Customer Reviews for

My Most Excellent Year: A Novel of Love, Mary Poppins, and Fenway Park

Average Rating 5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    My Most Excellent Year - An Excellent Book

    The book is told in three-way narration, by three high schoolers: the sexy and confident Alejandra/Alé, charming and humble baseball fanatic Anthony/T.C., and his best friend, the devoted, talented, Augie. All have first loves and crushes along the way - T.C. and Alé, Alé and T.C., and Augie and Andy Wexler. All have trouble getting to their high school happy ending, but that's what the book is about. Each character is extremely lovable, Alé with her sheer wit and secret star-quality dancing, T.C. with his big heart and care for others, and Augie with his utter goofiness and love of the arts. I also really like the writing style and the fondness one begins to feel for each character. Although the characters are younger than I am - freshmen, I forgot to care. The major themes were to be true to yourself, that families are made up of all kinds of people, and to never give up on friends or well, life in general. Relating to myself, the characters are all young adults, what's not to relate to? The embarrassing parents, the crushes, the stress, the hard work, the rewards. it's all there. I also related to each character's journey to find themselves, simply by living life. I highly recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2008

    Loved it!

    As a bookseller at a B&N retail store, I'm was surprised that I actually came across this book at an independent bookstore. I ordered it into our store and many of us there are reading it and loving it!! The characters are charming and the tone of family, love and acceptance really touched my heart.<BR/>Lisa - bookseller in Carmel, IN<BR/><BR/>I also loved:<BR/>The Color of Water by James McBride<BR/>Water For Elephants by Sara Gruen<BR/>Prisoner of Tehran by Marina Nemat

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Title: My Most Excellent Year Author: Steve Kluger Genre: YA f

    Title: My Most Excellent Year

    Author: Steve Kluger

    Genre: YA fiction

    Review: This wonderful and inspiring novel is told from the point of view of three main characters: TC, Augie and Alejandra
     (also known as Alé, not Allie).  Each character have their very own and unique personality. TC is a true Bostonian baseball
    fanatic who just can't seem to stay out of trouble. For Augie, it's all about the drama--the world is the stage and he is the main actor.  
    And Alé is something else altogether--there is no other way to describe her (I mean really,  she has her own Secret Service agent!).  

    The novel is set in motion when TC leaves a note for Alé (calling her Allie, much to her  
      annoyance). TC and Augie, who had been friends since forever, strike up an unlikely friend-
    ship with her. Well, kind of a &quot;friendship&quot;. TC is falling pretty hard for Alé. Alé for TC? Not so much.
    Through numerous, humorous schemes TC comes up with to garner Alé's interest in him, the trio eventually develop an unlikely bond.

    I think it's worth mentioning this novel isn't set up the same way a typical novel is.  The mass majority of the story is told through
    IM's, emails, diary entries and whatnots.  However, the author does an excellent job merging all these forms of story telling into one masterpiece.

     This book made me laugh, it made me cry and it made me appreciate all the &quot;little&quot; things in life.  A must-read!

    Likes:
     *characters--very in depth and dynamic
                         * humor--tons and tons of &quot;teenage humor&quot;
                         *novel set up--I loved how the author used a variety of writing formats to tell the   story

     Dislikes:
                         *I felt the beginning was just a little bit confusing to read--but I got over it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    In my Top Five

    I love this book. It is cleverly written and tells a great story. It's one of my all time favorite books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    This is one of my favorite books EVER

    Great for the old and young alike. A must read. Thoroughly enjoyable, with tears and laughter along the way. A book you won't forget.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    Awesome book

    I loved his book. I thought it was a little lengthy switching between three people but it was a wonderful story about two "brothers" each falling in love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    Really good book!

    My Most Excellent Year by: Steve Kluger is an amazingly written, extremely entertaining, adorable, fun read for teens. It is the story of three high schoolers and their changes in friendships throughout the book. The characters are Alejandra a sassy, confident, beautiful girl, T.C./ Anthony, a funny, humble, baseball loving boy, and his best friend Augie, a goofy, loyal, gay boy. These characters are extremely relatable and interesting. The book is about T.C.'s love from Alejandra and him trying to get her to like him and Alejandra secretly falling for him too but not admitting it. Also it follows Augie's relationship with a boy named Andy Wexler. Somewhere in the middle of it all T.C. makes friends with a deaf eight year-old boy. It is so fun to get to know each character and watch as they connect and grow throughout high school. I recommend this book to teens or anyone looking for a fun, easy read. Reviewed by: Grace E.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2010

    A must pick up book to read

    Three lives, one excellent year. Three teens enter their freshmen year in high school. Where they fellow their paths becoming who they really are. On a 1 through 10 scale, I gave this book 10!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    love it!!!!!!!

    i absolutely fell in love with the characters. They are all so funny with each other and the book is very well written its self.
    definately a must read for anyone out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!!!!! So good - Nice to See an author write that's not so well-known and produce a really excellent novel!

    Steve Kluger - never heard of him before I saw this book - is one amazing author. I am forever reading not-so-well-known books and loving them just as much as a Sarah Dessen or Meg Cabot novel. This one really rocked. And I'm not just saying it because I am a Broadway/Red Sox fan.
    Usually when books are written with more than one point of view, there are two people sharing their thoughts. However, in this novel, Steve Kluger told the very different stories of three unique teenagers, secretly longing to find themselves in a world full of the same personality types.

    It is a very fast read: there are prints of flyers and posters and letters inside on the pages, which makes it more enjoyable and different from all other Young Adult reads. So cute. And if you're a Yankees fan - you'll like it too. I promise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Okay!

    Okay, the first thing you should know about MY MOST EXCELLENT YEAR is that it is utterly ridiculous. But wait! Luckily, this is a good ridicule: the characters especially are amazingly--well, if not real, then likeable. You really shouldn't start it unless you've got time to read at least most of it, because one thing you can say about this novel is that it is not only LONG (for some people, but not me--I read Atlas Shrugged in 8 days), but extremely addictive. A happy ending (well mostly--**spoilers**what the hell was that business w/Augie and Andy? I didn't get it.) wraps this mostly epistolary novel up, so if that's your thing, go for it. Five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    The Best Book In The WORLD

    My Most Excellent Year is a very very very very very very funny book. It shoes how kids grow and what challenges they face going through highschool. One character named TC has a crush on a girl in his school but the girl is very hesitant to dating TC. Another character named Augie discovers he is gay. It is hard for him because he has to hide it and eplains the toubles he faces going through school. He eventualy gets a boyfriend but the boyfriend hasn't quiet figured everything out. My Most Excellent Year is a very funny book that shoul be read by everybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2009

    As usual - excellent transportation to another world...

    Mr. Kluger's books are ones I have come to be on edge and impatient in anticipation of the next one. His sense of humor and uncanny ability to make his characters real and relatable - alive and funny and a true page turner, then sad when you have figured there's no more to read...until next time?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2