BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Lying Game (Lying Game Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1365 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(948)

4 Star

(249)

3 Star

(85)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(49)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Excellent!

The Lying Game was the first book I read by Sara Shepard. it was excellent and I can only recommend it. It has a story that will keep you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on July 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

hmph.

I have enjoyed the pretty little liars series by sara shephard. I figured the lying game would be another good story.
I love the plot, however it was a quick read and didnt keep me very interested.Not bad,just not that good.
The characters were pretty predictable.
I...
I have enjoyed the pretty little liars series by sara shephard. I figured the lying game would be another good story.
I love the plot, however it was a quick read and didnt keep me very interested.Not bad,just not that good.
The characters were pretty predictable.
I would suggest this for girls under the age of 16. We'll see how the next one turns out.

posted by 6258359 on January 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 948 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 48
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent!

    The Lying Game was the first book I read by Sara Shepard. it was excellent and I can only recommend it. It has a story that will keep you entertained for hours.

    44 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Anonymous

    I loved this book!!!!! I could read it over and over again but I want to read the whole series!!! I recommend this book for ages 12 and up. HAPPY READING!!!!!!!!

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    The Lying Game

    Emma Paxton's life wasn't anywhere near normal. She was a teenage girl with the whole foster stuff piled on her. But when her foster brother finds a video of "Emma" being strangled and choked, she investigates- to find that she has a twin named Sutton Mercer, a spunky girl who is the extreme daredevil in a group game name The Lying Game. Emma goes to Arizona to meet Sutton, but Sutton isn't there. As Emma is threatened to live Suttons life by Sutton's murderer, Emma will find herself in the most important stage of her life: finding out who killed Sutton.


    This book was the ultimate page-turner for me and had the cliffhangers we all want. It was very fascinating to imagine Emma put into this gradual and hectic journey to find Suttons murderer.


    By TheBombJD
    Find Me on Words With Friends!

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    great book!

    This was another great book by a fun author! I read it in one evening because I couldn't put it down! There were quite a few editing issues though in the e-book version wherewordsran together likethis. i loved the story and the suspense in this book! Shepherd has done it again! I can't wait to get my hands onthe next book in this great new series!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    As soon as Emma heads south to Tucson in search of Sutton, every

    As soon as Emma heads south to Tucson in search of Sutton, everything begins to goes down hill. Let's start with the obvious and glaring problem: Sutton doesn't show. Emma is kidnapped by Sutton's friends and her belongings are stolen. What does she do? She decides to impersonate her sister at a cool party, meet a hot guy or two, and then for bonus points, break into her sibling's house and pretend she is Sutton there as well. True, she doesn't learn about it her sister's death until the next morning, but the point is: Most of the time, no one in the book, including Emma and Sutton seem to even care that Sutton is dead. When Emma tries to tell the police and her parent's who she is, they all laugh it off and everyone moves on. And suddenly it's a story about a pretty girl, trying to fit in at a new school where everyone thinks she's someone else. The Lying Game is by the author of Pretty Little Liars which is one of the novels that has been packaged by HarperTeen for multiple media distribution. The book reads like a TV show (and the TV show is already in pre-production) and is a very entertaining and fast read. The mystery is intriguing but does not resolve at the end of the book (all of the characters are still suspects) there is a bit of resolution regarding a clue but the reader is still left a bit unsatisfied with the ending. The back cover (of my ARC) presents the novel as part Pretty Little Liars and part Lovely bones and honestly that's giving far more credit than the novel should get. The book is fun and trashy but can't be compared with a novel like The Lovely Bones (although if you can use this to convince your child that she should read The Lovely Bones then go for it). I am sure if your a fan of Pretty Little Liars then you will probably like The Lying Game. I would recommend it to those who like books like this. I really enjoyed it more than I thought I would and can't wait for the next book to come out.    

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Great book!

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!! It kept me entertained the whole time. This is a must read for those who enjoy teen novels!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Read in Hours! (mini spoiler)

    I literally could not put it down! I bought it yesterday, and I finished it long time aago. I must say, the PLL first book was okay, but this series opener was 10x better! It wont dissappoint and keeps you guessing! I love Ethans character and I can definitely see his and Emma's relationship developing! You develop love/hate relationships for some characters and they are NOT predictable, which I enjoy. This was one of the best books I've read in a long time!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    Ahh-mazing book

    Okay, so i first started reading this book and after 10 pages i got hooked. I kept telling myself 10 more minutes and the minutes turned into hours and before i knew it i finished the book!! Awesome read, i reccomend this book to anyone.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Great

    Make a longer sample. That is all i have to say

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Anonymous

    I had read Sara Shepard's other series "Pretty Little Liars" and I could not put the books down because they were just so intersting and then I saw " The Lying Game" and knew it was going to be good and it was great. At the beginning it will start off calm then start to be suspensful/exciting but like any series, the end might have unanwsered questions and that's when you need to get the second book " Never Have I Ever". And the T.V shows for both these series are amazing but if you seen the series and want to read the books, the books are a bit different but you should totally read this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Sara Shepard!

