Customer Reviews for

Made in the U.S.A.

Average Rating 4
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2008

    Made a reader out of me

    I am not a reader. I have about a dozen half read books at home. Got this one for a road trip and could not put it down. hate to admit I related to the story a little bit. The author describes the characters so well I felt like I knew them. I wanted to live with the circus family. But I have no intentions of visiting Vegas. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2008

    Another Great Book!

    I just finished reading 'Made in the USA' and put it on the same pedestal as 'Where the Heart Is.' I have always found her books interesting and on a level that most people can relate to and enjoy. All of Ms. Letts' books have been very enjoyable! I've lived in Oklahoma all my life but have never been to Hugo however, it is now on my list of places to go--especially to the cemetery!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    interesting character driven contemporary tale

    In Spearfish, South Dakota, with their mother long dead, the McFee siblings teenage Lutie and preadolescent Fate live with three hundred plus pounds Floy Satterfield their runaway father¿s former girlfriend. However, their lives take a spin when their guardian drops dead at the local megastore. Lutie, who enjoys shoplifting for fun ever since she was booted from the high school gymnastics team due to unfair influences, persuades her eleven year old brother to give up the TV shows and global warming because they have two choices: flee in Floy¿s ancient car or allow the state to place them. They decide to find their wastrel dad whose last known address is Las Vegas with no further specificity except some dive hotel. --- In Las Vegas, they begin to learn nasty truths re their father and prison, and where he might be which if true will prove he is beyond their reach. Fifteen year old Lutie obtains fake working papers and dead-end jobs so she and her brother have food and shelter of sorts. However, increasingly their choices seem to be foster care or the street sharks including avaricious child molesters, rapists, drug addicts and other abusers. However, former aerialist Juan Vargas ¿adopts¿ the pair as his redemption and takes them to his family in Oklahoma where they run the Vargas Brothers Circus. Juan carries guilt, but his grandma has love for all three seemingly losers that might help each find sanctuary if they reach out to her and one another. --- Although at times diving too deep into soap opera territory, MADE IN THE U.S.A. is an interesting character driven contemporary tale that argues it takes a village to raise children. Readers will feel for the McFee sibs, who are neglected while their guardian lived and after she dies make questionable decisions more out of fear. What happens to them especially Lutie in Vegas shows the real sinful underbelly of the city. Although Oklahoma turns out to perfect to be realistic, fans will soar with Lutie, play trivia with Fate and hope Juan forgives himself as they with grandma try to become a family. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2008

    This book was great!

    From the very beginning, I could not put this book down. I love her style and her characters come alive for me. Highly recommended! I hope she is in the process of writing another one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    Map of world

    Result1:USA. Result 2:map. Result3:wargrounds. Rseult4:great britain. Result5:russia. Result6:china. Result7:canada. Result8:middle east(saudia arabia, iran,iraq,israel). Result9:germany. Other results you claim for other countries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Made in the U.S.A. is not an easy book to read. Lutie and Fate

    Made in the U.S.A. is not an easy book to read. Lutie and Fate are a brother and sister to whom life has not been kind. Despite Lutie's best efforts to keep herself and her little brother safe, things keep going wrong. Las Vegas is definitely no place for kids!

    The tension builds as Lutie keeps making the wrong decisions. Those she thinks are friends may not be. But she and Fate are homeless and she will do almost anything to survive.

    The story is written well, though rather dark. Where the kids end up is almost too fantastical for a believable ending. Still, Letts did show Lutie struggling to deal with the things she was forced to do. It stayed a few degrees away from a fairy tale ending which kept the book more believable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    great read

    Very entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Good fun read

    I enjoy Billie Letts and her characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Excellent!!!

    I am a huuuge fan of Billie Letts. I've read all of her books and loved them all, but this one ties with Where the Heart Is as my favorite. It was darker and grittier than her other books but was so heartwarming and beautiful at the same time. Would highly recommend this book. I never wanted it to end and I know the characters will stick with me for a long time to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    This was a good read.

