Customer Reviews for

Mythology

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 10, 2013

    I'm so glad I read this!

    Hope has been tested on more levels than anyone should ever be but instead of letting it win, she remained strong and became even stronger. Then there's the new boy in school.. The blonde hottie that is afraid to let anyone close to him (Micah)... well its the girl sees boy, boy sees girl and crash lol literally.. Can't forget Jonathan he has his swoon moments too..He becomes a friend and a very important part of the trio...Can't forget Troy!! Micah best bud... He is a true friend from the beginning of their friendship and never falters!..He could care less about the new info on Micah because all he sees is Micah, It never changes their friendship.. and that right there totally rocks! !! .There is also epic fighting going on! Internal demons (no pun intended) and external bad guys... The OMG heart stopping can't breathe moments that literally had me clutching the book and holding my breath until I got to the outcome of those moments...Do you believe in fate? I can't wait for their next adventure

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    What I loved: I really enjoyed this. It's unlike any other mytho

    What I loved:
    I really enjoyed this. It's unlike any other mythology inspired book I've read because it takes into account free will in addition to the good and evil that resides in all of us. The detailed world building makes you feel as if you've just stepped into the story and Hope and Micah are both strong, well developed characters. They both have interesting abilities that when combined, add an extra level of uniqueness to the storyline. I'm really looking forward to seeing where their journey takes them next!

    I usually like my book boys tall, dark and snarkilicious but occasionally a blond will sneak in. *coughs* Micah *coughs* ;D

    What left me wanting: More Micah please. *bats eyelashes*

    Final verdict: Refreshing and unique take on not just mythology but also how we view good and evil.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2012

    Title: Mythology Author: Helen Boswell Genre: Young Adult Par

    Title: Mythology

    Author: Helen Boswell

    Genre: Young Adult Paranormal

    Grade/Rating” 5 out of 5

    This book was purchased by me, the reader, and I thought I would go ahead and review it since it was such a good read!

    Synopsis

    Hope Gentry doesn’t believe in Fate. Born with an unusual power to see the dark memories of those around her, Hope just wants to be a normal teenager. But on the first day of her senior year of high school, she finds herself irresistibly drawn to a transfer student named Micah Condie. At first glance, Micah seems like a boy that most girls would dream about. But when Hope’s powers allow her to discover Micah’s darkest secret, she quickly becomes entangled in the lives of mythical entities she never dreamed existed. Was this her destiny all along? And will her powers help her survive the evil of the Demon Impiorum?

    Mythology isn’t just for English class anymore.

    I found myself so endeared to the character of Hope Gentry. She was one of those characters you empathize with right away. She doesn’t have many friends. But the few friends she has, she will risk everything for. She is loyal to a fault and loves unconditionally. What more can you ask in a lead character? A sweet, entrancing secondary male character maybe? Well, this author delivers, and the relationship between the two is quite tangible. Even as I sat reading this book in the real world, I could feel the pull that Micah Condie, blue-eyed blonde hair hottie, has on Hope. She’s an average girl. The no make-up, dress in T-shirts and jeans, kind of girl. Her basic wardrobe are concert T-shirts. *Jealous*.

    As a reader, I really connected with her character. She’s never had any real boyfriends and she’s got some outrageously, wicked powers. So why on earth would this extremely gorgeous boy want anything to do with her, she wonders? And that was when I was really hooked. Because the way the author patiently explains, how their relationship builds.

    “You’re Hope, right? I’m Micah. We have homeroom together.” “Oh,” I say. He bothered to pay attention to my name during roll call. Just as I paid attention to his. And apparently, my shock over this fact is making me incapable of saying anything more than a single syllable at a time.

    Hope is used to being ignored by boys, and doesn’t seem to know how to act or react when Micah has taken notice. As an adult way far removed from high school, (I shall not bother to tell how far removed) the author was able to transfer me back to when I was in high school. I remember how uncomfortable I became when talking with the more popular boys, how awkward I felt. The author took me back to those feelings; and that folks, makes for great writing.

