Customer Reviews for

Madonna: An Intimate Biography

Average Rating 3.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2006

    An awsome book for a huge teen Madonna fan!

    I read this book and thought it was the best read I haved ever read.Right now I'm going to read the book again because it is soooo good.And what I realy like about it is that it has a lot of information that it looks like is true but is not.Also I realy enjoy the way the book is written it's a very eassy read and also this book it's more like a romance book instead of an intimate biography cause it has a lot of information about her ex's and that's the only thing I don't like about it but it is also kinda scary in during the chapter 'stalked'.This book is sad,funny,scary,it has romance, action because of Sean Pen, and shocking events for those who do not know anything about Madonna. So this book has all in one. Also for those who are not Madonna fans read this book and Madonna will be like a god to you.I'm only 15 years old and I've alway's been a Madonna fan but now since I've read this book I like fell in love with her selfish personality and now I'm a Madonna Fanatic!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2001

    It is not really that intimate.........

    I would prefer reading about Madonna's feelings, personal revelations, and regrets. Who really knows about that stuff? I am tired of reading information about Madonna that has been recycled in every magazine, interview, book, and tabloid over the last (how many!) years. I already knew she was fascinating, and incredibly selfish. It is obvious to any Madonna observer that she wants more than anything to be the biggest, baddest star in the entire world. The book was not intimate. It was contrived. Very thoughtfully done to make Madonna appear more superficial. I don't believe that. I don't think you can be that grand of a star and consider yourself to be superficial. I think she is more interesting and deserves a book that shows just how interesting she truly is. Instead of justifying legend, the author should have attempted to discover the truly amazing woman that is Madonna.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2001

    I still don't know who she is...

    I guess I was expecting some truth to this so-called 'Intimate Biography.' It reads as if Madonna was sitting on the shoulder of the author, screaming 'you can't put THAT in there!' I believe that Madonna was painting the same shallow lines, while working with this author, as in her clouded attempt to show you some 'substance' in Truth or Dare. I have always been a fan of her music, however I don't believe that Madonna, nor any person that attempts to write about her, can ever reveal her 'true' self. Madonna's music will always be fascinating to me however, Madonna's 'Intimate Biography' will be remembered as a failed attempt to make her a 'real' human being.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2001

    The Best Madonna Book Ever

    This is the most helpful and in detail book I have ever read about Madonna. The author spent alot of time gathering information for his book and it shows!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2001

    fantastic,it tells you who is the real madonna!!!!

    a look in to the one the most powerfull enterteiners in the world,very interesting,all the things about madonna that nobody knows,its a book tha every fan should have!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2001

    A VERY INFORMATIVE AND INSPIRING BOOK

    I have never read any other madonna biography but after having read this one, by happenstance, I definately dont feel the need to read another because this one covers it all. This is an excellent, very informative, well written book. by the end you feel a bit of a withdrawl period because you become so deeply and ambivolantly involved in madonna and the authors well organized writting style. In this book madonna is extremely inspiring with her undying motivation and preserverance. It honestly gives you good insight and strength in your own life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2001

    Another fabricated piece of fantasy...

    Madonna, the woman.... I am a fan, a devoted fan but even that cannot make me swallow some of the nonsense that was included in this title. This book no more shows Madonna's true self that any of her other interviews or fabricated appearances. Throughtout the book you get a feeling that this is nothing more than a bibliography that would be more apt pasted on the back of one of her CD's. What I would have liked to see would be what Madonna feels, what she sings when she gets up in the morning, what her reactions are to her personal crises. Rather than that, the book concentrates on her shocking words and her broken relationships. An important point of note is that at no time does the author mention that he had a face to face interview with the goddess herself. The book makes good reading sitting on the loo but can hardly be described as an intimate biography. If you need to experience the intimate Madonna, don't waste your time here, buy any one of her songs and you'll be aptly rewarded.... ..a dissapointed reader...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2001

    WOW!

    What a wonderful, wonderful book. I so enjoyed it, and have even read it twice. (I may read it again!) This book makes a woman out of an icon, and it's a great and riveting read. When you finish it, you feel as if you truly know her, and you're sorry to have to say good-bye. I loved all of the stuff about her wedding, none of which I knew about or had read before. And the information on Carlos Leon -- now I really understand what happened between him and Madonna, and it's a sweet story. When I finished the Sean Penn chapters, I kinda felt bad for Sean, even though he practically ruined Madonna's life. These people are written about by the author as if he is their closest friend -- it's all sympathetic and honest and, yes, intimate. Read this book, the only bio of Madonna you will ever need. You sure won't be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2001

    Terrific Book

    I thought this was an excellent book. What more could you want to know about her -- he even tells you what kinds of lipsticks she uses. All of the romances are here, as well as all of the CDs she ever made. I enjoyed the Evita chapters, most. If you want to know about Madonna, this is the book to buy. I give it a strong five stars. Thanks B&N.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2001

    I COULD NOT PUT THIS BOOK DOWN FOR A MINUTE!

    I have just finished reading Madonna: An Intimate Biography. It was so full of interesting information about Madonna that I never knew before. It makes you see Madonna as a actual human being rather than just a pop star and how she has matured during the past 20 years through all her phases. I loved every page of this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2001

    Its gotta be good!

    Im looking so forward to reading this biography. Ive been a Madonna fan all through out her career and have been blessed to have seen her perform 13 times(than I'll get to see her two more times this summer on her Drowned World Tour). I read Call Her Miss Ross which was also written by thgis author and that was a great biography hopefully this new one on Madonna will have some juicy stuff I havent read before!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1