BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Lyra's Oxford

Average Rating 3.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A interesting aside

This short book was an interesting side story to the Golden Compass series. But I found the book a bit disappointing. I enjoyed it but Pullman set high standards with his other books and this one did not quite measure up. If you enjoyed the others, you will enjoy thi...
This short book was an interesting side story to the Golden Compass series. But I found the book a bit disappointing. I enjoyed it but Pullman set high standards with his other books and this one did not quite measure up. If you enjoyed the others, you will enjoy this as well. Recommended for Pullman and Golden Compass fans.

posted by AnnieBM on November 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Just Par. Not great, but not below his other work by any means.

It was a good story, I was expecting more than 30 pages though (most of which were illustrations). It made me want more, but the fairly inconsequential story, the length, and the price make the nook download somewhat of a disappointment. The hard copy would have been ...
It was a good story, I was expecting more than 30 pages though (most of which were illustrations). It made me want more, but the fairly inconsequential story, the length, and the price make the nook download somewhat of a disappointment. The hard copy would have been nice for the extras and the illustrations and such, but since booksellers don't carry much niche anymore (unless it's vampire stuff) this was nowhere around me. Not a bad story, but you'll be happier with the physical copy.

posted by Inward_Jim on May 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Just Par. Not great, but not below his other work by any means.

    It was a good story, I was expecting more than 30 pages though (most of which were illustrations). It made me want more, but the fairly inconsequential story, the length, and the price make the nook download somewhat of a disappointment. The hard copy would have been nice for the extras and the illustrations and such, but since booksellers don't carry much niche anymore (unless it's vampire stuff) this was nowhere around me. Not a bad story, but you'll be happier with the physical copy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A interesting aside

    This short book was an interesting side story to the Golden Compass series. But I found the book a bit disappointing. I enjoyed it but Pullman set high standards with his other books and this one did not quite measure up. If you enjoyed the others, you will enjoy this as well. Recommended for Pullman and Golden Compass fans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Quick read.

    This quick read was not what I expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    What a waste

    Story is like 10-20 pages long with a bunch of random pictures that are not related to the book at all. Does not connect to the past books at all... it's basically one short little adventure that is not much of an adventure and doesnt really tie together. What an absolute waste of money. Very dissapointed in Pullman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A great follow up to some great books

    I only rated it 4 of 5 because it was very short. Philip Pulman is a great author for anyone that has an open mind. It was a nice revisit to Lyra's world and a good mini adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    Terrible Book

    Dont buy it it is a waste of money it is only 31 pages.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    unimpressive

    The writing is great since it's Pullman, but the book itself is very short and unimpressive. I was pretty disappointed when I read this; comparing it with Pullman's other works this is pretty shallow and short-winded. I wouldn't recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    Lukas Yoder

    I thought it was great.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2008

    Lyra's Oxford

    After turning the last page of 'The Amber Spyglass', I could feel myself yearning for more. It's funny, how after finishing an astounding book/series, you feel almost heartsick. At the end, I found that there was a fourth book, called 'Lyra's Oxford.' I was so overjoyed, that I instantly logged onto Barnes & Noble and searched for this fourth book. I am longing to read it!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2005

    Interesting Enough To Keep You Entertained

    This book contains a story, but that's not all. It has SO much more. The Story itself would get 3 stars, but I gave it five because of all the extra info that makes you wonder. 'Will Pullman write more about these characters or will he just leave us all wondering?', that IS the question. Well, I deffinately recommend it to all. I would LOVE to read lots and lots more about both Lyra and Will and all the other characters! Personally I loved HDM trilogy and after the Amber Spyglass was somewhat frustrated becuase it was such a good book and I wanted to know more. Pullman is a phenominal writer and this Trilogy of his is sure to become a classic. I could go on forever telling you about HDM/Lyra's Oxford, but I won't. My point is you should read them ALL, NOW!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2004

    Yippee!!!

    Pullman has done it again. I was enthusiastic when I found out there was another book. I had a fit when I finished THE AMBER SPY GLASS because I didn't know at that minuet there was this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2004

    My favorite series's history revealed!

    I've seriously read HDM 100 times, and I couldn't wait for more information. This book, adn The Book of Dust, promise to appeal to my thirst for more information about Lyra, Will, and Dust.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2003

    Pullman does it again!

    This is an excellent book, I must say it's VERY short, but well worth it. Phillip Pullman can put an adventerous, story into 64 Pages! The map is very cool, and Lyra is the same as she is in The Golden Compass, The Subtle Knife, and The Amber Spyglass;adventerous, and lying as usualy with Pan always by her side! A MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2003

    OMG

    i was so excited about this next book, that last one was so good it made me cry when Will and Lyra parted, i cant wait to read anything about the charcters, even if they arent together, i hope Philip Pullman writes more about these charcters, cause these are like some of my favorite charcters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2003

    This book is great

    this is one of my favorite books its all about lyra and her next adventure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2003

    On the edge again

    I absolutely loved His Dark Materials trilogy by Philip Pullman, and it's kept me wanting more since I finished. This little glimpse into Lyra's world after the final scenes of The Amber Spyglass was a breath of fresh air, as well as a tempting little snipet of hopefully greater things to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2003

    Whats to come

    I have read all of His Dark Materials, and loved this short story about Lyra. It made me think about the nature of the universe... and how the ether between them is formed. I can't wait for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2003

    i love this book

    i love this book it's good yes it's small but that just give him more time to write another one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2003

    Read it, liked it

    of course it gets five stars. I can't help but love PP's imagery, his way with words in describing the flock at the beginning. The story seemed a bit simple for him, but it's still an appetizer o and it's fun to discover the other objects - i'm totally curious to find out why mary malone has a postcard in there! How PP describes in the begininng it gives possibility for her to appear again! It was a good story, easier to appreciate when you've already read His Dark Materials Trilogy. It's still our Lyra though - late for lunches and lying and of course using her witch ability to trick people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2003

    Frustrating

    If it were longer than 64 pages (say, 364 maybe), then I would buy it. But as short as it is, I would finish it in an hour, so I'd be left hungry for more. After finishing The Amber Spyglass, I was desperate to know what Lyra's life was like afterwards, but it's just not long enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4