Customer Reviews for

Mac OS X Snow Leopard: The Missing Manual: The Missing Manual

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Must-Have Reference

There are two things I always look forward to related to my Macs: Apple's consistently innovative OS improvements with an upgrade or new version, and David Pogue's "Missing Manual." I have relied on the Missing Manual series as my primary reference with each new version...
There are two things I always look forward to related to my Macs: Apple's consistently innovative OS improvements with an upgrade or new version, and David Pogue's "Missing Manual." I have relied on the Missing Manual series as my primary reference with each new version of the OS and always easily find the answers to any question that comes up, whether simple or complex. I enjoy Poque's style of writing, his clarity and his humor.

Buy the book! You won't be disappointed.

posted by MacSolved on December 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great and Simple Guide

This book is excellent. Easy to understand and comprehend. Being a new mac user I found it very helpful in helping me understand how Mac works and how to complete different tasks and change certain settings. A must have for every Mac user new or current.

posted by dsomic on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    Must-Have Reference

    There are two things I always look forward to related to my Macs: Apple's consistently innovative OS improvements with an upgrade or new version, and David Pogue's "Missing Manual." I have relied on the Missing Manual series as my primary reference with each new version of the OS and always easily find the answers to any question that comes up, whether simple or complex. I enjoy Poque's style of writing, his clarity and his humor.

    Buy the book! You won't be disappointed.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Comprehensive

    I have been buying each edition and using them as class textbooks. Essentially, its a reference book. There are so many features to the operating system that shorter books don't cover them all. The Missing Manual series is good in general because writers are putting the books together, instead of just computer people. This author has a regular column on Thursdays in the New York Times.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    Helpful guide to the MAC Operating system

    This is another good guide to Mac systems by David Pogue. Even though I have used Macs since they came out, I discovered a number of items about how things work which improved my ability to make my computer useful.There is a lot of material that is familiar to the versatile user so you must look at specific topics to learn new things. If a novice with the system, there is lots of clear explanation for how to accomplish tasks and arrange the computer to work successfully.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Great Help

    I found this to be very helpful - I've not been taking full advantage of my Mac because I had a few key pieces of information missing. This resource filled in the blanks!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great and Simple Guide

    This book is excellent. Easy to understand and comprehend. Being a new mac user I found it very helpful in helping me understand how Mac works and how to complete different tasks and change certain settings. A must have for every Mac user new or current.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    Great book for Snow Leopard users

    The missing manual always does a great job of covering whatever subject they are writing about. I particularity like this book since it does more of a deep dive on the features of snow leopard that other books on the market. http://www.pcgenius.com

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great Book/Manual

    This is a great manual, it breaksdown OS X Snow Leopard to easy to understand parts. If you want to figure out how to do something, you can just reference that item either in the index or if you want more in depth information you can read the chapter on it. Like how this manual has been done. Gives examples from Windows to what the equivalent is in Mac. Highly recommend to anyone that is new to Mac.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    everything you need to know and more

    I keep this book on my desk and use it all the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Well organized - easy to use

    Excellent for the reference shelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    A

    As a new Mac user, this book has been invaluable for me. It has solved several problems for me already and will be used many times in the future. Well written and very easy to understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    This is a very helpful reference book

    very organized information...format makes it easy to follow..information is relevant to needed answers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    excellent reference manual

    useful to look up stuff when you need to know how to do something

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    A lot of extra information

    Contains lots of info not in other books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Mac OS X Missing Manual

    A great reference for new MAC users!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Comprehensive reference for Mac OS X.

    Recommend this book to anyone starting out using OS X. Also a great reference for all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    I would buy this product again

    Clearly written. Easy to use.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    MAC OS Snow Leopard

    Very Impressed with the material

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great!

    Mainly reference. Well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Complicated book for a simple mind

    I should have bought the computer book for dummies

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    OK

    The information is good though not definitive. A broader based index would make this manual more helpful.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3