't ignore her. Lydia has just returned to town after a ten year stint in federal prison. The government doesn't take kindly to women who send poisoned chew toys to the President's dog.

    All these lives tangle together and lead towards a fateful journey. Lydia believes she knows the truth about Roger's past and talks him into driving her to California to look for what happened to him so many years ago. Since her parole involves her getting the oral history of Oly's life, she brings him along. In California they will encounter Leroy, a felon who kidnapped Roger back when he was five to hurt his mother, and who is now on the loose and wants nothing more than to finish the job by killing him.

    Sandlin writes a rollicking tale, full of coincidences that somehow work. The tale swoops and soars, twisting back on itself periodically to drop another piece into the puzzle of how these lives are intertwined. Sandlin's writing is rambling and in the genre of Tom Robbins or T.R. Pearson; reminiscent of an Americanized Salman Rushdie, a gushing torrent of words that is unstoppable in its force and that entertains as it sweeps the reader along. This book is recommended for readers interested in an entertaining story that shows the importance of being true to those we love.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Worth the wait

    Reading a new Tim Sandlin novel is like having your boyfriend return home from war for a weekend. You may not see him again for years, and there may be others to bide the time, but when he returns you are his, and the rest of the world vanishes. Lydia was more than I could have dreamed it would be. It had everything Tim has to offer in a book. I felt excited, sad, and in love all at once. I went from laughter to tears in one page, and that is still not saying enough about what a ride this book will take you on. I was truly sad to finish it, and can't wait for his next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1