Customer Reviews for

The Madonnas of Echo Park: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Beautiful book!

    A book to be read and reread! Haunting and gorgeous.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    Loved this book!

    I read this book a couple of days ago. My teacher recomended it for me because I grew up in echo park. It's been almost 3 years since I left and I left for almost the same reason everybody esle in the book left. My older brother died and my mom couldnt pay the house anymore and she lost her job beacuse a white woman bpught the place where she worked. I used to be like Aurora. I also went to work with my mom when I was little. The uncle that was a cholo is also another thing I can relate to beacuse I have lot of family in gangs.I like brando skyhorse beacuse I like how brndo sky horse describes the characters. It was confusing at first when its a different character in every chapter and you visualize what they say from each of the characters point of view. Duchess, Aurora, and Juans dad were my favorite characters. Duchess was really named Maria. Maria's mom belonged to a gang and was named Duchess, people that didnt really know Duchess all assumed she was a chola and the same thing has happened to me. Duchess reminds me of myself . Aurora always ignored her mom and followed her to herr work when she was younger and so did I. I didnt really like the bus driver beacuse he was talking bad about Mexicans hinking he was better than the rest. All mexicans were different but he was wrong to think he was better than the rest. Juans mother was like my mother she always told me to be proud of were I came from and to always represent "La Raza" just like juans mom. Cristinas boyfriend was one of my favortie characters beacuse he said stupid things and gave advice that sounded dumb but he was always right.
    -Sarahi

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    A Journey of Discovery

    The Madonnas of Park had me from page one. An intriguing epigraphical poem by Jeff G. Lytle ushers in Skyhorse's fictional author's note, a piece of writing that showcases an effortless style (complete with lots of fun eighties-culture references), a knack for storytelling, and a deep knowledge of both his characters and the world they live in. I fell in love with Skyhorse in his author's note and experienced a whole other range of emotions as I progressed through the chapters: shock, grief, amusement, admiration, hope. His widely varied cast of characters offers many views of a culture within a neighborhood, all of them humanitarian and revelatory. I particularly liked how each chapter was told from a different perspective (all of the voices eerily convincing), with Aurora's and Felicia's stories laced throughout to serve as a backbone for the book.

    His sweeping descriptions reminded me of Steinbeck, and his subtle, plentiful details were reminiscent of the texture in Wes Anderson's film "The Royal Tenenbaums" and Baz Luhrmann's film "Moulin Rouge"--films you can watch a hundred times and still pick up on things you'd missed in previous viewings.

    Skyhorse has a memoir coming out next year. Needless to say, I'll be first in line to buy it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2015

    I really found this book very entertaining to read because of ho

    I really found this book very entertaining to read because of how the story line was told. I like how each of the chapters told a different perspective of a character. I found myself attracted to this book because it was based in the areas of Los Angeles where I'm very familiar with such as Echo Park, Glendale and Los Feliz. Many of my friends actually read this book as well and it's just one of those books that you can discuss about and feel connected with. If I could describe this book I would say it's intense. Basically it's about a family who struggles to survive in the Los Angeles culture back then. One quotation I really like is on page 57, "I have come to understand that God is the fear that motivates you to protect yourself from evil. God cannot be everywhere at once, and it is up to each of us to use our own faith in Him to protect ourselves." I really like this quote because it's true. As a born again Christian, I could relate to this quote. Fearing God doesn't mean running away from him, it's the opposite. It actually means being afraid of what could happen if you hurt him so therefore please the Lord, follow his commandments. There were some parts in the book where I felt sad due to the deaths of some of the characters and I think that's why I got so attached to this book. I do have some questions though for those who have read it such as if the book didn't start of with Aurora, would it make a difference of the book? Do you think it could've ended differently to have a better ending/closure? East eats West is somewhat similar to this novel because of the different perspectives that we see from each chapters but before I don't think I came across a book like this where you see how each chapter connects to a scene. I was very shocked and actually uncomfortable in one part of the book where Felicia was working as a housekeeper for a rich woman who was always home alone. My favorite chapter of the book was chapter 4 “Rules of the Road” because there was a part where I didn't stop reading because it was getting intense. I found it pretty cool when I found out the bus that the Character drove is the same one that I rode through Echo park before. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Goldheart bio

    Name)Golheart,Features)fully golden heart on her forhead a bronze mane and brown eyes,Personality) shy can be fierce when loves one get hurt,Foals)none

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Blanco's bio

    White Stallion with black streaks in his name. Real name is White shadow, Blanco is just a nick name. No family alive. Friendly but can also be feirce.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Night bio

    Name: Dark Nights<p>Gender: &female<p>Age: 7 years<p>Appearance: Black with sea blue eyes.<p>Personality: meet her.<p>Other: Ask.<p>Theme (casual): Viridian Forest theme<p>Theme (battle): Unova Legendary battle theme

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Arrow's Bios

    Name: Flaming Arrow but call me Arrow-- Rank: Lead mare-- Looks: a bright chesnut with a white blaze and sock-- Breed: Thouroughbred/Arabian cross-- Personality: Meet me-- Anything else: just ask me

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Amazing Read

    Couldn't put it down. Woke up thinking about it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    Must read if you live in LA!

    Brando Skyhorse is an amazingly poetic author. He takes the lives of each of his charactors and puts them in the hands of love. It' struck me that the use of short stories that interlace around each other was true magic. I loved the book and can't wait to read more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2010

    Need to diagram all the characters to keep the storyline straight!

    This book starts out really strong with compelling and emotionally engaging characters. The plot itself is really the same few events told from multiple points of view, some in current tense, some in past tense. Often the touchstone of the common event is not initially evident, leaving the reader a bit confused and lost in the story, but not in a good way. A strong beginning with a disappointing ending...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    Wonderful!!

    An intimate look into the lives of Mexican-Americans in Echo Park. Exciting read and poetic writing style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3