Customer Reviews for

Lying Awake

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    A great read! Highly recommend it.

    I bought this book for a week long vacation back when it was brand new. I finished it in the first day because I couldn't put it down. I've since lent it to 6 people (and the copies never get returned so I buy a used copy each time). All of them have adored it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2009

    Wow. Amazing book.

    I loved Lying Awake. It was thought provoking, engaging and insightful. This is one of the books that I did not want to put down. Every time I picked it up it caught my attention with the way the story was written and the way it flowed. It was written in such a way that it was not hard to read at all and it grabbed my attention. There was so much substance in this book but it was very easy to read. However, I had to stop multiple times to think about what was going on, especially when Sister John was reflecting on knowing God. So many of the things she said were so deep that I just had to stop and reflect a bit. Her desire to know God and the emptiness she felt within her really broke my heart. I could just see her straining and doing everything she thought she needed to know God only to be left dry and wanting still to know Him. And then when she finally seems to find God, to discover that it was being caused by epilepsy was just heart wrenching to me. I felt like I was right there with Sister John as she went through this whole process of learning about her epilepsy, wondering about knowing God, and then having to make a decision of what to do about the epilepsy. So much of this book just made me stop reading and think and I have not had that experience while reading a novel in a long time. Lying Awake was an amazing book to read, I enjoyed every minute of it and it made me think about my own life and not just about the book and the character I was reading about. I would wholeheartedly recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2002

    Holy Night

    As like most of the books I read I picked the ones that have never been checked out. They seem to hold the most promise. While I am not a religious person myself, this was nothing short of lovely. I enjoyed every minute of it. It is a fantastic read and I would suggest it to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2001

    Lovely

    I adored the characters in this book. Nuns may change their lifestyle when they take their vows, but, contrary to popular belief, they don't cease to be human. I was pleased to see Salzman create his 'nun-characters' as individuals who struggle with doubt, who have personalities, and who have the same emotions as the rest of us (they laugh, they cry, they get angry, they joke, etc). The story was lovely, realistic and hopeful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2001

    Exquisite Tickling of the Heart , Mind, and Spirit

    In just a few pages I was pulled deeply into the quiet peace of the cloistered Sisters' lives, only to be surprised and entranced by the rich interior life of Sister John of the Cross. Her dilemma is riveting, to be faced with the decision of whether to risk her identity, her life's purpose. I found this to resonate with an experience common to many people: whether to medicate with antidepressants, etc. and risk losing the gifts that make each person unique. I love this book and will long enjoy the intellectual, emotional and spiritual questions it inspires.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2001

    SPARSE, AND QUIETLY BEAUTIFUL

    Mark Salzman, author of a number of excellent books, including 'The Soloist', has captured a way of life in a voice that is at once sparse, and yet quietly beautiful. Like the spare poetry of the haiku, 'Lying Awake' evokes a simple imagery with as few words as possible. This is by far, one of his best works. Sister John of the Cross is searching for answers, and hopes to find that her response will be the Voice of God, guiding with a gentle hand. A celebrated poet, Sister John lives her days uneventfully and quietly in the last vestiges of solitude in Los Angeles. That is until she is visited by images so powerful and breath-taking, that she believes her journey to God is drawing to a climax. Not so, says the doctors to whom Sister John is taken when she begins to experience mild epileptic seizures. Her 'visions' are none other than hallucinations brought on by a tiny 'smudge' on her brain just above one ear. This revelation about the true source of her Godly images sends Sister John into a crisis of faith that threatens the rest of the nunnery as well as her own peace of mind. Salzman writes as if in a whisper, the quiet ways of those on the chosen Path of God, with delicate reticence, yet manages to tell a poetic story that brings the reader a certain sense of inner peace as well. A book to savor and reflect upon in a world that is filled with the faithless and the lost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2001

    Awesome Beauty in a Medical Mystery

    Can an exquisite little book about a Carmelite Contemplative nun be a page-turner? Yes, says this reviewer, who likes a quick read. This book is too beautifully written to put down and yet the central plot has only one clearcut question to be resolved. An exotic locale found in somewhere as approachable as the hills above Los Angeles invites close, thoughtful enjoyment. Lying Awake is a poetic novel that rivals the poetry of Kathleen Norris in Cloister Walk. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2000

    Outstanding

    This book helped me understand my own search for God. Mother Mary Joseph sums up Sister John's predicament in her statement: 'Everything we learn about God leads to deeper mystery.' A very captivating story that helps the reader empathize with Sister John's struggles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2000

    A Great Read

    This was a surprisingly good book to read. I was intrigued by the theme of the book - a nun who must make a decision to have a physical malady corrected. It is this same malady that has brought her close to God and given her the reason for having taken on her vocation. It is a sensitive work that does not preach to the reader, but draws them into this world that is quiet and complex. Not one that I can readily identify with except through the literate hand with which Mr. Salzman paints such a believable picture. The closing thoughts scribe a message about belief and commitment that, best of all, has led me to many new thougths of my own. My thanks for this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1