Customer Reviews for

Made in the U.S.A.

Average Rating 4
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2008

    Made a reader out of me

    I am not a reader. I have about a dozen half read books at home. Got this one for a road trip and could not put it down. hate to admit I related to the story a little bit. The author describes the characters so well I felt like I knew them. I wanted to live with the circus family. But I have no intentions of visiting Vegas. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2008

    Another Great Book!

    I just finished reading 'Made in the USA' and put it on the same pedestal as 'Where the Heart Is.' I have always found her books interesting and on a level that most people can relate to and enjoy. All of Ms. Letts' books have been very enjoyable! I've lived in Oklahoma all my life but have never been to Hugo however, it is now on my list of places to go--especially to the cemetery!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    Map of world

    Result1:USA. Result 2:map. Result3:wargrounds. Rseult4:great britain. Result5:russia. Result6:china. Result7:canada. Result8:middle east(saudia arabia, iran,iraq,israel). Result9:germany. Other results you claim for other countries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    great read

    Very entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Excellent!!!

    I am a huuuge fan of Billie Letts. I've read all of her books and loved them all, but this one ties with Where the Heart Is as my favorite. It was darker and grittier than her other books but was so heartwarming and beautiful at the same time. Would highly recommend this book. I never wanted it to end and I know the characters will stick with me for a long time to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    My favorite Billie Letts book!

    I loved this! Great plot, had all , dramatic, tragic, touching, heart warming, and thrilling qualities. I hope to see it in film. It was hard reading the parts in Las Vegas, especially what happened to Lutie, but that is reallity. Hopefully this book will wake up some politicians to try to put an end to this. I felt the change from Vegas to the circus world helped bring it out of such a dark trend, to show there can be a light at the end of the tunnel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    BILLIE DID IT AGAIN

    I LOVE HER WRITING STYLE EVER SINCE I READ WHERE THE HEART IS.I WAS HOOKED.I HAVE READ ALL HER BOOKS.PLEASE BILLIE WRITE MORE.THIS BOOK WAS VERY GOOD I LOVED FOLLOWING THE STORY OF LUTIE AND FATE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Brought tears to my eyes

    "Made in the USA" is a touching story about Lutie McFee and her brother Fate and how they try and survive in Las Vegas after the death of the woman who was taking care of them. Lutie thinks she knows all about how to endure the cruel world which is now her home. I have never any other books by Billie Letts, and am not going to let some of the negative reviews I have come across to affect my feelings. This story brought tears to my eyes, and I was rooting for the kids. Is it believable, maybe, maybe not? I just know that I loved the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    BILLIE LETTS WRITES ANOTHER WINNER

    MADE IN THR U.S.A.
    Billie Letts
    Grand Central Publishing
    $13.99-Paperback
    ISBN: 978-0-446-58345-2
    384 pages
    Reviewer: Annie Slessman

    When Billie Letts wrote MADE IN THE U.S.A. she created two characters dear to our hearts, a young fifteen year old girl, Lutie, and her eleven year old brother, Fate. She places them in peril when their guardian (the girlfriend of their father) dies during a shopping trip to Wal-Mart. The father has since skipped town for Las Vegas and the children face being placed in a foster home. To avoid being possibly separated, Lutie decides they need to take their former guardian's car and go to Las Vegas to find their father. Lutie has never driven a car before but she is a fast learner and gets them there safely.

    In Las Vegas they kids find their father has died (in prison) and they are truly homeless and without funds. Lutie, feeling alone and without resources utilizes every means possible to get a job whether it is legal or not. Fate, a young scholar who loves to spend
    his days in the library, makes a few dollars gathering cans and golf balls which he sells. Together they hope to make enough to rent an apartment in an area where Fate can go to a good school. While they struggle to eat and stay away from the law, they obtain help from a mysterious guardian angel. This person leaves them notes directing them to places they can eat free and parking places where they can sleep in the car without being seen.

    The ending of the book is a powerful one. They find their guardian angel who again finds a way to help the children find a good home. Letts knows how to keep her readers turning the pages and does not disappoint. This is a great study of the treatment our homeless children receive and the dangers that await them on the streets.

    Billie Letts former works include Where the Heart Is, The Honk and Holler Opening Soon and Shoot the Moon.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    LOVED IT! COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN

    I couldn't put this book down. I was drawn into the story right away. Loved the characters. This is a must read. Best book I've read in about 2 years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2008

    A reviewer

    I found this book a great page turner. I couldn't put it down. The hate, love and mysteries were spell bounding!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1