BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

M Is for Malice (Kinsey Millhone Series #13)

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

M is for Millhone!

I love all of Sue Grafton's books. I particularly love her main character Kinsey. You can relate to her in so many ways and I fall over laughing at some of her quirks. It is very light-hearted, but also very suspenseful at times. You always think you have figured ou...
I love all of Sue Grafton's books. I particularly love her main character Kinsey. You can relate to her in so many ways and I fall over laughing at some of her quirks. It is very light-hearted, but also very suspenseful at times. You always think you have figured out the plot and then.....nope, not even close! Can't wait to get on to N!

posted by 1284994 on April 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not the greatest but....

I've read most of Sue Grafton's books. I'm almost done with 'N' is for Noose. Though I enjoyed reading 'M' is for Malice, it wasn't the greatest of Graftons books. The book is not boring by any means but it's just lacking something.

posted by Anonymous on October 12, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    M is for Millhone!

    I love all of Sue Grafton's books. I particularly love her main character Kinsey. You can relate to her in so many ways and I fall over laughing at some of her quirks. It is very light-hearted, but also very suspenseful at times. You always think you have figured out the plot and then.....nope, not even close! Can't wait to get on to N!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2006

    Spunky Detective Seeks Prodigal Son

    Guy Malek had been a doper, dropout, drunk, habitual liar, hell-raiser, hippy, libertine, rebel, thief--and apparently a heartless swindler. Even his long-suffering father had finally had enough and had kicked him out of the house--never to return. His father had drawn up a new will to disinherit Guy. Many years later, following the father's death, the new will cannot be found. Therefore, Guy is probably heir to one quarter of the forty-million-dollar Malek Construction Company. The three remaining Malek brothers and other interested parties would just as soon that Guy remain lost, but they have a legal obligation to search for him. He seems to have fallen off the face of the Earth. Kinsey Millhone takes on the job of finding Guy Malek. As she searches for Guy, and digs deeper into the seething stew of emotions surrounding him, she discovers many motives for deadly violence and--eventually--deadly violence. It then falls to Kinsey learn what happened before a possibly innocent person is convicted of murder and before murder happens again. The character portrayals (always a Grafton strong point) are better in this novel than anywhere. The novel is well-plotted and the two principal crimes are both logical. There is much clever reasoning and detective work on the part of Kinsey Millhone, and there is much clever writing generally. The writing right before the final few scenes is very good, and holds a reader's attention. The epilogue is also good. Much of the attraction of the Kinsey Millhone books is Kinsey herself--her amusing internal struggles, her professional machinations, her involvement in lovers' discussions and quarrels. There is plenty of this in 'M' is for Malice. One theme of the novel is the familiar Grafton insistence that promiscuity and free love are destructive, especially for women. Another theme is the need for people to finally let go of those who have passed on this is something that Kinsey, for all her fierce independence, finds very hard to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2005

    GOOD STORY LINE AND CHARACTERS

    ANOTHER GREAT SUE GRAFTON BOOK. KEEPS YOU GUESSING TILL THE VERY END. RECOMMENDED FOR SUE FANS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2003

    Good

    One of the top 5. The first one, A is for Alibi is still the best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2001

    Glad I gave Grafton a 2nd Chance

    This is the second book that I read by Sue Grafton. I was disappointed in K is for Killer but M is for Malice was terrific. The plot and characters were never boring. She kept you guessing up until the very end.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2