    I love Sara Shepard! She is like the best author ever. I started reading the Pretty Little Liars series on Christmas day and I finished the series three weeks ago. I started the first Lying Game book last week and I just finished the second one. These books are like the best books ever!
    I also love the Pretty Little Liars show. But I really hate how much they change. Spencer, Melissa, and Mona are obviously blondes. And Hanna is supposed to have auburn hair. And seriously with Emily? She is supposed to be a pale freckled redhead. I mean, read the books! I get that they are great actors and all but how hard is it to change the hair color?
    Dont get me wrong, I love the shows but the books are soo good! I am literally obsessed and thanks Sara Shepard for writing these they are amazing! <3

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    read The Lying Game

    The Lying Game
    This book is a must read! At the end of every chapter it leaves you in suspense. When a girl has a choice of to take over her twins place or die nothing goes good. Especially when her twin's killer is watching every step she makes. You can't skip The Lying Game if you like a lot of suspense, lies, secrets, and all of the things for an awesome book! Also you can watch the show, of the book, and picture those characters in the show in the book as you read. That is what I like about books that have shows, too. You can also compare the book to the show. (I like the book better but the show has only had one season so far.)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved This Book!

    Sara Shepard does a great job of keeping your attention and the book is very fast paced. It's told in the point of view of the dead sister (Sutton) who's observing everything that the living sister (Emma) is doing; hanging out with Sutton's friends, kissing her boyfriend, fighting with her enemies etc. Emma gets in tricky situations because she's never met Sutton, has no idea what she's like and they have VERY different personalities. The mystery element is wonderful and at some points the book was so intense I was scared to turn the page! There's also a little love story mixed in! (Lets cross our fingers and hope Emma's love interest isn't her sister's killer!) This is the first in a series, so don't expect a finite ending to this book, I thought the ending was sweet and enough was answered/resolved to hold me over till August when book 2 "Never have I ever" comes out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Lying Game

    Sara Shepard is a great author. The Lying Game is a start of a new series! The book is very well written too. I recommend reading her other book series Pretty Little Liars! The lying game keeps you wondering and pulls you in. Both books are awesome. I really recommend reading Sara Shepard's
    books. Especially The Lying Game & Pretty Little Liars!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Read!

    The Lying Game is an amzing story!
    Emma Paxton is a foster child. She has lived in foster homes since she was five, passed along like an unwanted, overused toy. Her moother had dropped her off at a friend's house and had left a note saying she had gone on a "trip" some trip that was. It hd lasted for thirteen years and counting. Emma is now seventeen and is almost eighteen. Emma lives in Nevada (where I live!). Sutton Mercer is a rich, pretty, popular girl that gets what she wants when she wants it. Over the story, Sutton learns how spoiled she was compared to Emma's screwed up life.
    Emma Paxton discovers that she has a twin sister-- Sutton Mercer. Meanwhile, Sutton is just realizing that she is dead and has to follow Emma everywhere. Like there's a rope connecting them. Emma's perverted foster brother shows her and her foster mother a video on Youtube. It shows Sutton being strangled. Emma searches her up on Facebook and discovers Sutton Mercer who is almost eighteen like her and has the same chestnut brown hair and cornflower blue eyes. But, she lives in Tuscon, Arizona. Emma messages her telling her about herself and asks her some questions about herself. She tells her that she is a foster child and asks her if she one also. Sutton messages back immediately asking Emma to meet her at Tuscon. There's only one problem-- the person who messaged her isn't Sutton. Emma takes a Grayhound bus there but doesn't find Sutton. Sutton's friends Charlotte Chamberlain, Madeline Vega, and Gabby and Lily Forelli (or something-- I always forget their last names) mistake her for Sutton. Emma is dragged along into Sutton's life and meets her family: Her parents Kristen and Ted Mercer and her younger sister Laurel. Emma recieves a note saying, "Sutton is dead. Play along or you will be too," or something along those lines. Emma meets her boyfriend Garret and struggles to fit into Sutton's "perfect" life. She soon learns the popular girl has a ton of secrets.Emma meets Ethan, a guy who helps her and soon learns Emma's burden of a secret: Sutton is dead. Emma tries escaping back to Las Vegas with Laurel's car but gets caught. She comes back. This story is action packed and you will love it if you like drama, mysterey, adventure, and teenage problems all wrapped into one! Read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Awesome and interesring!

    I only got to read the sample but so far it seems so interesting and you just want to keep on reading!
    Although i have seen the shows and their AWESOME!!!
    I recomend this book for everyone else to read!
    I think everyone can really appeal to this book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Great

    Really a good book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Lalaland

    Lie lie lie... sounds fun:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Dood

    What i know is that this is a great book and i could not stop reading it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    The Lying Game

    This book was probably my most favorite of the hole series I red every book in the trilogy and I half to say that The Lying Game was my most favorite!!!!!!!!! Just the whole fact that Sutton was strangled to death by her best friends and sister.
    But then for Emma to come in and take her long lost sisters place without anyone knowing!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 948 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 48