Customer Reviews for

Lying Season

Average Rating 4.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Not half bad.

    I freaking love this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Love all of the Experiment of Terror books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Keeps you wanting more...

    Could not put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Good Series

    I enjoyed reading this series and am looking forward to the next book to come out. You really get to know the characters as the stories develop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Love this series

    Absolutely love this series. It holds my attention and makes me come back wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    I love this series, but I enjoyed the previous book more. Lyin

    I love this series, but I enjoyed the previous book more. Lying Season
    (Experiment in Terror #4) by Karina Halle is the fourth book in the
    Experiment in Terror series, one of my favorite paranormal mystery
    series ever. I’ve previously reviewed Darkhouse, Red Fox, Dead Sky
    Morning and a short story, The Benson. Perry and Dex, the main
    characters of the Experiment in Terror series, are back for another
    round of ghostly apparitions, intense and scary scenes, and some sexual
    tension that will keep you on the edge of your seat in the fourth
    installment in the series. A lot of reviewers have named Lying Season as
    the best book in the series so far, but I tend to disagree. While I
    enjoyed the book thoroughly, I’m a bit disappointed that the increasing
    chemistry between Perry and Dex reached a climax this soon. I won’t get
    into detail as not to spoil anything, but there’s a turning point in
    their relationship in this book, and while I’ve been cheering for them
    from the start, it feels a bit anti-climax to get here this soon. While
    the previous books in the series were very action-driven, with things
    happening every two seconds, Lying Season is more character-driven. I
    enjoyed getting to know more about Dex and Perry through their
    interactions with the people close to them. But unfortunately this also
    meant losing some of the action, and I wasn’t entirely prepared to let
    it go yet. I feel like at parts this book focused too much on the
    relationship between Perry and Dex and not enough on the events
    happening, like the ghost investigation for instance. Here we have the
    perfect, PERFECT setting for a ghost hunter show and for a novel – a
    haunted asylum. Is there anything even remotely scarier than a haunted
    asylum? We meet some of the ghosts of the asylum, but then it’s like the
    novel takes another direction and just forgets all about it. While I see
    the logic behind this, I’m a bit disappointed I couldn’t have seen more
    of Perry and Dex while entering the asylum and facing the ghosts. I
    think now it was handled in a few chapters. The setting was perfect –
    haunted mental insitution – and the tension was there, but I feel like
    it has been overlooked too fast. I was pretty scared, but it didn’t last
    long. As for people interested in Jenn, Dex’ long-time girlfriend,
    well, be prepared to get annoyed. In this book, we finally meet Jenn,
    and let me tell you, if you were like me, hoping to find a reason why
    Dex fell in love with her and started dating her, you’re in for a
    surprise. There is none. I’m still flabbergasted at how these characters
    could end up together. Jenn is superficial and boring, mean and always
    eager to pick a fight with Dex. They couldn’t be more different. I
    wasn’t a big fan of Jenn in the beginning of the Experiment in Terror
    series, and I’m even less right now. Perry is the star of this show.
    Her determination is astonishing. She never gives up, no matter what
    life throws at her. I loved her before this book, but I love her even
    more now. She’s also the perfect match for Dex and he’s moron for not
    finding out sooner. They understand each other on every level, and each
    have a haunting, traumatic past. That said, I loved how their
    relationship developed in this book. Their interactions are more attuned
    to each other than ever, and the stakes are higher than ever before as
    well. The title, Lying Season is very suiting to the plot. There are
    more secrets revealed in this book, and more lies uncovered than in an
    episode of Pretty Little Liars. It’s time for Dex and Perry to tell the
    truth – but can they, and what will it mean to them? I must applaud
    author Karina Halle for starting out with a killer book, Darkhouse, but
    managing to upt those stakes with every sequel. The characters of Perry
    and Dex are written like living and breathing human beings, real and
    honest, with flaws and errors, judgements and fears. Tension is high,
    and this book has some scary scenes. It’s a great addition to the
    Experiment in Terror series, and I can’t wait to read the next book. If
    you’ve enjoyed this series so far, you will definitely enjoy Lying
    Season as well. It wasn’t my personal favorite, but it was for a lot of
    other people. I for one, can’t wait to read On Demon Wings and find out
    what happens next to Perry and Dex, one of my all-time favorite fiction couples.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    LYING SEASON, book four in the Experiment in Terror Series, cent

