Customer Reviews for

MAX (Maximum Ride Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1413 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1014)

4 Star

(242)

3 Star

(87)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Better than the 4th?

I loved the Maximum Ride series through the third one. The writing style had changed a bit as the series went on but it wasn't enough to keep me away. When the fourth Maximum Ride book came out I was beyond disappointed and you may or may not understand why. I heard of ...
I loved the Maximum Ride series through the third one. The writing style had changed a bit as the series went on but it wasn't enough to keep me away. When the fourth Maximum Ride book came out I was beyond disappointed and you may or may not understand why. I heard of the fifth one and simply frowned. My friend, that I got into the series, refused to read it unless I approved it for him (he shared my feelings about the fourth book). I'm four chapters into the fifth book and can already tell this is going to be better. The style is back to more like what Patterson was using in the second and third books. If you've been hesitant about picking this one up, I suggest you do, just to give the series another shot. I have a feeling taking the chance will pay off.

posted by 1129111 on March 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

*Sigh*

OK, so this series is going to completely focus on global warming? Is this why the flock was created, to stop pollution? I really enjoyed the first three books in this series, but the last one was a bore. I understand that James Patterson is trying to make young people ...
OK, so this series is going to completely focus on global warming? Is this why the flock was created, to stop pollution? I really enjoyed the first three books in this series, but the last one was a bore. I understand that James Patterson is trying to make young people aware about global warming, but he might as well add the characters from the old cartoon show "Captain Planet" into the books and add the phrase: "THE POWER IS YOURS!"

I highly doubt I will be reading this book when it is released.

posted by WilyKit on December 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1440 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 72
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2009

    Better than the 4th?

    I loved the Maximum Ride series through the third one. The writing style had changed a bit as the series went on but it wasn't enough to keep me away. When the fourth Maximum Ride book came out I was beyond disappointed and you may or may not understand why. I heard of the fifth one and simply frowned. My friend, that I got into the series, refused to read it unless I approved it for him (he shared my feelings about the fourth book). I'm four chapters into the fifth book and can already tell this is going to be better. The style is back to more like what Patterson was using in the second and third books. If you've been hesitant about picking this one up, I suggest you do, just to give the series another shot. I have a feeling taking the chance will pay off.

    29 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    I LUV MAXIMUM RIDE!!!!!!!!!

    oh my god, for anyone out there who likes dramatic, thrilling, romantic, page turning books then maximum ride is deffinately for you! these books are great if you are 12-112! they are awsome! they even knock twilight down on my list of faves! and in case you didnt know twilight is like a top selling book!!! i could not stop reading it! i went to a sleep over and all i wanted to do the whole time was read my book! all day in school it was like read the book read the book! every chance i got i picked it up and started reading! i swear i had a dream about the book too! i mean the rocky relationship between fang and max needs to stop! they need to get together! i hated when fang left with iggy and gazzy in the third book! after i finished reading all the books (which was in 5 days and im not kidding) i was about to cry! cant wait for the next one to come out! hopefully it wont be the last so keep writing patterson!

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2009

    Great Book, Great Adventure

    Maximum Ride the series started the flock being chased by scientists and erasers. Now the flock is helping people to get rid of global warming. MAX has thrill, adventure, and romance.

    The flock takes another step to help rid the world of global warming. Max's mom gets kidnapped and is suspected to be in Hawaii. To save Max's mom the flock must go through Navy training. Fang and Max attempt to have some romantic moments but sometimes things don't happen the way the flock wants it. Not much time can be for romance when a new threat is made to the Earth is made in the form of Mr. Chu.

    The book to me was great. It wasn't as good as the first, but not as bad as the fourth. The surprises made me jump. The romance made me "aww". The action gave me adrenaline rushes. Patterson makes it so if you've never read the series you could still understand. In Maximum Ride I find it interesting that he is male and is writing in a female perspective. I still recommend you read the other books first. I personally thought the book was awesome it took me an hour and a half to read.

    This book is geared to young adults but is great for anyone. Max has to save the world and try to balance a relationship. That's a lot on one bird kid's shoulder. The flock is always there to help her, and give her more problems. With Max's mom being kidnapped she might need some help from more than just the flock. MAX is a book that you start reading and can't stop.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2008

    *Sigh*

    OK, so this series is going to completely focus on global warming? Is this why the flock was created, to stop pollution? I really enjoyed the first three books in this series, but the last one was a bore. I understand that James Patterson is trying to make young people aware about global warming, but he might as well add the characters from the old cartoon show "Captain Planet" into the books and add the phrase: "THE POWER IS YOURS!"<BR/><BR/>I highly doubt I will be reading this book when it is released.

    9 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2009

    Better than the Fourth

    This book was good, definately better than the fourth, but hey seem to be going in a rather juvienille direction. I like Patterson's enviornmental agenda, but it comes as a suprise for anyone that read any of the first three books. The first three were great, ultra suspenseful, funny, light, you name it, they had it. Then the fourth book came out. My first reaction was sheer horror; how could this small, skimpy book be the sequel to my favorite books in the world? Well, to say the least it was dissapointing. But if you didn't like the 4th, like me, don't pass up this book solely for that reason. The plot might be preachy, but the characters are back in full swing and the bad guys, although still rather childish and disapointing, were at least satisfying. Max is still amazing, Total is still every bit as witty, and the kid's powers are still really cool. Read it for the drama, and excitement. Not up to the first three's standards, but stiil a good read. It won't win any awards, and may loose even more devoted MaxRide fans, but it is a good book and if you enjoyed the first three, at least try it.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Eh...

