Customer Reviews for

Mac's Law

Average Rating 3.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2005

    Another 5-star review for Sarah McCarty!

    When Jessica Sterns applies for the job as a cook on the Circle H ranch, she expects the owner to be old, gray, and crotchety but when she runs into Mac Hollister, all six feet of gorgeous masculinity, she quickly realizes the error of her assumption. The man radiates testosterone and sets her hormones on fire and she can't believe her luck when she finds out that he's her boss! When Mac meets Jessie he quickly learns there's more to her than meets the eye. When he finds out she's the J. C. Sterns that applied for the cook position on the Circle H, he immediately dismisses her tells her there was a misunderstanding, but Jessie doesn't back down. She stands her ground and insists on a chance to prove herself. Mac reluctantly agrees to a two-week trial. On the outside she appears fragile and feminine, but Jessie is a woman who knows how to take care of herself and she's got a steely determination that has Mac wondering just what other surprises lurk beneath the surface. Oh, and what wonderful surprises she's got in store for him! The biggest surprise a list of sexual to-do's which he agrees to help her fulfill without qualm. The sparks fly between them and one by one they check off items on the list. As each item gets checked off, their emotions for one another get stronger and stronger. It's when they reach the last item on the list that Jessie realizes that she only wants to live out her fantasies with Mac. Forever. Sarah McCarty has done it again! Unchained: Mac's Law is a fabulously sensual read that will have you laughing out loud in some parts, and squirming in your chair in arousal in others. The depth of Ms. McCarty's characterization is nothing short of phenomenal. With each and every book, I feel like I can personally relate to each of the characters and that I am in the story with them. The sex between Mac and Jessie is scorching, as it is between all the couples in her books. But, Ms. McCarty adds something new to her writing: the element of a partial-menage. While I am not a fan of menage, I understand the deeper meaning behind the partial-menage so I was not at all put off by the addition of this in fact, I found it to be a very touching part of the story. If you read the story, you will see what I mean, and if I tell you any more I'll ruin it for you, so I'll stop here. Unchained: Mac's Law is by far one of the best books I have ever read, as are all of Sarah McCarty's books. If you're looking for an emotional yet sexy, fun yet tender story of two people finding love, then you have definitely found it in this erotically romantic tale! I am definitely looking forward to the next installment of the Unchained series, and I can't wait to see where Ms. McCarty takes me next!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I love hot cowboys

    And Sarah Mccart KNOWS how to write them. This was really good although not as good as her Promises series. THOSE guys are awesome, hot and extremely devoted to their women. This is one of my auto-buy authors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2008

    Not bad at all...

    I'm not quite sure what I was expecting, but I feel I got more than my money's worth with this book. The characters were surprisingly well-developed and the story was both humorous and interesting. It's so nice to see an author not depend on the spice to hold a mediocre story together. But the spice was definitely there! If this is the first in a series, it has me sold.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2005

    Another Great Story... hotter than hot

    Sarah McCarty has done it again! Unchained: Mac's Law is a *great* story. Others have given the synopsis, so I won't add more of the same. What I will say is that this book carries on Sarah McCarty's wonderful tradition of well-crafted characters who mean something to you - right away you care for these people and root for them. And, as always, the supporting cast is as well thought out as the main players. I'm convinced this is so Ms McCarty will get you hooked and you will buy all the sequels! If you read any Sarah McCarty book, you will understand. And the sex - wow! Hotter than hot - blazing! I can't wait for the next in the Unchained series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Great book!

    This is a great book. I have this in paperback on my permanent bookshelf. Hot...hot..hot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    TOTALLY HOT

    A good love story not for young while explicet it had a goodending. Depending on how your feelings aare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    I did not like this book.  There was to much sex.  The story was

    I did not like this book.  There was to much sex.  The story was trashy.  Who wants to read a book full of anal sex.  How disgusting is
    that..  Won't buy another book by this author without reading reviews first.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    WOW!

    Great writing!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Extreme

    This book started out great but quickly changed to raunchy I like exortic stories but this passed right into written raunchy porn. I wish I listen to other reviews before buying, the beginning fools you into thinking it will be a cute romantic comedy don't fall for it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    WAS THERE A STORY IN HERE SOMEWHERE?