    Just finish this book. It was better than I thought it was going to be. Going to go see what I can read next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    Enjoyed!

    It was kind of slow at first, but picked up. Overall I enjoyed it. It was a good short read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    rather trite, but entertaining nonetheless

    I was disappointed in Made in the USA. I have read Honk and Holler Opening Soon more times than I can count and respect Billie Letts' talent for infusing her characters with an authentic voice. In H&HOS, people's problems don't magically evaporate with a kind word or psychological insight, yet they carry on - as real people sometimes can. Made in the USA ends like it was finished at 5 a.m. the morning of a deadline. The main character suddenly stops speaking like a teenager and more like ... well, I don't know anyone who speaks like that! BUT, I did read this book in two sittings, so I can't say it wasn't entertaining!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Touching

    This was just a good story of a brother and sister left alone, from a rough family life, and believe they know how to find the American dream. They have nothing to lose, and you will be pulling for them to make it somehow, and hoping they find a family. Very good Billie Letts!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    My favorite Billie Letts book!

    I loved this! Great plot, had all , dramatic, tragic, touching, heart warming, and thrilling qualities. I hope to see it in film. It was hard reading the parts in Las Vegas, especially what happened to Lutie, but that is reallity. Hopefully this book will wake up some politicians to try to put an end to this. I felt the change from Vegas to the circus world helped bring it out of such a dark trend, to show there can be a light at the end of the tunnel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    A decent read

    I found the characters a little one dimensional and predictable. I felt what each learns about what family means a redeeming aspect of the book. The story is engaging, though not one I couldn't put down. The author's question and answer section after the reading guide I found off-putting and actually took away from what was "learned" in the book. Overall, a decent read, but not a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    BILLIE DID IT AGAIN

    I LOVE HER WRITING STYLE EVER SINCE I READ WHERE THE HEART IS.I WAS HOOKED.I HAVE READ ALL HER BOOKS.PLEASE BILLIE WRITE MORE.THIS BOOK WAS VERY GOOD I LOVED FOLLOWING THE STORY OF LUTIE AND FATE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2009

    Better than Where the Heart is, but still not her best

    Billie Letts has a flair for creating lovable, memorable characters and she does it again in Made in the USA, but I don't think it is her best novel.

    The novel follows the charcters of Lutie and Fate Mcfee and their struggle for survival. They are american born and bred and have fallen upon hard times. They are now homeless, underage children trying to survive on the streets of Las Vegas. This part of the novel was wonderful. Even though we may cringe at the experiences and choices that Lutie makes, they are a realistic commentary about life on the American streets.

    The part that I find a stretch, is when Lutie and Fate meet Juan. I don't think this part worked all that well even though I really like Juan and the characters that we are introduced through him. Can't go into detail without giving too much away and I hate when people do that. Let's just say I think it is an important aspect to the novel that Juan is not from America.

    It was worth the read, but I still think Billie Lett's Honk and Holler is better.


    More of my book reviews at www.dustjacketreview.com (sbarranca)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    Not worth it.

    Couldn't identify with the characters or story. They weren't likable main characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointed

    I love Billie Letts. I think she is a wonderful author, but I think she dropped the ball on this book. It is just ok. The characters are nothing special. In fact, I despised the main character and her selfish ways and was so glad when the story would focus on someone else. I really honestly hated some of the main characters. The ones I liked didn't come till later, and I almost gave up on the book before I got to them. The saving grace in the beginning is the the brother, Fate. If you love the down home, small town feel of Billie Letts books, then this is not for you. I will continue reading her books; I just hope none are ever as disappointing as this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Brought tears to my eyes

    "Made in the USA" is a touching story about Lutie McFee and her brother Fate and how they try and survive in Las Vegas after the death of the woman who was taking care of them. Lutie thinks she knows all about how to endure the cruel world which is now her home. I have never any other books by Billie Letts, and am not going to let some of the negative reviews I have come across to affect my feelings. This story brought tears to my eyes, and I was rooting for the kids. Is it believable, maybe, maybe not? I just know that I loved the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4