Customer Reviews for

The MacArthur Study Bible: SuperSaver Edition

Average Rating 4
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Wonderfull

It works great with the nook. Maybe those that wrote it didn't did not know how to navigate thier nook. Right now the price is reduced. it's a great deal that you don't want to pass up.

posted by 6265300 on January 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

45 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

E-Publisher issue, not the Nook.

I love the MacArthur Study Bible! I have it in print form, so of course I wanted it in a digital format on my Nook too. I do wish that other translations were available though, like the ESV or NASB. For the record after a quick call to my local Barnes & Noble store, tho...
I love the MacArthur Study Bible! I have it in print form, so of course I wanted it in a digital format on my Nook too. I do wish that other translations were available though, like the ESV or NASB. For the record after a quick call to my local Barnes & Noble store, though the rep was very willing to help, she referred me to customer service. I called, and John, in the Philippines, was very helpful. He came to the conclusion that it was the e-publisher who needed to address my problem and offered a complete refund. John actually downloaded the MacArthur Study Bible on his device, I walked him through the issue and he found that he had the same problem as I did. So what is the problem? The MacArthur Study Bible has over 20,000 study notes, the only reason that I bought it in the digital format was to have access to the notes on my Nook. So here is the problem, when you open up a page, the pages have highlighted links, the highlighted links take you to other pages where the study note or map or whatever is located, to get there, you touch the highlighted link and it takes you to the page where the commentary is located, in some cases thousands of pages away from the original page. You read the study note, but now, how do you get back to the original page? There is, when you touch the link and it takes you to the new page, a little tab that appears at the top/center of the Nook page that says "back", if you touch it, it takes you back to the original page, the problem is that it only appears for a few seconds, and there is no way to get it back up. So if the original page was page 1 and the study note is on page 4000 there is no way to get back to page 1 after you read the study note. If you do touch the "back" tab that pops up at the top center of the Nook screen, before it disappears, it will take you back to page 1, but it doesn't stay there long enough to read the study note. The only solution that I found, and that John in customer service agreed with, was to first "bookmark" the first page, then touch the link that takes you to the study note page, then to return back to the original page, you have to touch the center of the screen, which brings up the blue tool bar at the bottom of the page, touch the "contents" tab, touch the "bookmarks" tab, then touch the "bookmark" that takes you back to the original page. Now obviously that isn't going to be very practical with a Study Bible that has over 20,000 study notes and extras that comprise about 6000 pages! So e-publisher would you please make the "back" tab that pops up, when you are taken to the new page, stay there? Or make a way to bring it back up on the screen? The problem that that fix wouldn't address is that, on the page that you go to, that has the study notes, there are even more highlighted links that will take you to yet other pages, and so on and so on. So ultimately what is needed, is a "back" tab, or "back to the original page" tab. I would also suggest to make the e-version like the printed version, place the study notes at the bottom of the same page as the Biblical text. Regardless, make a way to get back to the original page after following a link or series of links. Also there isn't any way to tell exactly where you are in a specific book. Once your off the title page it doesn't say the name of the book any longer, only chapters, verses, page numbers and links.

posted by KenUtah on May 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    E-Publisher issue, not the Nook.

    I love the MacArthur Study Bible! I have it in print form, so of course I wanted it in a digital format on my Nook too. I do wish that other translations were available though, like the ESV or NASB. For the record after a quick call to my local Barnes & Noble store, though the rep was very willing to help, she referred me to customer service. I called, and John, in the Philippines, was very helpful. He came to the conclusion that it was the e-publisher who needed to address my problem and offered a complete refund. John actually downloaded the MacArthur Study Bible on his device, I walked him through the issue and he found that he had the same problem as I did. So what is the problem? The MacArthur Study Bible has over 20,000 study notes, the only reason that I bought it in the digital format was to have access to the notes on my Nook. So here is the problem, when you open up a page, the pages have highlighted links, the highlighted links take you to other pages where the study note or map or whatever is located, to get there, you touch the highlighted link and it takes you to the page where the commentary is located, in some cases thousands of pages away from the original page. You read the study note, but now, how do you get back to the original page? There is, when you touch the link and it takes you to the new page, a little tab that appears at the top/center of the Nook page that says "back", if you touch it, it takes you back to the original page, the problem is that it only appears for a few seconds, and there is no way to get it back up. So if the original page was page 1 and the study note is on page 4000 there is no way to get back to page 1 after you read the study note. If you do touch the "back" tab that pops up at the top center of the Nook screen, before it disappears, it will take you back to page 1, but it doesn't stay there long enough to read the study note. The only solution that I found, and that John in customer service agreed with, was to first "bookmark" the first page, then touch the link that takes you to the study note page, then to return back to the original page, you have to touch the center of the screen, which brings up the blue tool bar at the bottom of the page, touch the "contents" tab, touch the "bookmarks" tab, then touch the "bookmark" that takes you back to the original page. Now obviously that isn't going to be very practical with a Study Bible that has over 20,000 study notes and extras that comprise about 6000 pages! So e-publisher would you please make the "back" tab that pops up, when you are taken to the new page, stay there? Or make a way to bring it back up on the screen? The problem that that fix wouldn't address is that, on the page that you go to, that has the study notes, there are even more highlighted links that will take you to yet other pages, and so on and so on. So ultimately what is needed, is a "back" tab, or "back to the original page" tab. I would also suggest to make the e-version like the printed version, place the study notes at the bottom of the same page as the Biblical text. Regardless, make a way to get back to the original page after following a link or series of links. Also there isn't any way to tell exactly where you are in a specific book. Once your off the title page it doesn't say the name of the book any longer, only chapters, verses, page numbers and links.

