Customer Reviews for

MTV Unplugged No. 2.0

Average Rating 4.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    She knows what she's talking about

    Through Miss Hill shines this beautifully convicting album. The magnitude of her message in incredible. Her honesty ranges from intensely astonishing to comforting on the basis of one being able to relate to what she's saying. It would be very dificult to not resepect the art contained in this album as well as the real matters of the heart she presents. Anyone with eyes to see or ears to hear will find this album a necessary addition and a comfort. It's the album where you make a cup of something, sit down and just listen to the direct performance only Lauren is capable of giving. Truly a remarkable album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    OH Miss Lauryn Hill

    Such a real artist. I just love Lauryn Hill. She is so unique in talent.A real strong voice, you don't hear those much anymore. It's scandalous that young sibling sisters out there who can't sing are so publicized.Hint, one is blond and one has her hair died black. Can't help but to cry when you hear Lauryn Hill she brings out such reality and you say, "hey there's someone who can sing it"!Just Beautiful! Buy the album

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lauryn......A true truth teller!

    There are those who profess to be honest and those who truly are. Lauryn is the truth! She personifies it! A testiment to what she has expierenced in her life and she has laid it out for the world to hear,and I am glad that she did. I have learned from her and have been 'sharing' my 'special gifts' to those around me. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this album to all in the world to hear. It will make you take a look at what we are all doing to eachother whether we are aware of it or not.We gotta get out of ALL these boxes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Deep--Emotional--Real

    Lauryn: You touched my soul and improved my being;helped in guiding me to make certain decisions....Thanks...Gracias...Merci...Prego Olga

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Artistic, Intellectual, and Spiritual Genius

    The lyrics on this album were so good that it raised my standards for what I should expect from a great singer/songwriter. Her metaphoric and intellectual Christian messages helped me to organize some of the thoughts that have been floating around in my head for years. Furthermore, her social critiques were precise and powerful. When I first bought the album I could only listen to it a track at a time. It is so rich with insight that to rush through seemed an insult to her genius. The music is melodically simple, but passionately pleasing. Even though her voice is rhaspy, it seems to add to her soulfulness and the overall reality of the product. These songs are not meant to be commercially or musically impressive, they are meant to be prophetic works of art. This seperates them from the regurgitated trash that most of the artists on the major labels try to pass off as original. Buy this, its worth its weight in gold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    musical fellowship

    I listened to this CD at a listening station at Virgin and was immediately drawn to the acoustic guitar and the voice that is a more exposed version of her previously established distinct sound. Months later I finally purchased it. I needed to hear something honest and something I could relate to - Lauryn's Unplugged CD is both... and more. The more you listen to the CD the more apparent it becomes that she is on a spiritual journey seeking the Truth (there is only one) which I find to be the ultimate pursuit in art and life. As a christian, I felt that her words were geared towards reconnecting with God through Jesus Christ. That was what I got from it. I found the album a rare gem not only because it provides a front row seat to a life in transition but also the honesty, the care, and intentional outreach to listeners. A blessing - I pray this will inspire others to do the same type of honest reflection. "rebel....while today is still today, choose well"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    LOVED IT

    I THINK THAT THIS ALBUM FROM HER TRULLY SHOWS HER RAW TALENT AND, DEDICATION TO MUSIC.... I HAVE LOVE HER SINCE FUGEES NOW SHE HAS MADE ME HAVE A DIFFERENT TYPE OF RESPECT FOR HER

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An inspired listener from the Midwest-Wisconsin

    Laurn Hill's performance on this album is breathtaking. She is allowing God to use her in a way that is definantly needed. There are so many young people who are allowing themselves to be put in a "box". Conforming to things to portray an image that is really not them and in the process, they loose themselves. God made all of us different and as long as our intentions are good, our differences should be acceptable. Lauryn brilliantly displays this and since I've purchased this CD, I've started my work day out with it every morning. I also allow my children who are 9 and 5 to listen to it so that her lyric's meaning can saturate their little minds and when they feel themselves "living in a box", God can vomit up the memories of Lauryn's lyrics and at that moment they can relive this CD's emotions. I pray that Lauryn continues to allow God to use her because she's bringing out truth and we are in dire need of it. This CD inspires me and encourages me to go forward with God's plans for me which is to continue being the good-hearted person I am dispite of what people have done to me or will try to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    just want lauryn around!!!!!!!

    lauryn is a true artist who explores all the subjects that we are too afraid to talk about.what amazes me is fearelessness to take on any challenge.no other artist has ventured out against the norm to create a live album with all new songs performed with a tired voice,no other artist could ever dream of doing this!!! Lauryn is inspirational and i cant wait for an in-studio album.PIWE SOUTH AFRICA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lauryn Hill

    Lauryn id da BOM!!!! in this one. I first heard of Lauryn Hill in Sister Act 2 and absolutely loved her voice. So I heard small clips of this c.d. and loved it. Lauryn is a very good and talented person and singer. She gives a even greater c.d.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Unplugged: Lauryn Hill is Profound!