    He has to be over six feet tall. And he stands out in ways other than just his height. Like with long lashes framing the bluest eyes I’ve ever seen. And a mouth that’s strong but with lips just full enough to be called sensual. His blonde hair is not quite chin-length and messy, like he just got out of bed.

    The world they live in has many secrets. You have the real world that the average senior in high school endures, full of homework, irritating teachers, and parties. Then there is the world within this world, full of secrets, and danger and death. There are lines between good and evil and sometimes they must cross. Other times they mesh. And what others may find evil can be completely opposite. Hope has special powers and has no idea what to do with them. She is completely unaware of how unique she is. But with the help of Micah and several other characters in the story, she will learn.

    I would be remiss if I failed to mention my favorite character, Jonathan. What can I say about Jonathan? Well, I won’t. You’ll just have to read about him. But he is a beautiful character and I can only hope that the author will one day expand on his story, because I bet Jonathan’s got a great one to tell. But I will quote this…

    He’s wearing all black – a black suit with simple, elegant lines, a black dress shirt, black shoes. He has dark eyes, a dark complexion, jet-black hair. I wonder if he dyed it to match his suit. ~Rosette from Literati Literature Lovers

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2012

    Hidden Messages

    So I know I’ve said it before but I will say it again….I absolutely love finding new authors to read! First with David James’ Light of the Moon, to now…Helen Boswell’s Mythology…serious LOVE! I’ve always been drawn to fantasy or mythology; it’s something that’s in my blood I think. It fascinates me on all the ways it can be interpreted depending on the person who’s doing the telling. Helen had my attention from the first page. I got completely immersed in her world of Guardians, Demons, and Soul-seers that I’m still thinking about it.

    I love Hope. She’s had a complex life, living with her older brother after her parents died, being able to see colors and visions would turn any normal person insane. Lucky for Hope, she’s not normal. Hope thought she could see a person’s aura, but finds out later on that it’s the soul that she actually sees. One of the things I love about Helen, is the way she develops her characters. Hope is different; you don’t see her complain and takes things in stride. She’s into art and goes to a gallery to check it out, almost gets shot, and runs into her first guardian. On top of that school starts back on Monday. Usually not a big deal since Hope has managed to tune out the colors and visions of the people she’s been around a lot, but this year students from another high school will be going to hers. Their high school was destroyed, so Hope is dreading the day because new people mean new colors and visions, not fun until Micah walks his way into her home room and she gets absolutely nothing from him. I have to say I wish I had an English class like Hope had. I would have loved the class and paid attention something fierce. Hope is getting along great until she runs into, literally speaking, Micah. Something’s different about him, she just doesn’t know what exactly.

    Micah knows there’s something different about him, but he’s not sure what it is. When something happens to his adopted mother that’s his fault, his father kicks him out. Staying on his own and starting a new school would seem perfect for any typical guy right? Well Micah isn’t like other guys. He has something inside him, something that’s evil. So you’re probably wondering what right? Well to find out for sure you’re going to have to read the book, trust me you probably know already! So Micah offers Hope a ride and ends up “kidnapping” her to hang out with his friends and then to a park. You can feel their attraction immediately and when he brings her home from his kidnapping its solidified.

    I don’t want to give away anything. This is one of those books where you have to read it. Micah and Hope’s relationship isn’t going to be easy. There’s going to be a few people warning her and telling Micah to stay away. A demon will be after Hope once he realizes she’s something more. Guardians make themselves known. It’s quite possible that an unusual alliance is formed because of Hope. She’s human but with the ability to see and defeat demons. So why couldn’t a human, demon, and guardian work together? Maybe it takes a little faith? Maybe the message here is something more than good vs evil? That is solely up to what you as the reader takes away from this magnificent story. Helen Bowell was able to captivate my attention with Hope’s abilities, have me fall in love with Micah because of his amazing strength, and leave me wanting more with the mythological possibilities of guardians and demons. What will you decide? Go buy the book now!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I read this book after hearing about how great it was over and o

