Customer Reviews for

The Mage in Black (Sabina Kane Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 181 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(66)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

The Mage in Black further defines the fascinating unique "Wellsian" mythos

In a world when mortals don't know that vampires, werewolves, faeries, and mages exist, Sabina Kane is an unusual hybrid offspring of a vampire and a mage. Her vampiric grandmother Lavinia the Alpha of the Dominae raised her though she loathed her as an abomination of ...
In a world when mortals don't know that vampires, werewolves, faeries, and mages exist, Sabina Kane is an unusual hybrid offspring of a vampire and a mage. Her vampiric grandmother Lavinia the Alpha of the Dominae raised her though she loathed her as an abomination of nature. When Grandma Dearest tried to kill her, she escapes with the mage Adam. They head to New York for her to meet her mage blood side of her heritage especially her twin sister Maise, head of the Hekate Council.

Maise opens up her heart to her sibling, but as an enforcer and a Dominae assassin, to stay alive she has trust issues. Her goal is to destroy her grandmother, but to do she needs to learn magic. She never expected to get involved with the mages nor anticipate an unknown enemy will come after her, but Sabina has no choice. She must deal with the leader of the pack and try to survive the assault of Eurynome the demon summoned from beyond to specifically kill her. Evidence surfaces that prove Sabina betrayed the mages costing them their alliance with Queen Maeve of the faeries at a time when the mages consider open war with the vamps. Sabina escapes incarceration with plans to go it alone until she finds proof that her heart is right about the mages especially Maise.

Jaye Wells' latest urban fantasy picks up where the Red-Headed Stepchild ended, but goes in a different direction as the heroine leaves behind the vamps to connect she hopes with the mages. She holds the exciting story line together as she struggles with backstabbing political intrigue (talk about realism) and making new relationships especially with ever trusting Maise. Filled with plenty of action focused on Sabina as well as humor mostly by her familiar Giguhl who has never found a moment in which he is not causing trouble without trying. The Mage in Black further defines the fascinating unique "Wellsian" mythos.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on February 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good read

Much better than the last one. This one is my fav so far

posted by Airth on September 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    I have to be honest that I wasn't sure what to expect when I started this series. Adult paranormal tends to be hit or miss with me, but this series has really surprised me.

    I love that Sabina is so unsure of herself during this book. Who wouldn't be when the only living family you thought you had wants you dead. Add in a twin sister you never knew you had, who was brought up by the very race you were raised to hate. I think it makes for some interesting dynamics in our lead character. I love her back and forth relationship with Adam. It's very real to me. I LOVE her demon, Giguhl. He is pretty much the perfect sidekick.

    I liked the direction the story takes. Maisie was an interesting addition to the cast of characters. She seems to be the complete opposite of Sabina. I enjoyed the magic lessons. I particularly enjoyed the demon fighting rings and the scenes with Slade. I still like Adam more, but Slade cause Sabina to react in some very emotional ways.

    There wasn't a lot of interaction with the vampires with this one. Which was ok because we get tension with werewolves, descent within the mages, and some interesting scenes with the fairies. I really liked this book and can't wait to dig into Green-Eyed Demon.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    Whoever said that blood relatives would equal a loving family obviously didn't know Sabina or her grandma. Could you imagine your grandma being a vampire leader? Now, could you imagine her wanting to see you dead? I didn't think so.

    Sabina takes a trip to see the other side of her family, the mage side and she can only hope that this get together pans out better than the one with dear old grams. It seems that the mages want Sabina to be the bait and lure in their rivals, the vamps. It becomes quite clear that vampires aren't the only ones out for blood.


    This book was a lot of fun. I couldn't put it down. If you like thrillers with vampires and mages, you should definitely read this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Great series

    I couldnt put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Good series.

    Good strong storyline.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Again I was torn between 3 and 4 stars for this series. Becuase Sabina goes to NY to discover her Mage family and powers, there is a lot of intro into this new facet of the supernatural world. There is a lot of basic info that Sabina doesn't know regarding the Mage, fairy, and Werewolf races. (Although they never explain how the Were's relate to the other dark races) So this was ok, except that it made for a lot of talk and very little action. Some of it was interesting, and necessary to the story, but at some points the story stalled. A lot of time was spent on the Demon Fight Club in Vein, which was somewhat interesting but got to be a little much. Giguil was great comic relief as usual. Her sister was nice enough and Wells did a good job of portraying her. There wasn't nearly as much Adam as I would have liked, but the scenes where he was present were great. I'll def be continueing becuase I think this is a great story, I just think that more could be being done with it. Again, Sabina's back and forth inner monolgue gets to be a bit tiring, but she's coming into her own and I think (and am hoping) that she'll really shine in the next book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty Good

    It was a good enough read and I enjoyed it. It has a bit of a different feel to the story that makes reading it fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Great series

    This book was just as good as The Red Headed Step Child. I am loving this new series. Can' t wait to read the next Sabina Kane book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Great

    Good story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Liked the whole series

    I liked this whole series, and was happy i didn't find them until all the books were out. Will read the author again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Makaidos

    Ok

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Mage in Black is the second of Jaye Wells' new series starring her intense, complex and surprisingly fresh heroine Sabina Kane.

    With paranormal novels inundating the shelves of your local bookstore, library or e-retailer, and the likes of vampires, were-beings and shape-shifters fill the pages of those novels why would you want to choose this particular one. Well that's what I'm going to tell you.
    Sabina a result of a taboo union between a mage and a vampire has been raised in the vampire community of LA under the strict thumb of her paternal grandmother who also happens to run the vampire empire, and a cold task master she is letting Sabina know in no uncertain terms that her only worth is as an assassin for said empire. In this episode of Sabina's life she's en route to NYC and the heart of the magedom, to meet her twin sister. Still stinging from her grandmother's betrayal she joins with a covert-ops mage as they battle their to the Big Apple, where there are prophecies to fulfill.
    Jaye has created an alternate society unbeknownst to humans that contain all manner of paranormal beings. Her story line/plot has been perused and pursued to the nth degree, but her audience will find a refreshing discovery, Jaye's world is exciting, ingeniously different then all the others and of course dangerous. Her champion and heroine Sabina is edgy, tough, foul-mouthed and yet immensely vulnerable in her search for somewhere to belong and something always just beyond her reach. She also skates a thin line between hero and villain which makes her even more appealing. Her supporting characters are equally interesting and as we get to know them the allies as well as the enemies we see how the each fill a pertinent spot in the tale. There are some romantic elements in the story, but the main theme is definitely not romance, it's more a coming of age and our heroine grows with each installment.
    So if you're the kind of reader who likes to get up close and personal with creatures the main population have nightmares about, if you like edge of your seat action, and tension filled drama, then you come to the right novel. This is fine as a stand-a-lone, but if you want the full Sabina effect I suggest reading Red Headed StepChild and coming next Green Eyed Demon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4