Customer Reviews for

Made in the U.S.A.

Average Rating 3.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    BILLIE LETTS WRITES ANOTHER WINNER

    MADE IN THR U.S.A.
    Billie Letts
    Grand Central Publishing
    $13.99-Paperback
    ISBN: 978-0-446-58345-2
    384 pages
    Reviewer: Annie Slessman

    When Billie Letts wrote MADE IN THE U.S.A. she created two characters dear to our hearts, a young fifteen year old girl, Lutie, and her eleven year old brother, Fate. She places them in peril when their guardian (the girlfriend of their father) dies during a shopping trip to Wal-Mart. The father has since skipped town for Las Vegas and the children face being placed in a foster home. To avoid being possibly separated, Lutie decides they need to take their former guardian's car and go to Las Vegas to find their father. Lutie has never driven a car before but she is a fast learner and gets them there safely.

    In Las Vegas they kids find their father has died (in prison) and they are truly homeless and without funds. Lutie, feeling alone and without resources utilizes every means possible to get a job whether it is legal or not. Fate, a young scholar who loves to spend
    his days in the library, makes a few dollars gathering cans and golf balls which he sells. Together they hope to make enough to rent an apartment in an area where Fate can go to a good school. While they struggle to eat and stay away from the law, they obtain help from a mysterious guardian angel. This person leaves them notes directing them to places they can eat free and parking places where they can sleep in the car without being seen.

    The ending of the book is a powerful one. They find their guardian angel who again finds a way to help the children find a good home. Letts knows how to keep her readers turning the pages and does not disappoint. This is a great study of the treatment our homeless children receive and the dangers that await them on the streets.

    Billie Letts former works include Where the Heart Is, The Honk and Holler Opening Soon and Shoot the Moon.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Gutwrenching Read

    I know some of the subject matters that are in this novel happen in true life, but when I read I do not want to read how a 15 year-old does porn and drugs. She is 15 years old! It was a quick, easy read but not my cup of tea. Billie Letts writing style was very good. She is well written, but it was just very disturbing to me that she was so bitter and jaded. I know that every story does not have a happy ending, but Lutie definitely needed a break from it all. I loved the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2008

    A Feel Good Read

    I've read all of Billie Letts' novels to this point. You may have heard of her first one - 'Where the Heart Is'- a New york Times bestseller, an Oprah pick and also made into a movie starring Natalie Portman. It is the story of a young pregnant teen who lives in the local Wal Mart. Made in the U.S.A. returns to Wal Mart. Lutie and Fate McFee's father ran off to Las Vegas a year ago, leaving them behind with his girlfriend Floy. While shopping at the local Wal Mart, Floy drops dead. Fifteen year old Lutie decides that they shouldn't wait around for social services to put them into foster care, so they take Floy's car and head off to Vegas to find their dad. With little money and unable to find their dad, they try to survive in Sin City. Some unknown good Samaritan seems to be watching out for them, leaving food and notes on the hood of the car they're living in - but it's not enough. Lutie and Fate are soon subjected to the ugly side of Vegas. I'll stop there without going any further into the plot and spoiling the tale. Letts' hallmark seems to be that family is not always biological. This theme was also the basis for 'The Honk and Holler Opening Soon'. And it's done well again in Made in the U.S.A. Although it becomes somewhat predicable as to what's going to happen in the end, it is still an enjoyable, feel good read that will have you cheering for Lutie and Fate and the resilience of the human spirit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    Terrible

    I was so looking forward to reading the new Billie Letts...and was so disappointed! This book was just plain awful. The tattoo incident was what finished me - it simply would not have happened. I didn't feel empathy for the girl character - in fact, I would have enjoyed the book much more had she been left in Vegas while her brother went on to Oklahoma. Unbelievable how the author of one of my favorite books could have come up with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    LOVED IT! COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN

    I couldn't put this book down. I was drawn into the story right away. Loved the characters. This is a must read. Best book I've read in about 2 years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2008

    Unrealistic and Depressing

    I was looking forword to another novel by Billie Letts but was highly disappointed in Made in the U.S.A. I found it very heavy and depressing and unrealistic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2008

    A page turner... but lacking the magic of her other novels

    After reading her other novels and looking forward to her newest, it was a let down. It's still a good read, but you don't fall in love with the characters as much as you do in her other novels. Even though the main character is only a 15 year old girl, her immature decisions don't make sense at times and actually gets kind of maddening. I feel she goes too far with the negative Vegas storyline and takes too long to get to the uplifting part, and at that point it's almost forced. I wouldn't say don't read this book, but don't expect it to be 'Where the Heart Is'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2008

    A reviewer

    I found this book a great page turner. I couldn't put it down. The hate, love and mysteries were spell bounding!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2008

    just 'okay'

    was really looking forward to this book! guess my expectations were too high. it was just okay, of her four books, this one ranks only above 'where the heart is' (a somewhat silly book). her other two, 'shoot the moon' and 'thehonk and holler opening soon' are much better reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4