Customer Reviews for

The Lying Game (Lying Game Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1356 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(939)

4 Star

(248)

3 Star

(86)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(49)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

Excellent!

The Lying Game was the first book I read by Sara Shepard. it was excellent and I can only recommend it. It has a story that will keep you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on July 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

hmph.

I have enjoyed the pretty little liars series by sara shephard. I figured the lying game would be another good story.
I love the plot, however it was a quick read and didnt keep me very interested.Not bad,just not that good.
The characters were pretty predictable.
I...
I have enjoyed the pretty little liars series by sara shephard. I figured the lying game would be another good story.
I love the plot, however it was a quick read and didnt keep me very interested.Not bad,just not that good.
The characters were pretty predictable.
I would suggest this for girls under the age of 16. We'll see how the next one turns out.

posted by 6258359 on January 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    hmph.

    I have enjoyed the pretty little liars series by sara shephard. I figured the lying game would be another good story.
    I love the plot, however it was a quick read and didnt keep me very interested.Not bad,just not that good.
    The characters were pretty predictable.
    I would suggest this for girls under the age of 16. We'll see how the next one turns out.

    11 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Not as good as I thought

    Ugh....another supernatural story told through the eyes of a ghost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Ru

    Cxdhruxcetetdgfjx

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Dont like

    I just dont like them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    Well.....

    Its very very VERY similar to pretty little liars but its alright. Pretty little liars is waaaaay better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    a real let down.

    I loved the Pretty Little Liars series, they were gripping, interesting, and really toyed with your head. In this book, I felt none of those things. The character of Emma was very unimaginitive, she was plain, and I don't know, the really, really, godo outline did not come together to make a really good story. It's kind of flowery, empty of any real substance, nothing like Pretty Little Liars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Concept, Fatally Flawed and Filled with Cliche's. Disappointing.

    I really, really wanted to like this book.

    I haven't read Sara Shepard's Pretty Little Liars series, but the television spin-off became one of my guilty summer obsessions. Come on. It's fun to escape to a world filled with beautiful, haunted, wealthy teens. Especially teens who were full of delicious, dangerous secrets. The show's characters kept me tuned in because they were pretty, yes - but also dimensional and flawed and I wasn't quite sure what they were going to do next.

    When The Lying Game was released a few weeks ago, I was kind of excited. I thought it would give me a chance to get to know some more of Shepard's great characters on a more intimate level, and follow them from the start of a new series. I'm pretty sure that's what the publisher was banking on (especially with the entirely unoriginal name tie-in) because on it's own, The Lying Game is so very far from fabulous, I can't even imagine her character's recommending it.

    Let me just back up and give a short synopsis: Seventeen year old Emma has just been kicked out of her last foster home when she finds out she has an identical twin sister living in the next state. Well, not exactly living. Sutton, who appears as a ghostly narrator in the story, has just been murdered, and when Emma takes a road-trip to meet her long-lost twin she finds herself pulled into her sister's life and searching for clues to explain her death.

    Doesn't sound like a bad concept, right? It's really not. In fact, the first part of the book had me hooked. I'm learning about Emma's slightly clichéd but still fairly interesting life. I'm digging her affection for journaling about comebacks she should have used and writing news headlines for her life. And I'm vastly curious about the snuff-film, the 'Mean Girls' style game being played, and about Sutton and how she mysteriously died only to materialize in Emma's grungy bathroom with no memory of the event.

    There's an urgency to the first portion of the book that felt real and scary and electrifying. But, one of the biggest problems I have with the book, is that it doesn't seem able to hold on to that electricity throughout.

    As soon as Emma heads south to Tucson in search of Sutton, everything begins to goes down hill. Let's start with the obvious and glaring problem: Sutton doesn't show. Emma is kidnapped by Sutton's friends and her belongings are stolen. What does she do? She decides to impersonate her sister at a cool party, meet a hot guy or two, and then for bonus points, break into her sibling's house and pretend she is Sutton there as well. True, she doesn't learn about it her sister's death until the next morning, but the point is: Most of the time, no one in the book, including Emma and Sutton seem to even care that Sutton is dead. When Emma tries to tell the police and her parent's who she is, they all laugh it off and everyone moves on. And suddenly it's a story about a pretty girl, trying to fit in at a new school where everyone thinks she's someone else. OK. But was that the book I signed on for here? And, what about the murder?

    Finally, towards the end of the book we start getting back into the murder and some suspense. Unfortunately, all we get is a set-up for the next book, and not even a big, revealing or shocking one at that. No mystery was solved. I sadly felt as if all I had done was kind of meet some pretty poorly developed characters and learn about a murder that will likely get solved i

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2