Customer Reviews for

MAX (Maximum Ride Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1421 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1020)

4 Star

(244)

3 Star

(88)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Better than the 4th?

I loved the Maximum Ride series through the third one. The writing style had changed a bit as the series went on but it wasn't enough to keep me away. When the fourth Maximum Ride book came out I was beyond disappointed and you may or may not understand why. I heard of ...
I loved the Maximum Ride series through the third one. The writing style had changed a bit as the series went on but it wasn't enough to keep me away. When the fourth Maximum Ride book came out I was beyond disappointed and you may or may not understand why. I heard of the fifth one and simply frowned. My friend, that I got into the series, refused to read it unless I approved it for him (he shared my feelings about the fourth book). I'm four chapters into the fifth book and can already tell this is going to be better. The style is back to more like what Patterson was using in the second and third books. If you've been hesitant about picking this one up, I suggest you do, just to give the series another shot. I have a feeling taking the chance will pay off.

posted by 1129111 on March 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

*Sigh*

OK, so this series is going to completely focus on global warming? Is this why the flock was created, to stop pollution? I really enjoyed the first three books in this series, but the last one was a bore. I understand that James Patterson is trying to make young people ...
OK, so this series is going to completely focus on global warming? Is this why the flock was created, to stop pollution? I really enjoyed the first three books in this series, but the last one was a bore. I understand that James Patterson is trying to make young people aware about global warming, but he might as well add the characters from the old cartoon show "Captain Planet" into the books and add the phrase: "THE POWER IS YOURS!"

I highly doubt I will be reading this book when it is released.

posted by WilyKit on December 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 244 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Anonomous

    Honestly? I love the series. But could james please cut it out with the pollution crisis? I know the world is in danger, and whatnot. But seriously?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Book

    I read this book in class today

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Great read!

    As with all the books in the series, I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Good,good

    It was good, but i liked the first 4 books better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    Read the whole series

    This one is okay but the others are fantastic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    better than the fourth; full of fax

    For starters, 10 times better than the 4th book. Sure, there's tons of talk about pollution, but it's not as bad as the global warming thing and their was definately somee good action. And if your a fax fan: THIS IS FOR YOU! In a better direction for the series, and a good read :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    great book

    this book is really good. at times its a little.confusimg but most ofit is well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    good 5th book

    Though the plotline advances more slowly than other Maximum Ride installments, it is not a bad buy. James Patterson really developed characters such as Fang and Nudge, characters whose identities may have been cloudy or unexplained in earlier books. If you enjoyed The Final Warning, you will enjoy MAX.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    Good, But The Ending Could Have Been Better

    Max by James Patterson was good, but a little disapointing. I was impressed by the emotion, and how they were showing how creepy Angel is getting, but I was disapointed by a few of the fight scenes and by the way they finally got Max's mom back. But on the bright side, I LOVE FANG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This book was another good book in the Maximum Ride Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    MAXIMUM AMAZEMENT

    I started reading this series when i in highschool. The flock is simply amazing to read about. I am happy to see that MAX and Fang are becoming closer and more affectionate. AS usual i could not put this book down and look forward to reading the next one..when its in paperback ofcourse :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Lots of action!!

    This book was great. It had everything action, comedey, even romance. This trying tale has edge that always keeps you wanting to turn the next page and find out what happens next. I truly enjoyed this whole series and this book was a great addition to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty Good

    This was not my favorite book in the series but it was still pretty good. The characters are sooo funny, they make the book really really entertaining. I would recommend this book. Can't wait for FANG!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Water wings IS the same thing as Max..

    I know the everyone is confused over the Water Wings vs. Max thing. Well there is no book called Water Wings...I'm not positive but I think that James Patterson ORIGINALLY named the book "Max" "Water Wings." Either way it is the same thing, same book..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    The fifth book: I've read better.

    I felt as if the first three books were better than the fourth and fifth because it seems as though James Patterson is trying to advertise an awareness for global issues. The first three books, however, had other genetically enhanced beings constantly chasing after Max and her flock. That was much more action-packed and exciting, creating an instant page-turner. In my opinion, reading about the flock fighting off a new enemy every couple of chapters was much more interesting than having them sit in chairs learning about things like Global Warming and pollution. All-in-all, the fifth book was so-so, but I recommend reading it just to see how the flock has grown, especially Max and Fang.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Max: Mutant freak or World Saver?

    If you have read the previous four Maximum Ride books you will have noticed something. The first three [labeled The Fugitives] were all about the flock running and trying to escape. The fourth and this one [known as the Protectors] are about Global Warming and saving the Planet.

    While the first three books were AMAZING, many fans, including myself, felt that James Patterson dropped the ball on the fourth one. Not only was it alot shorter, it was also rushed and boring. None of the usual action and suspense was in it.

    I am happy to say that is NOT the case with the fifth one. JP is back and he is rolling. The 5th book still deals with Global Warming [Um.. clue much? This part of the series is called "The Protectors". I think we all can figure out why]. There really is no major plot development, but there are some good humor sections that can only be found in JP's books. One of my favorite parts was when the flock was kidnapped and tried to feed birdfood. I won't give much away for those who haven't read it yet though =D

    Although MAX is still on the topic of Global Warming, I encourage all readers to give JP one more chance if you were really frustrated with how the fourth book came out.

    ALSO: Max and Water Wings are the same book. It was originally going to be called Water Wings but was changed to Max. Alot of readers seemed to be confused over this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    WOW..... !!!!!!!

    GREAT GREAT! i loved it! it was so awesomely epic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    MAX a maximum ride story

    I really liked this book, though i thought the series should have ended at Saving the World and Other Extreme Sports. The plot is interesting but slightly redundant; you have met many of the characters before and it is slightly predictable. On a happier note Max is laugh out loud funny and you will definitely appreciate James Patterson's humor. If you have read and liked all of the Maximum Ride stories you will enjoy this one... if not it will seem extremely far-fetched and ridiculous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    Max Does Ride High Again

    Great Series and this one did not disappoint

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    from air to sea

    iv read all the maximum ride books and im telling u its a thrill worth reading not only that u got some romance thrown in there with the punching and kicking over all good book and would recomend to all ages yung and old

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2009

    Overall a Descent Book

    Overall, I thought that this was definitely another page-turner of James Patterson (no surprise), but a little concerned that James Patterson is focusing a little too much on global warming. This and the story line are getting pretty predictable. Also, this series is getting a little "corny".
    James Patterson is AWESOME, and one of my favorite authors, but does he plan on getting us encouraged on helping the environment? Like seriously, I think that some story lines for the future should maybe include like a nuclear war, or a deadly, contagious gas, or SOMETHING! His story lines just need a little bit more of a threat or something...
    Also as I mentioned, the story line is getting a little to predictable. How about making a big cliffhanger at the end of your next book or something! Anything that we're not expecting! For example, when her mom gets kidnapped, WE ALL KNOW MAXIMUM IS GOING TO GET HER BACK, WITH SOME ACTION AND DRAMA IN BETWEEN!
    To top it off, I'm getting worried that the rest of this series is going to continue getting "corny". For example, I'm getting tired of the flying dog with wings that can talk. If you told someone who has never read a Maximum Ride book, that one of the characters in the book is a talking dog with wings, it's not going to appeal to them as a science fiction novel or whatever it is. It's going to appeal more like a children's book. If I were James Patterson, I would some how get ride of Total...
    Well, that's my review, remember, these are not necessarily complaints, they're just suggestions on what I think would make the books better. James Patterson is still one of my favorite authors...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 244 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 13