    ALMOST HALF OF THIS BOOK IS SEX... THE PLOT WAS REALLY WEAK. IT STARTED GREAT BUT AS IT REACHED THE HALF WAY MARK, I FELT LIKE I WAS READING PORN.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Where's the story?

    If you're looking for a plot or character development, skip this book. I like erotica as much as anyone, but ended up skimming most of these scenes. Repetitous, and boring.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2009

    Very Close to Porn

    I cannot tell you how much I disliked this book. The characters (JC and Mac) were shallow and not well developed. The book had no point to it except for these two to continually have sex to cross off items on a "to do list" that JC had regarding sex. I've read my share of erotic romance novels and have liked or loved many but this was too over the line to be thrilling at all. I would try one more book by this author just to see if this one is an anomaly but if it's anything like this, it will be my last.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2005

    Fantasies come alive....

    oking for a bad boy to help her unleash the bad girl that is just dying for a chance to be let loose. Jessica having spent the last ten years caring for her mother, who has now passed on now wants to explore life and has found just the place and man. Applying for a job as a cook on Mac Hollister's ranch and going from city gal to country gal is just the beginning of the challenges J.C. has set for herself. At 29 Jessica is looking for the perfect candidate fulfill her sexual fantasies. Enter Mac Hollister, owner of The Circle H and JC's new boss. Mac Hollister is thoroughly dismayed to learn that his newest cook, J.C. Sterns, is a woman. This dainty city girl, with the perfect hair and manicure, can't possibly keep up with the demands that the job will require. Mac doesn't even want to think about how his ranch hands are going to react after seeing this beauty. JC is not Mac's normal type of woman but Mac can't deny that his spunky, feisty new cook intrigues him to no end. Before Mac knows what has hit him, he is agreeing to an affair and being Jessica's temporary lover. Unfortunately Mac underestimates 'lil' Jessica, who takes him on a ride of lust and emotions that he has never experienced before. Fulfilling JC's every sexual need, Mac realizes that he has found the perfect woman for him, but will she stay with him or go back to her city life when all of her fantasies are fulfilled? Mac is an Alpha male in every sense of the word, but is willing to do anything and everything to please JC, who has snuck into his heart. Jessica is fearless in her quest for adventure with a wicked sense of humor and intelligence to boot Jessica best's even the harshest of her critics. UNCHAINED: MAC's LAW takes the reader on a roller coaster ride. Full of emotions, laughter, and the hottest love scenes that will leave you gasping for air and on the edge of arousal. Sarah McCarty's attention to the minutest detail never fails to pull me right into her stories. I felt like I was on Mac's ranch for I could smell Jessica's cooking, hear the shuffle of cowboy's feet coming to dinner after a hard day's work, and hear their comaraderie at the breakfast/dinner table. Ms. McCarty's love scenes are so full of intimacy and emotions that sometimes I felt like a voyeur. Speaking of which, Mac and Jessica explore that, plus so much more. I became an instant fan of Ms. McCarty's after reading her first book PROMISES LINGER; her books are seamless, and she is the master at fleshing out secondary characters. MAC's LAW is Book One in Ms. McCarty's Unchained series, and I am very much looking forward to what she has in store for us with some of Mac's hunky friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2005

    An Excellent read!

    Looking for a HOTTER than HOT cowboy? Look no further, Mac Hollister is IT! Mac desperately needs a cook for his ranch before he has a rebellion on his hands. Jessie Sterns is 29 yrs old, and after devoting the last 10 yrs to her ill mother,She's ready to start living for herself and that includes a list of fantasies... She's also Mac's new cook. Expecting Mac to be a gray haired grizzled old rancher,Jessie is thrilled to find her new boss is a sexy to die for hunk! He'll be perfect for bringing those fantasies to life! Mac on the other hand feels just the opposite, Nope, he's not thrilled at all after finding out the J.C. Sterns he hired is Jessie,a gorgeous woman he's immediately attracted to. Worried about legalities if something was to happen between them, but having to honor the contract,he has to give Jessie a 2 week trial period.So he decides to make her want to quit. What follows is at times hilarious,scorchingly HOT and sweet. When these two get togther the sparks fly off the pages! Mac may have his 'law' but Jessie has her list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2