    45 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    Wonderfull

    It works great with the nook. Maybe those that wrote it didn't did not know how to navigate thier nook. Right now the price is reduced.
    it's a great deal that you don't want to pass up.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    Recommend

    While the MacArthur NKJV Nook Version is a good useful Bible, the navigation needs work. It is too hard to return to a scripture verse and search verses and return to where you started... Especially hard to do in church. I really prefer the Hard Copy... Sorry, but you asked my opinion.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Terrible!!!

    This is the most poorly designed of any ebook I've come across, and that's a shame because MacArthur's commentary is a wonderful study tool to have. The people who rated this good and persuaded me to purchase this should have their heads examined. The interface is clunky. You are far better off with one of the free versions available!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    For the serious Bible scholar

    This Bible is fairly easy to navigate on my NOOK. I had read so many reviews of Bibles that were not NOOK-friendly. This one is.

    This Bible contains more than 7,000 pages! Therefore, it always takes a few seconds to open to the book or chapter you're looking for.

    Only 2,000 or so pages of this Bible are actually Scripture. The other 5,000+ pages are extras. While extras are always nice in a Bible (dictionary, concordance, maps, applications, etc.) there are SO MANY extras included in this Bible that, unless you are a serious Bible scholar, you may feel overwhelmed.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    Best Bible for the Nook!

    I would highly recommend this Bible. It is a wonderful edition and the commentaries are rich. Please note that the sample one may download does not allow one to access the chapters, thereby giving no idea of the full Bible! It is worth every bit of the $31 price.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Not for the simple touch

    Locks up constantly and I have to force quit. Only thing in my library that does not work.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    Best I've found for use on Nook Touch

    I sampled as many NKJV bibles as I could find for use on the Nook Touch, and this one is by far the best. Navigation to book and chapter is four clicks (Contents->New/OldTestament->Book->Chapter). Super easy to navigate between verses and notes. Since they are stored in different sections, you can read straight through the verses, or straight through the notes, or use the cross-links at nearly every verse to jump between the two. Cross-references work similarly. Click a verse's cross-reference, and it jumps to a screen with all related verses. Click on any of the linked verses and it takes you there. From that verse, either click the 'back' button (not as useful), or re-click the cross-reference and navigate your way back. My favorite, though, is in the Gospels: At the top of each subsection (e.g. each parable, miracle, sermon, etc), there is a direct link to the equivalent subsection in the other Gospel books.

    One side-note: The latest update for the Nook Touch changed the navigation slightly. The "Contents" button no longer goes to the beginning of the Table Of Contents (ToC), which was annoying in this case. So instead, I just bookmarked the Old Testament and New Testament sections of the ToC, which accomplishes the same thing.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    Macarthur Study Bible

    Disappointed can't access the study notes and comments in printed version...don't purchase digital format...not worth the cost

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    Best Version of the Bible I Have seen on the Nook Color

    This is by far the easiest (to navigate) version of the Bible that I have seen to date! You can select the book and verse, but you need to "flip" to the correct verse. It also has several reference sections that you can use as study aids. Reference scriptures are available also. This is a must have if you own the Nook Color!

    BTW, it is the New King James Version. It reads slightly easier than King James, but does not differ greatly...

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    Doesn't work with Nook

    The problem is you can't find the comments. It's not like the iphone version or the boo. I love MacArthur's bible but this is just a bible with footnotes. Of course, I just downloaded the sample. SO I could be wrong....

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2008

    Does it get any better than this?

    I¿m not sure it gets any better than this: The Holy Bible rendered in the readable yet reverent New King James Version ¿ with study notes provided by the inimitable John MacArthur. He has included a number of excellent articles on subjects ranging from how the Bible came into being to how to recognize genuine saving faith. And he provides sound advice on how best to study Scripture ¿ critical for someone who no longer has all the time in the world left.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2000

    Very Thorough, Yet Easy to Understand

    MacArthur is the first pastor/teacher I've found who teaches like our deceased SS teacher. They are amazingly alike, and our teacher had hardly any formal education...but he read all world history, and Jewish history, and knew the Bible and it's people. I have read the new Scofield three times...and now I'm reading MacArthur...it is like having a commentary included!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2000

    The Message

    The Bible does not change in its message but the MacArthur Bible opens your eyes to what the message REALLY is. If you're hungry for the word but having a hard time being nourished by it, this is a Bible you should very seriously and strongly consider!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2014

    Overall I really enjoy the layout and ease of use.  This has goo

    Overall I really enjoy the layout and ease of use.  This has good footnotes on a lot of things.  I do not agree with everything in the footnotes, but it is all orthodox stuff.  So it just like there is no such thing as a perfect study Bible.  I would recommend this to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Great

    Amazing book so much about God Jesus Christ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    I have the book and love having it on my nook!

    Love....love having on my nook.. so handy to use and have my bible anytime..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Highly recommended.

    Great tool to have for studying or straight reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    very slow for the simple touch nook

    The bible is great and I like having MacArther's study notes. However, I don't recommend this bible for fast referencing especially if you're using the simple touch nook like I am.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Does not open

    It opened to let me view the sample, but once I purchased it, it has never opened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6