    Everybody's in a ''box!'' What Lauryn has done is ''DARED'' to resist the establishment, and now ''the majority'' is so confused. They complain ''her voice this...'' and ''her accompaniment that...'' --yada, yada, yada! At the end of the day (and I'll bet the farm on this one--yours and mine) Lauryn Hill will emerge with ''the victory'' like the ''Conquering Lion she is!'' I can only imagine how her critics will ''frame'' that. Unplugged No. 2.0 --Lauryn Hill is ''tight and girlfriend can just sing!'' (1)The lyrics in all of the songs are just sheer genius and truth: ''when the son of perdition is commander in chief, the standard is thief'' Ouch! In another song, she says ''what a paradox, having God trapped in a box, all this time professing to be spiritual.'' HEY! (2) The melodies Lauryn finds on that guitar are just soul stirring!! When she plays the first chunk of I Get Out, she comes back so seamlessly and powerful, the audience is mesmerized to the point that they just spontaneously break out in applause! (3)When you watch the video, you can actually see the audience ''feeling'' the chords and the words! (4) And ''raspy''? Raspy is an ASSET in Lauryn Hill!! Raspy makes Lauryn Unique and Heartfelt. (5)And finally, the interludes, they are FUNNY and INSTRUCTIONAL and REFLECTIVE and HAPPY. Lauryn says in one ''the media says I'm crazy and deranged. . . so, when I do these songs I might twitch a little cause when people think you're crazy and deranged they will leave you alone. Now I have so much peace! So as far as yall know, I'm crazy and deranged . . that's my story and I'm sticking to it!'' The interludes connect Lauryn one-on-one to her fans. This CD without question 5STAR.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    You're a genius, Lauryn!

    I love this album. The songs, the way she sings, the way she plays her acoustic guitar. And the way she talks. For example the endlessly beautiful ''Oh Jerusalem''. Thanks, Lauryn, thanks, thanks, thanks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A life changing experience.

    I can not stress the importance of this album enough. Lauryn Hill has opened my eyes to some very relevant issues in my life. I highly reccomend that you purchase this album, not only because of the messages Lauryn is giving, but also to hear some really beautiful, raw sounding music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    HER GUITAR AND HER VOICE: SHE DOESN'T NEED MORE

    First let me tell I'm an Italian Lauryn Hill's fan since when she was the youngest rap singer in the Fugees (Refugee Camp). With this double CD live album, Lauryn showed us (if there was the need) her incredible romantic voice. I bought the India Arie's album cause I was looking (after so many years) for something similar to Lauryn's voice. I tried to find but NOTHING. Jill Scott, N'Dea Davenport, India Arie...nice soul and R&B voices but they're not Lauryn! She's definitely the queen of the R&B! A little critic, but maybe it's only my own CD, is that CD2 is recoreded to a less high volume than the 1st. Anyway it's quite a great album, right for those rainy days, or those days to spend in front of a fire both at home or on a beach. I heard and heard and heard again and again her solo album ''The Miseducation Of Lauryn Hill'' and i think I've tested the real capability of optical CD to last during the time...my poor CD really welcomed the new release from MTV, now it can ''take a breath''. Listen the guitar and let it bring you over waves of real music directly from her soul through your heart. Listen to her voice and you'll find yourself flying on the wings of freedom and rights. Definitely a Great Album that everyone who loves R&B must have in his own discography. Welcome back Lauryn and hope to see your new album soon!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Give it up, give it up!!!!

    This is not an album, it is a work of art. I am so moved by the words, not the beat or the hook, but the words. This music, if it can be labeled as such, is pure. I have tried to explain the premise to my friends, but come up speechless. How do you describe a look into someone's soul????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing

    Don't listen to what those critics have to say about this album. All they're looking for is some commericialized artist and can't appreciate true talent. Lauryn has obviously gone through some profound changes and it shows on this album. Her voice is unreal, even better than when she was in the stuio. The album is amazing and is wonderful to just sit back and relax to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing

    Lauryn Hill is truly amazing, and this acoustic abulm proves it. Has anyone been able to download the song ''Selah''? It was in the movie ''Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood'' and I can't seem to find it anywhere that will allow me to download it. It's an amazing song, if anyone has any suggestions please tell me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    laide onikoyi i love lauryns lyrics as well as her

    i love the lyrics and she is so deep i can cry when i look at her i juss love her and would do anything for her i love u lauryn i love yah i heard a snippet of her song and recorded it than wrote down the lyrics by pressin stop and play and got the lyrics then i read oit and tryied to understand she has juss been an inspiration and like i tell ppl evryone is not for lauryn hill but lauryn is for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Guess Who's Back, Back Again?

    Lauryn's definitely back. I bought this CD thinking it would be a great as ''The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill'', but I was wrong. It's so much better. I seriously felt like I was in church, except I actually stayed awake for the whole sermon. Her emotions are so raw and so real, that I couldn't help but cry with her at the end of her first CD. Anyone can be a performer with the lights, the back up singers, and flashy clothes, but no one can be a Lauryn Hill. She is definitely in a league of her own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Heart-felt album will inspire America

    Lauryn is a very talented musician, but when she combines her talent with everything she has within her, the music comes out as breathtaking. She definitely uses her music to get her point across, and has no difficulty doing so. Through her music she preaches of being thruthful, honest, and real; she preaches of getting free. She is doing what God has called her to do, and she encourages us to do the same instead of pursuing money(''paper-chasing, what are we working for?'').The entire album is as honest, truthful, and of course ''reality.'' Peace of mind is the most beautiful song I've ever heard, and I burst into tears with her at the end of the song.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3