Customer Reviews for

Made to Crave: Satisfying Your Deepest Desire with God, Not Food

Average Rating 4
( 209 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    Amazing Book!

    Lysa Terkeurst has written an amazing book. I found out about it when I heard Lysa speak recently at a women's conference. I have had issues with food for most of my life. I was hesitant to purchase the book because no other book I have read has ever resulted in lasting change. I thought, "I'll just be wasting my money if I purchase yet another book about this issue. I'm just going to have to accept the fact that this will be a lifelong struggle and that I will simply have to do the best that I can." I have so wanted to be free from emotional eating, but I never thought it was possible.until now. Lysa has hit on the heart of the matter: We were made to crave.
    Through personal anecdotes and what she has learned from scripture, Lysa helps us to see that our "issues with food are not a curse" but an opportunity to turn to God. He wants to heal our hurts and satisfy the deepest longings of our hearts. Our souls crave Him. Recognizing that longing is the first step to turning away from food for comfort and living in the freedom Christ died to give us. This book is a must read for everyone who has a love-hate relationship with food.

    35 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    Finally a diet book that addresses what truly matters!

    Made to Crave by Lysa Terkeurst is an inspiring devotional for women trying to end their addiction to food. Terkeurst realized that she was really putting on too much weight and that she was using food for all of the wrong reasons; it was a comfort and reward, instead of simply fuel for life. She's tried other weight loss plans in the past, but ultimately, they have all failed, so she was determined to find a plan that would work for life, a way of truly changing the way she viewed food permanently. Terkeurst focuses in on how women tend to use food for all sorts of emotional reasons when we should be turning to God. When we are depressed or stressed, instead of turning to our Comforter and Refuge, we grab chocolate and salty snacks. Terkeurst made it her goal to turn to God for those emotional needs and finally fulfill the true craving that she was trying to fill with food. She isn't alone in this battle. Many Christian women are struggling with this exact problem, and Terkeurst's book is a unique and important way to truly change our relationship with food. She doesn't pretend that this will be easy, in fact she confesses to breaking down in tears on multiple occasions about trying stop the habit, but the end result is a woman who is feeling truly good about herself and closer to her Lord. That's a goal we can all aspire to, and Terkeust puts the tools in this book. The journey will be a hard one, but she's provided the tools and support to help readers out.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    Every Christian girl w/ weight struggles must read it!

    This book has changed my outlook on food for good. I couldn't put it down, and I will recommend it to every person I know who has weight struggles. If you are willing to open your mind, and your heart this book can change your life!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    This is a must read book

    If you have you need discipline in your life, this books is great. I've always had a weight problem. Reading this book made me understand that I don't have to go to food. It will always make me empty again. But going to God, His river is always flowing. To fill me with His love.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    Loved This Book!

    I have had eating issues ALL my life. This book put it into perspective and gave me concrete tools with how to address it. Lysa talks about cravings as not being bad, which I liked. But that our cravings need to bring us to God. I liked the scriptures she used as well as her great sense of humor. If you've had food issues AND a love for God, this book is a must read

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Read

    I bought this book for my mum. she said she loves it and it has changed her outlook on food.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    THE Only Way to Lose Weight

    I am 36 & I have never been able to lose weight until now. Our weight issues are not some petty issue to God. He cares about food. He just wants us to care about HIM more! This book will show you the Biblical reasons you need to eat right, not the worldly ones. READ THIS BOOK!!!! I have lost 27 pounds since May. God is what I crave now, not food.
    He. Is. Amazing.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    If you've discovered that you crave other things more than you crave God - this book is for you!

    I decided to read this book after hearing Lysa TerKeurst on K-Love radio talking about her battle with weight and eating healthy. She stated that she discovered, she craved food more than God. That made me think - what other things have people placed first in their lives - things they crave more than relationship with God.
    Although I don't necessarily have an issue with food, I read this book to aid me in my 21 Day "non" fast! I titled it "Made to Crave - 21 Days to Reloationship". I had decided to not fast in the ordinary sense of the word, as I've done many times before, but to focus on building relationship with my Father God! There were things in my life that had taken center stage. I decided to put those things in their proper place and make God first again!Lysa's book helped me see and understand that putting God first puts everything else in proper perspective. She is very honest in this book about her battle with food and the underlying issues she has. She talks about her straight-forward plan to put her craving for food in line with God's Word.
    By reading this book, she hopes you will begin craving God more than you crave anything else in your life - including food!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Great book to read even if you don't crave food

    I had to preview this book before it is offered in our church as a Bible study, and I got hooked. You don't have to have a weight problem to see that we crave many other things, things that take our attention away from God.
    I think that every woman needs to read this book and do some soul-searching, allowing God to reveal what is our idol.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Applicable to more than just food

    I read it looking for something I did not find. Instead I found something much greater and deeper. Usable in other areas of life than food.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    Highly Recommended, reading it again!!!

    I wish I bought the book so I could unline, and refer back, so I am rereading it all over and taking notes as I read it this time. I am even getting more out of it this second time around. I am seeing how this is all true what she says and has inspired me to try harder, pray and read the Bible more, and how true the Verses are to food. wow!! I use to live to eat! now I see we should eat just to live, no more piggin out!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Love them

    Love the 3 books I have of Lyssa's and are reading them over and over each day to keep refreshed and renewed. If you are seriously wanting to build a better relationship with God and would like to loose weight. You should love these books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Very good book! This book has encouraged me to eat healthier and crave more of God!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    A great book!

    I got so much out of Made to Crave. Lysa Terkeurst's honesty and way of looking at God, life, and food were eye-opening to me and I ordered another of her books, too, but haven't finished it yet. I was so impressed that I went to her website, got to see her talk in person and I believe she's a very honest down-to-earth woman and helps so many of us struggling with body image, our weight and diets. I enjoyed reading her Bible verse references, too. I highly recommend this book for any female with a problem with body and weight issues.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Easy to read and relateable

    This book is a nice tool for anyone looking for a new perspective on themselves and their relationship with God. It's easy to read and her writing is relateable so it makes it engaging. It's a good reference tool to turn back to in times of struggle.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Encouraging and easy to read, great!

    Very encouraging and funny book. Well written and made you feel exactly what the writer had endured. I would recommend this to anyone that couldn't believe they could lose weight. Plus and added bonus is to know that God is there all the way with you, but in an encouraging way! SUPER!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    Excellent!

    This is a great book for motivating you to change the unhealthy aspects of your life. While it is mostly about overweight people, it can be read by anyone who is tired of having something other than God be at the center of their life. This book encouraged me to start putting God first and doing things that will bring Him glory, for only when I do that will I truly see the changes I want. P.S.: it's also funny!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    A must for Christians trying to change bad habits.

    Heard about the book on KLOVE radio. A great alternative to the average "diet" book. Offers a way to make changes upon realizing what you are really craving, which might not necessarily be food.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Made to Crave by Lysa TerKeurst

    Best book about our attitudes regarding food, weight loss, and how it affects and is affected by our relationship with the Lord.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    It speaks to me.

    I like the outlook and the way the book is put together. My reading of the book coincides with Lent and it fits well.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11