Customer Reviews for

MacBook Pro Portable Genius

Average Rating 3
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Answered my questions and more .....

    wanted a reference manual when I could not figure something out on my own. So far this has answered all of my questions. Good for those transitioning from PC to MAC. I am very computer savvy (software vs hardware) and still used this book.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    If new to a Mac - An excellent reference.

    I purchased my first Macbook about 10 months ago. I always used a PC but wanted to make to jump to a Mac as all my co-worker's used them as there personal computers at home. Obviously being a novice to the Mac world everything is different. The Macbook Pro - Portable Genius has been an excellent source of reference to refer to take full advantage of everything a Mac has to offer and can do. This book has solved many questions for me and has enabled me to become more comfortable in my adaptation to a Mac. The book is easy to understand and explains everything in a way for even the beginner user to understand and be able to implement. I highly recommend this book to any first time purchaser / user of a Mac. It will help you get the most out of your Macbook Pro.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2009

    Good reference for novices

    This book is a good reference for first time Mac buyers, PC switchers, etc. It's very comprehensive and easy to follow, providing clear instructions on how to master the new MacBook Pros. I found the book to have a clear layout of information with illustrations that helped me make my MacBook Pro easier to use.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Great book, learned a lot

    This is a really good book with step by step instructions and pictures. I wish it would have covered the Mobil Me a little better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Helpul Advice

    This is a suggestion to anybodywho might consider buying this book. If you do in fact have a mac, figure out how to go online , and search what you need to search. This book is okay at the very best, and for example, you actually are told how to open a folder. If you have never used a computer before in your life, then this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Mediocre at Best

    I really had higher expectations for the eBook. I made the mistake of thinking this was going to be the highest authority book. I was wrong. Instead, what it is- is a desperate reflection of corporate greed- put out a product as quickly as possible to get a piece of the pie before the masses catch on. The book should have covered every starting app, how to manage the hard drive, etc.; everything about the OS. It falls short miserably.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    For guy under

    Because macs are faster and a lot better

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Is the pc or mac better????cuz my dad works with pc's.............

    He works with a company called comptec (computer curear center) but uses pcs and teaches about pcs in classes.so i was wondering if mac is better.my and my bro.are in a band and we werk with pro tools le 8 with windows. Is the macbook better for musicians?!??!??is it faster??!??is it easier to use??! WHY IS EVERY ONE GETTING MACS?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?WHY???WHY????WWWWWHHHHYYYYY??????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!please answer.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1