    Before I buy any book, I usually read reviews anywhere and everywhere, and, so it seemed, this appeared like "the best one yet". Now I know not to trust reviews. This one, in my opinion, was not good at all. The "Faxness" was too much, for one thing, actually making me sick at all the swooning romance. JP was trying to please his fans, and that butchered them for me. He started losing his grip after the third one. He needed to focus more on the characters, the story, than his fans.
    I love the Maximum Ride series, have read the manga's, but I think they're all going downhill. Still, the first three are amazing, and I'd recommend them to anyone, just not the fourth and fifth one.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Saving the ocean?

    The Maximum Ride series is easily one of my most favorite series of all time. I've gotten lots of people to read it and they have instantly gotten hooked. The first 3 were of course AMAZING! But the 4th one is where i started to get a little worried. Global warming is important and all but I think James Patterson's original storyline was better. Though MAX sounds like its going to be another save the environment type thing im sure it will still be a great book in an equally amazing series.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    What?! OH MY LORD!! FINALLY!

    Wow. An actual cover!! I'm REALLY hoping that this book turns out better than the 4th one. I have LOVE the Maximum Ride series, but 'The Final Warning' really killed my joy. THIS book seems to have 720 pages. Heck yeah!!! Finally a LONG book!!! Can't wait till it comes out now!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm Confused...

    I love these books!
    My fav charator is Iggie!!!
    anyway...is this the 5 book...
    I think the order is...

    the angel experiment
    schools out-forever
    saving the world and other exterem sports
    the final warning
    max


    um is that the order or is max...not the 5th book...is water wings the 5th book?...? i'm so confused!!!!!!!!!!!!

    can someone help me????

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't Wait!

    The book comes out on monday! These books are the best, read them if you haven't. I hope max and fang get together! And I hope the series won't end.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    FaXxLoVeR!

    Maximum Ride is an awesome book. If you havent read it you NEED to. The book has great short chapters and an great way of originality. I had to read this book for 6th grade(I'm in sixith grade still*__*) and @ the time I HATED to read but just let me say this. After reading Maximum Ride the Angel Experment I LOVED to read. Parents if you want you're childern to read more buy the series. I have increased my reading level vastly. <BR/><BR/>P.S. Any FaX lovers( max and fang 4 ever!) you can go to fanfiction.net to read others and my stories about them and the flock.<BR/><BR/>Hope this helped. Mz. IgGy!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    uhmm...isn't this MAX?

    Max and Water wings has the same story...i mean Mr.Chu? i think this was related to Final Warning which ended on The Protectors series...i'm totally confused. Because Maximum Ride 1-3 are under a different series and Final Warning and Max are under The Protectors series...I'm not really sure but when you got the Final Warning which was larger than the paper back but not the same with hardbound, at the back, it showed The Protectors whatnot. So if anyone can clarify this,please do so.James Patterson's Maximum Ride is good but after 3,it's totally confusing...hmmm...but if this Water Wings is different...well...need to grab a copy!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Umm, well...

    Well, I'm not gonna lie; The 4th book was disappointing in how different from the other books it was. To me, it seemed to focus on more about the Global Warming aspect than it did on the characters and what was going on with them. Everything about that book was different, from the cover design, to the title, down to the length of the book. The 4th book pretty much made me lose all hope. But, now, I see this 5th one is back to a similar cover design as the first three, and from interviews I've watched with James Patterson, my faith has been renewed just a bit. I really desperately hope that one of my favorite series of all time isnt ruined. Please, dont let the fans down!! This one has my attention and I hope it stays that way!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    MAXIMUM RIDE RULES!!!!!

    I can't wait for this book to come out!!!! I am a Maximum Ride fanatic!!! I have read every book and look forward to the realease of each new one!!! I hope this will be as good as the other 4. 720 pages! Finally a long book again!!!!!! That was like the only thing I didn't like about the 4th book. It was too short! I am completely fine with the environmentalist thing for the books. I hope that there are a lot more books in the future and would really like to see Fang and Max's love life take off. Keep on writing!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    Maximum Ride numero 5

    Dont get me wrong, Max is THE girl of the year, not to give her an award or anything. The first three books were amazing, but the 4th took a u-ie. Im not liking where James is goin with the series, especially since I just read the review for the 5th book. I mean really, saving the ocean? He went from global warming to pollution? What is he, an ENVIRONMENTALIST? Sorry James, your a writer, not a science teacher. If I wanted that, i'd actually listen in class or read my science book!!!!!!!! Stick to the original plan. Stop confuzing us!!!!! GOD! P.S. IGGY TOTALLY RULES!!!!!!!!! POWER!! P.S. 2. LOVED THE FIRST 3 THOUGH!!!!!! P.S. 3! WAT THE HECK IS UP WITH MAX AND FANG!!!! COME ON! SERIOUSLY!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2008

    Can't wait to read this....not.

    James Patterson's Maximum Ride series has done nothing but gone down hill after MR2. The only good thing about MR3 was Omega and possibly the director. MR4 was walking propaganda. So please JP, make this book a little less preachy, a little less childish, and a little more....like a good book.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2008

    next book

    ok so the fourth book wasn't that good i have read some of the fifth "Water Wings" and it sounds awesome!I can't wait until it comes out!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Max

    I love the books but i think that jp put to much stuff about the plant . And come on the dog got wings i do not give a crap and i am 11. And i think that there is to much love. I do love the books even that there are things i do not like. Jp keep it up and keep them coming

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Heyyyy...

    People.....read this book you haaaaave to read it!!!!!¿¿¿¿#3#

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Fang here

    Immmmm ccccrrrraaaazzzzzyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy for MAX!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1440 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 72