Customer Reviews for

Madam Secretary

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2004

    Disappointed

    I must say that I was quite excited to read Albright's book...however, I was bored. She goes into excruciating detail about policy and it reads like a textbook, not a memoir. I was looking for personal insight on her experience, yet she wrote of her own experience like it didn't happen to her, like she was writing about someone else. It's a shame since she was the highest ranking woman in US government in history, and she didn't have much of interest to say.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    Great read!

    A must for anyone interested in American foreign affairs. This book will hold your attention. It is an inspiration for women with high aspirations.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    Madam Secretary- A MUST READ

    I found this book to be very inspirational. Learning about the experiences of the first female Secretary of State was motivational particularly in regards to her experiences relating to obstacles she encountered on a professional and personal level. I have a greater respect for the position of Secretary of State. I now understand the multi-dimensional responsibilities required for any person occupying this position, and feel pride that a woman was able to successfully manage such a highly stressful occupation while also filling equally important roles as mother and wife. After reading this book, I am a major supporter of Madeleine Albright and wish her the very best in her present and future endeviours. BEST OF LUCK MADELEINE!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    In her own words

    Madeleine Albright provides a wonderful memoir of her life thus far. As the first female United States Secretary of State, her story is inspirational, heartbreaking and revealing. She offers a refreshing look into her life beyond politics. We learn about her family, her early life in Europe, her marriage, divorce and the hardships she faced as a working mother. She speaks candidly about her role in the Clinton administration. She admits to her greatest mistake as Secretary of State. Any political junkie, mother, father, daughter, Czechoslovakian or student out there can gain a lot by reading this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2008

    Insightful and Inspiring, A Wonderful Read

    Madeline Albright, as revealed in the excellent memoir, is truly an incredible woman and leader. She reveals the many facets of serving as the Secretary of State and we learn that it is no easy task. There is so much going on in world policy that most people aren't aware of, and this book opened a window into that world and how one woman worked to change the world in a positive way. She is right up there with Eleanor Roosevelt in my opinion. This book is a great read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2004

    One of the best memoirs

    I really enjoyed this book. I think Madame Secretary and Clinton's A Living History were two of the best memoirs I've read. I thought they both did a terrific job of presenting an interesting mix of their personal lives and their government roles and with HUMOR. I thought their descriptions of how the washington bureacracy and international rules of diplomacy work was fascinating and educating. I read the two books back-to-back so it was also fun to see some of the overlap. For those of you that think Madame Secretary read like a textbook, read Thurgood Marshall's autobiography, that was like reading a history book for a class. I didn't know much about Albright before I read her book but I have a tremendous amount of respect for her now. I enjoyed Katharine Graham's autobiography but thought Albright's and Clinton's were better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2004

    It was Wonderful

    I was captivated by this WONDERFUL book. Sec. Albright is one of my biggest role models, she shows that anyone no matter where they come from can rise to be one who influences world affairs. This book depicts that message PERFECTLY!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2004

    Great book

    Excellent insight on her foreign policy relations. She deserves high respect. The book is delightful reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2004

    Dissappointing, but okay.

    Terribly dissappointed. I figured she was writing about her experiences. I felt like she was writing about someone elses life. She could address some issues very well, but seemed she was trying to entertain the reader more than anything. That distanced her

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2003

    MADELEINE ALBRIGHT'S MEMIOR BETTER THAN MARGET THATCHER'S MEMIORS

    Look at the subject then read on. Most of the reviews on Madeleine were negative, but personally think the book is really good. Madeleine's memior is was much more candid then Margaret's memiors which more textbook. Both had twins, Madeleine had 2 girls that look the same, Margaret had boy and girl. Madeleine had a divorce and Margaret didn't. I could go on forever, but I stop here. I hope Madeleine comes to my town's book store to sign her book for the customers. Thank you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2003

    A Great Book!

    I loved this book! When I bought it and sat down to start reading it I thought it would be fairly boring, but I could not believe how interesting it was and how funny she is. Mrs, Albright is indeed a very good writer as well as a remarkable woman. A great insight to American foriegn policy and what a great secretary of state we had in Mrs. Albright. I highly recommend this book!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2003

    Heartfelt, insightful, and downright personal

    I laughed and I cried. Ms. Albright did a tremendous job with bringing the last 20 years of International Relations to life. Her accounts of the turmoil that was occurring, both here and abroad, were both personal and professional. I would recommend this book to anyone who desires a more thorough understanding of U.S. diplomatic relations without being bored to tears with mere facts. Her personal accounts are both entertaining and insightful. This is a lady to admire for her strengths and commitments to the human race.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1