Customer Reviews for

The Madman's Tale

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Thumbs up !

This book was extremely good. It was a definite page turner. It even had a great ending which is so rare in a book anymore. Read it, you will not be sorry. It's a definite thumbs up (no pun intended for poor Cleo).

posted by NookGirlPA on December 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

ok

this wasnt the greatest book i have ever read. it had a good story line and plot, but it just seemed like it took forever to get to a point. this book would have been better if it was shorter.

posted by Anonymous on December 22, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Thumbs up !

    This book was extremely good. It was a definite page turner. It even had a great ending which is so rare in a book anymore. Read it, you will not be sorry. It's a definite thumbs up (no pun intended for poor Cleo).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2005

    ok

    this wasnt the greatest book i have ever read. it had a good story line and plot, but it just seemed like it took forever to get to a point. this book would have been better if it was shorter.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    I wanted to love it

    It had such promise and i eagerly read the first 200 pages or so then it became somewhat redundant--I kept plodding along because i really cared about the characters but it just never panned out for me--disappointed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Excellent read

    Thouroughly enjoyed this book. Written in away that draws you in and makes you feel like you know every insane member of the cast of characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    This was great!

    This story was very intriging. Well-written plot. Creative and spooky. This author's books are definitely added to my list to buy

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Great mystery thriller!

    I happen to prefer long books, so was excited to see how many pages this was. Good story with wonderful characters and all the individual storylines were tied in nicely. I recommend this highly and will be looking into some of the author's other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2006

    a very good read

    I found this book to be very entertaining, and certainly one I would recommend. I'd give it four-and-a-half stars instead of five if they offered it, but I'm not going to nit-pick, so five it is. The story line is original and the characters are fleshed out nicely. I know a few other reviewers had some complaints about the book's length, but it wasn't that bad at all. The story felt neither boring nor drawn out, and to cut sizeable portions from it would have impeded character development. If you want a good read with interesting characters interacting in a unique setting, then this book is definitely worth your time. It's the first I've read from John Katzenbach, and it was impressive enough that I'm now looking into some of his other titles.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2005

    A must read

    This is one of the most engrossing books I have read in a while. You feel as though you are right there with C-Bird and you almost want to peek at the end to see the outcome. But don't do it! This book is so well written I didn't want it to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2005

    Wonderful

    An outstanding read. What makes it so good is that it is told from the point of view of a psychotic patient in a mental institution. It is the blurring of reality vs. fantasy that makes the book so worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2015

    Anonymous

    I honestly loved this book! It came to a point where I could not put it down. It seems to me as though the main character, Francis, is not really "crazy" at all. A man obsessed with fighting and finally letting go of his inner demons from 20 yrs. ago, but not crazy in the actual sense of the word. When he talks of hearing voices, he describes them as "inner voices" not ever as something he hears out loud around him or telling him what to do, but something helpful. Something we all call our gut feelings. I believe he is the product of a lonely self-conscience childhood with a mild form of bipolar or social anxiety and parents that wanted no part of that. As the story plays out and you meet the other characters that play main roles in the story you find yourself connecting on so many levels of pain and strength and just how far people are willing to go for redemption. The description of the mental facility is very accurate in many aspects, even as far as the potral of the way some doctors and therapists can be, as well as patients. I have spent time observing these things for various reasons. When thrown together in that atmosphere patients tend to bond in ways that go beyond the hospital walls and remain in memories for a lifetime, I have seen it. Maybe that is why tthis book has struck such a chord with me. The story is unforgettable and it is not just about the murders that take place, but the three main characters and what they battle inside. The end honestly made me cry, I highly reccomend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2005

    Original

    I liked the story line and it was well written however, a little drawn out. He could have cut about a 100 pages out of it and it would have been better. Its originality and consistent pace kept me interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2004

    Bewitching!!!

    John Katzenbach has assembled an authentic 'Cuckoo's Nest' of characters inside Western State Mental Hospital in his chilling thriller, 'The Madman's Tale.' Narrator (C-Bird), both witness and schizophrenic whose hold on mental normalcy and self-preservation is tenuous, revisits the nightmare that took place twenty years ago. His narrative rotates between present day in first person and his third person memories. In 1979 a rape/murder inside the asylum brings in prosecuting attorney Lucy Jones (who has three unsolveds with similar profiles) to investigate. Lucy herself is a victim of a similar malicious crime. Her initial act is unorthodox; enlisting two inmates (C-Bird and Peter the Fireman) to aid her as 'they are the only ones I am certain are not guilty.' Creating additional tension is a minimally cooperative and reluctant hospital management. Uncovering the killer hiding inside the institution is a most intriguing premise. There are no rules for pursuing a murderer in a mental institution where 'the mad know the truth and the sane cannot comprehend it.' The serial killer circles around them, committing two additional murders during the investigation. Mr. Katzenbach creates an uneasy atmosphere filled with evil, darkness and an engrossing sense of foreboding. The unfortunate, unlikely heroes are sympathetic characters that you worry and care about. You cannot anticipate what will happen next. This tale will linger in your mind long after the final page. It commands your attention and has a terrific conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2004

    A chilling thriller

    Over two decades have passed since the notorious Western State Hospital mental health facility shut down. Compared to the other inmates and much of the staff, Francis ¿C-Bird¿ Petrel, in spite of the cacophony of voices in his head, seemed relatively normal. He befriends another comparatively stable soul Peter the Fireman, an arsonist who killed a pedophile priest. Now C-Bird lives in a cheap apartment where he writes his memoirs on the walls and takes medicine to keep the voices from causing orchestral disharmony inside his head.................................. Looking back to the violent murder of Nurse ¿Short Blond¿, C-Bird thought at first his other pal from the days of confinement against his will Lanky killed her because he had earlier called her evil. However, Lanky insisted that the Angel of Death murdered the nurse. State prosecutor Lucy Kyoto Jones, who was obsessed with taking down those who harm women and children, believed the schizoid Lanky is telling the truth. She enlisted the help of the two ¿normals¿, C-Bird and Fireman, because she felt that the real culprit had killed others outside the wall.......................... THE MADMAN¿S TALE is a fascinating look back at a homicide through the eyes of a soul with a mental disorder. The story line grips the audience as C-Bird narrates it with a different perspective than normally provided. The who-done-it is well written and clever and the insider¿s glimpse at the mental institution by a guest is mesmerizing. Fans will enjoy this crime thriller that will remind readers of Gothika though the star is quite different...................... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2