Customer Reviews for

Lyon's Bride (Chattan Curse Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Another great one!

    I love Cathy Maxwell's books and this one did not disappoint. A twist with the curse makes you wonder what will happen through out the entire book. Can't wait for the 2nd book "The Scottish Witch".

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    This book has all the things that people love about romance nove

    This book has all the things that people love about romance novels, and then it adds a little more. The chemistry between Thea and Lyon is passionate and heartwarming, however, one of the best parts about this book is that Maxwell doesn’t throw away characters. Each one is a real person with real hopes, fears, and dreams. Lyon’s siblings, especially his brother, provide the story with some light moments and wonderful plot twists.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is the first installment of the Chattan Curse series by Cat

    This is the first installment of the Chattan Curse series by Cathy Maxwell, and I must say, what a marvelous start! This book is *sigh* inducing and oh, so romantic. A great story of second chances and true love conquering all .

    Neal Chattan aka Lord Lyon and his family are cursed. The Chattan Curse is to punish and prevent any of them from falling in love. For generations, his ancestors have been attempting to avoid or stop the curse only to wind up with the same fate, death. Lyon's brother and sister have made a pact that the curse will end with them, not continuing with their blood line. But Lyon has other plans.

    Widowed with two young sons, Thea Martin has become the town’s successful match maker. Lord Lyon requested for her services but with specific requirements. Although Thea was against them, Thea accepts the job as her financial status has gone to a dwindle. The problem is Thea and Neal shared a past that will complicate their business arrangements.

    I love second chances at love. Ms. Maxwell has given this couple a chance at a well deserved happiness despite their life struggles.

    The world building was great and Ms Maxwell's writing flowed. The character buildup was also good even for the secondary characters. Thea was a great heroine, a kick ass single mom who knew her priorities. And Neal the honorable hero who makes the right decision in the end. I love that their romance was done in good timing and being acquainted in the past, their love only needed to grow. Some parts of this book were totally cliche but every bit as heart warming.

    With that, I leave you with a quote:

    "No woman had ever completely over powered him with desire. She was quicksilver and light. She was the stars, the moon, the sun. In this moment, she owned his entire being."

    * Review copy provided by publisher

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    A Great Start to this Trilogy!

    I am so glad I found this author and all 3 books are now out so I can go right into Harry's story, book 2. I really loved Neal and Thea, plus her children are so love able. This story is so heart warming at times, and fearful too. I also loved the secondary character's. A very unique story line, the author brings the character's to life in less than 200 Nook pages. You need to complete all 3 books or you won't know if the curse is broken, sort of a small cliffhanger. (Ljb)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    I enjoyed the story and characters but it ends abruptly with a c

    I enjoyed the story and characters but it ends abruptly with a cliff hanger to be continued. It has more detailed sex scenes than I am comfortable with.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Love New Series

    I love Cathy's series! And this one is no different- can't wait for the next one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Great

    Another wonderful story by Cathy Maxwell. Delightful characters but wanted more at the end. Oh well on to the next book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Enjoyed this book

    Looking forward to next segment

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The final book of a series I read completely backward just didn'

    The final book of a series I read completely backward just didn't live up to what I had come to expect from reading books two and three. I'm glad that I had read them out of order, or I don't know if I would have continued the series. 




    The Chattan family line has been cursed - and this generation is determined to be the last. They will not fall in love, they will not have children, and the curse will die with them. But Lord Lyon has to go and change his mind - right before Thea re-enters his life. He has hired a match maker to find him a wife he doesn't like (that was a little bit funny) only to discover she's the one that he just may fall in love with. 




    Thea thinks the curse is a load of rubbish and nothing Lyon can say will change her mind. Their book was a little too tame and predictable for me. I found myself knowing what was going to happen before I turned the page (and not because I had read the rest of the series). It just didn't have the little extra unique-ness I like in a relationship and relied too heavily on the curse to make the story seem different. 




    Thea's two children were a lot of fun though. I can imagine them running around all over the place and getting into trouble while trying to stay out of it. They were quite the charmers and their relationship with both Thea and Lyon was very nice. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Pretty Good

    This book kept me interested and I can't wait to read more in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Excellent

    So very exciting story ! I'm will definately be reading the next two books in the trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2