    LYING SEASON, book four in the Experiment in Terror Series, centers around the ever-freaking-adorable Perry Palomino and her partner (and would-be love) Dex Foray. In this installment, Perry and Dex are investigating a reportedly haunted mental institution in Seattle. Scary, huh? Turns out, that scenario is not nearly as scary as the fact that Perry is spending the week with Dex in his apartment... oh, and his longterm girlfriend, Jenn, too. Let the fun begin.

    Wow. That pretty much sums up my feelings at this moment. When I finished LYING SEASON a few hours ago, I thought I should probably sit on my thoughts for a day or two and let everything settle. But I don't think waiting will change anything. So here goes...

    LYING SEASON. What a perfect name for this book. Perry and Dex have never been wholly upfront to one another, about their complicated and turbulents pasts, certainly not about their feelings towards one another. But the level of dishonesty is ratcheted up to a new, disturbing level in this book. Like I said, Dex has never been totally honest about his history. In LYING SEASON, though, Dex's protective shell begins to chip away, and he begins to reveal pieces of himself to Perry. It's haunting, disturbing, and quite heartbreaking. I've never seen Dex this vulnerable. I don't think he'd ever been this open with anyone before, even Jenn. Only Perry does he trust. But then he reveals these secrets he's been keeping from Perry. Things that don't seem to be a huge deal to an outsider, but have a tremendous impact on her and show her how truly selfish he can be. He just... I don't know. I love Dex, I honestly do (cue the Olivia Newton-John music), but sometimes, I want to slap the literal sh*t out of him.

    And Perry, sweet Perry. This girl, she keeps going, no matter what life (and Dex) put her through. She's starting to gain some much needed confidence now. And I love that. And she always acts with the best of intentions. But she turns a dark corner in LYING SEASON. What she does...it made me so disappointed in her. I still love her. I totally get why she does it, and know that she does have good intentions. But I wanted to climb into my book and shake the girl. You cannot mess with people's minds and bodies like that, Perry!

    And Jenn. I gave you a fair chance. I was determined that there must be something worthy in you if Dex loves you. Screw that. For all the fans of the series who've wanted to know Jenn better. Here's your chance.

    Even though the series is called Experiment in Terror, LYING SEASON is the first book in the series that made me nearly pee my pants from fright. The other books did have tense, scary moments, but nothing that compares to this scenario. What is more terrifying than a mental institution? A haunted one at that? Compound that with a ghoulish blast from Dex's past and you have a true Experiement in Terror.

    LYING SEASON definitely left me with more questions than answers. The last few chapters had me reading with my eyes bugging out and my hand over my mouth so I wouldn't swear in front of my kids. The chemistry between Dex and Perry has never been hotter. The stakes have never been higher. The dialogue, internal and verbal, has never been sharper or as laugh-out-loud funny. I must give Halle some serious credit. She is a master at bringing the characters and story up to the very cusp of happiness, then pulling the rug right out from under them. She has never given Dex and Perry an easy road, or an easy out. And I suspect that will be the case until the very end. The ending to LYING SEASON...I'm still shattered. The fact that I'm still shell-shocked is a compliment to Halle's writing. I am excited, anxious, and terrified to read book five in the series ON DEMON WINGS.


    Favorite Quote:

    " 'What are you saying?' I asked softly.
    'I'm saying that you're like my best friend,' he said. 'You are my best friend, and I could never let pills take away what makes you, you. Your heart. And your beautiful soul.' " (pg. 213, ARC)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1