    I read this book after hearing about how great it was over and over from my friend Laura. She luuurved it and Micah especially. I was a little hesitant, and I really have no idea why. I’m glad she talked me into it.
    Hope really does have some issues. Poor girl. She can see things that other people really don’t want to be seen. Ugly things. Things that no one else should see. Ever. Because she can see their secrets, it keeps her from having relationships with other people. I imagine it would get pretty lonely. She has her brother that she can rely on, but that’s hardly having a real life.
    When she first meets Jonathan, I knew something was up with him, but I wasn’t sure what. He seemed a little off, but I couldn’t quite figure out where he fit into everything. I, personally, really liked his character. I liked his snarkiness, and his overall character. He entertained me.
    Micah enters the picture and things change. To me he seemed almost embarrassed that he was different from other people. He may not have understood what he was exactly, but he still seemed apologetic. I assume it’s because he was afraid of what he was becoming, and understandably so. It didn’t seem like he was becoming anything good. He was growing into something potentially awful. I liked that his family was involved in the story.
    I really liked the dynamic between all of the characters. They all seemed to blend in well with each other in each role they played. They each had their place and filled out their characters in a pretty good way. I wish there had been a little more story behind Jonathan, but it really wasn’t his story, so I’ll get over it.
    Micah was such an emotional character for me, that I really felt sorry for him. He had no idea what was going on with himself, and that has got to be a scary thing to think you may have such negative potential. He could very easy go down the wrong path. That’s where I think Hope’s role comes into play. She makes him want to be good. She gives him that unconditional love that we all want. She gives him HOPE that he can overcome the darkness and live in the light.
    Overall, this was a good book. I enjoyed it. I liked the storyline and characters. Helen Boswell did a great job of creating a world that was similar enough to ours that I could see it as my own. The action scenes where good, as were the lovey dovey scenes. It was a pretty well rounded book, and I definitely recommend it as a good way to pass a rainy weekend or just because. I look forward to reading more of Boswell’s books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Best book

    Love this book nice love,tragedy,bravery,secretive,and passionnate twists!!!!!!
    Simsim

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great!

    I thought this was a great book. I liked the characters. Hope was this plain girl that had special skills that she had to learn to control. I liked her because she didn't feel the need to hide everything (which frustrates me with other heroines). When someone needed to know something she didn't hold back, she told them what they needed to know. There was two gorgeous guys....don't fret there is no love triangle! Micah is the bad boy. Well not in the 'I do what I want bad boy' but in bad boy genetics sense. This is where we would use the term 'don't judge a book by it's cover' because he's not anything like he's supposed to be. Then there is Jonathan. He was great, he was just so cool and calm.

    There was always something going on to keep my interest. From the evil guys to finding out more about the world Hope is thrown into. The only thing I wished the author did was separate the paragraphs more when there is a time difference with the characters. Either by hitting the enter button a few times or this: ** Otherwise it was a great book to read and I think others will enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    Mythology by Helen Boswell I loved reading about myths and rete

    Mythology by Helen Boswell

    I loved reading about myths and retelling of myths since Percy Jackson. Although this book didn't involve the Greek kind of myths, it included demon kinds. And demon kinds always have some hot, sexy romance in it. ;D








    The cover makes the main character, Hope, look like a kid. Just from the cover, I thought this would be a Middle School read. The fact that it isn't makes it better though. ;) 




    Hope isn't just your normal girl. She can one's emotions like an outline of someone. Colors means different emotions. But one day, she meets someone with a black emotion and someone who she couldn't see any emotion at all. Then, everything starts to complicate. And everything went from calm to frantic to ohmergerd, I'm gonna die frantic. 




    Soon, Hope learns that the guy who keeps on catching her attention, Micah isn't just any guy. And that complicates any romantic relationship Hope wants to have with him.




    What I like about this book is the sexiness of Micah. Hehe and how Ms. Helen can a book about demons into such a perfect read. 




    I give this book an 8! ;D 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Looks good

    Exciting to read ! Want to be nook friends? Anyone?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1